To Die For

To die for,the waitress said
when I asked about
the bread and butter pudding.

We sat beside a window
in an Art Deco restaurant
looked out across the promenade,
waves getting ever closer,

walked back to an apartment
we had rented in a house
once occupied by Bram Stoker,
Sandsend visible from one window,
the Abbey from another.

When I visit now
the restaurant is gone,
its survival never more likely
than that of our relationship.

I sit upon the sand,
out of reach of breaking waves.
To die for, the waitress says.

http://youtube.com/user/DavidAgnewpoet/

24 Responses to “To Die For”

  1. Beautifully melancholy, with a tragic undercurrent, borne out by your marvelous mournful reading. I’ve been eager to hear your voice. I wasn’t disappointed! You’ve got a lovely, elegant voice with sweet tones and you read your poem wonderfully and sorrowfully, reminding me of a basset hound’s visage, one of the most affecting sights I know.

    That you were in shadow heightened the tragic effect, as did the fact of your being observed.

    Well done!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Leeza for this much appreciated comment.
      I had no idea Paul was recording the video when I read – Probably to the benefit of my reading – and I was pleasd by the atmospheric feel to it.

      I do believe that poetry is written to be read out loud – which is why there are CDs with my poetry books. You can find other recordings on my other MySpace site (Assuming it is still there of course)

  2. David, this is beautiful, and what a wonderful surprise to see it up here at this time. Watching you read it is a delight, and you couldn’t have given me anything better after yesterday’s diagnosis. Whenever I feel troubled I can listen to it again.

    After my comment on this poem recently on facebook, part of your response was”trust the process” (a favourite of yours, I know), and that is exactly what I am doing. I am also going to try very hard to put that into practice now I know what Im dealing with healthwise. You are being a source of great support here and I thank God I read this ooem back in June . It was meant to be. It is the one poem that will always be very close to my heart, as, of course will you.

    Your poetry continues to delight and amaze me; thank you.

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx (x an extra one just for being you)

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Synchronicity Christine is a magical thing.

      I have no idea what prompted me to write this poem earlier on this year. And I would not have posted it here today if Paul had not recorded the video when he did. Clearly there were reasons beyond either your or my understanding.

      And, as I have also said before – “I love it when a plan comes together” – particularly when I did not make the plan!!

      Take good care of yourself

      The extra kiss is appreciated πŸ™‚

      Lots of love
      David
      xxx

  3. Memories nicely wrapped in feeling words. Well read, as well.

    The places and people never seems to last. Always wonder how many think the same of us.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      An interesting question Pat.

      One we may never know the answer to – so all we can do is do our best one day at a time

  4. I hope that as I pass…my eyes will be blessed with a final view of the sun slipping under the horizon. For me…that would be to die for. I do love reading your words. Blessings ~ Ang

  5. Hallo David,
    Such a bittersweet memory of Whitby
    Reading I could see the Abbey and Sandsend.
    To die for. You have a talent to live for πŸ™‚

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Ina,

      I will visit, probably in the new year, just so I can stand where I can see both Sandsend and the Abbey πŸ™‚

      • πŸ™‚ Don’t do the stairs, they kill you.

        Great going to Whitby! If you happen to see the fortune teller near the harbour, she is very good! I didn’t really believe she would actually see what lays ahead when she told us the future in 2007, but she predicted one of my sons would get his own business and so he did, and another to go and travel, and he is in the US now. She also predicted I will get 3 grandchildren, but there she must have had something in her eye, not one yet.

        πŸ™‚ Stay warm!

      • belfastdavid Says:

        πŸ™‚ Ah Ina, if I go to Whitby for more than just the one day I always make a point of climbing the stairs – just to prove I can still do it possibly. Although I do have to stop part way up – to take photographs you understand. πŸ™‚

        I have spoken to the fortune teller near the harbour – but only whan she has been outside smoking a cigarette! I have never had her read my fortune – didn’t want to know I guess! You still have plenty of time for those 3 grandchildren πŸ™‚

        We are forecast more cold weather to come – it is raining now and the rain contains some snow. I shall wrap up warm when I go out

  6. David,

    I’m sorry to be so late with this comment. I have only been around via mobile, and I don’t have that set up for WP yet.

    I have read, and appreciated, this poem before. You know it is the kind of poetry I love. Beyond the sadness, there is a lot of love. I think this is your most tender and honest love poem yet. Well done, you!

    Those unplanned poems are nearly always from the heart. I read the previous comments, and it’s good to know things have worked themselves out after posting this poem the first time. *soft smile* It’s always good to know you are happy. “Trust the process”.

    I also hope the news your lovely lady received this week was reassuring. Take care of yourself.

    Much love,
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Shirley,

      I never really know how a poem arises or where it comes from – all I know is that I have to write it down once the muse has spoken. πŸ™‚

      As for the recording, I did not know Paul was doing it (Although I should have – he has caught me by surprise before) and I had no particular plan to read that poem – it was just that I had been talking about my love of Whitby and de.cided to do Whitby poems.

      You take care of yourself too

      Much love
      David

  7. tikarmavodicka Says:

    Hi David,

    I remember the first time I read this poem I found it most beautiful and that beauty reading again and hearing you read has not dimished.

    The poignant ache in your words and memories really touches the heart.
    Life may be constantly changing but at least the heart of our special spaces like Whitby remains the same.
    Time may change the surface. Even as we come full circle. Maybe it’s a good thing so much changes, as it allows us the opportunity to start again.

    Thankyou for sharing this again. It was such a pleasure, especially to see you reading.

    Take good care.
    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Hi Tikarma,

      This is a lovely comment – Thank you πŸ™‚

      I am smiling too at your remarks about change. I could tell you I have had a difficult year, or I could tell you there has been a lot of change in this last year. I will go for the latter because I am still here and still smiling. And still occasionally taking those deep breaths. πŸ™‚

      You take good care too
      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

      • tikarmavodicka Says:

        I have learnt this past year that a smile is a very powerful gift and a good sign you will be okay. πŸ™‚

        I do believe too that deep breathes are mandatory if one is to make it through all the changes that life brings. πŸ™‚

        I’m glad you are still able to see the better half of life and its challenges. It’s a kick up the arse for me to look at the brighter side a little more, it won’t blind me. πŸ™‚

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        Tikarma
        xoxoxo

      • belfastdavid Says:

        Tikarma,

        I am going to take your comment – “look at the brighter side a little more, it won’t blind me.” and pass it on. Sometimes, Isuspect, it is exactly what people need to hear. πŸ™‚

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        David
        xoxox

  8. Oh, David, I liked this poem very much, but hearing you read it caused me to love it.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      This is a lovely comment – Thank you Susan.

      I do believe that poetry is written to be read out loud and I do believe that listening to a poet read is a much different experience from reading the poem

  9. I enjoyed everything about this poem. I can feel Whitby again, wrapped in the bittersweet beauty of each line.l

  10. gonecycling Says:

    Beautiful. So glad I’ve discovered your work – I’ll be adding you to my blogroll.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you,

      This is, for a variety of reasons, one of my own favourite poems

      I popped over to your site for a look – you will be adding you to my list as well

Leave a comment