Self Image

I walked into the barbers,
my hairdresser looked at me,
burst out laughing,
I haven’t seen you
for some time
he said.

Windswept and interesting
I had thought.

Perhaps not!

18 Responses to “Self Image”

  1. I love this!

    How unfair to deflate the wonderful image you had!

    I think windswept and interesting was quite appropriate, just in case you were tempted to go any shorter!

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Christine,

      But I suspect scruffy would have been more appropriate!! It goes from “windswept and interesting” to scruffy overnight and always catches me unawares. πŸ™‚

      Lots of love
      David
      xxx

  2. I haven’t thought about barbers in years. Mine would ask “who’s done that to your hair?” It would be me, of course, attempting to save some coin. Eventually I got good enough to where he’s never seen me again.

    Thanks for the smile.

  3. Brilliant! ~ smiling happily and affectionately ~

  4. Hi David,

    Such a great little piece. It makes one wonders on the difference between how one sees themselves and how others do. I shudder to think! I think I will just live in my delusion. It’s a happy place there.

    Beannachd leat my friend,

    Jamie

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Jamie,

      Mostly I am happy just to stay in my delusion – it was the hairdresser’s reaction which made me stop and think.
      Mind you – he made a good job of it and now I look years younger!! πŸ™‚

      Beannachd leat to you my good friend.

      David

  5. Ah, there’s that wicked Irish sense of humour shining through…God love ya! πŸ™‚ xxx

  6. I don’t see any difference πŸ™‚

  7. tikarmavodicka Says:

    Hi David, this was a good smile poem!
    *LOL* I think windswept and interesting sounds more interesting! πŸ™‚
    I’ve never been to a hairdresser. Call it a phobia but I just don’t trust anyone with my hair! *lol*
    I hope you’re enjoying the new do and having a good week.

    Arohanui
    ((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • belfastdavid Says:

      πŸ™‚

      Thank you Tikarma – always delighted to spread smiles around.
      I don’t think I really do “windswept and interesting” but I like the thought of it!!
      I am having a good week – we have snow here now – it always cheers me to look out at it or get out and walk in it.

      You have a good week too – be across to read your blog soon.

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  8. Clever write, Irish. There’s a smile in that. You don’t have to sport a windswept poet look to be interesting. It’s what’s in the head, not what’s on it. *grin*

    And, I suspect your mother is looking down from heaven and smiling.

    Much love,
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Shirley,

      Your comment has put a big smile on my face.
      I suspect my mother would not have approved of the “windswept poet” look but she would have been “Pleased to see me anyway” πŸ™‚

      Much love
      David

  9. seeker of truth Says:

    Interesting, I am sure!! Hugs!!

Leave a comment