Winter Warmth

Cold, dark, grey, wet
winter’s afternoon.

I turn my attention
away from the window,

switch on the lamps,
lie back on the sofa,

immerse myself
in warm thoughts of you.

Β 

39 Responses to “Winter Warmth”

  1. Yep. Cold, dark, grey and wet afternoons are best spent thinking of pleasantries, or even scheming on someone to whom you owe retaliation. Both are satisfying to the soul.

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Jerry,

      Warm thoughts are good, but I shall pass on the scheming – it never did me any good in the long run!!

  2. Im pleased you decided to post this poem David, it says a lot to me.
    It has a warmth and tenderness to it that speak of love and you were clearly reflecting on some precious moments.
    It,s lovely.

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Christine,

      It is precious moments which keep me warm on cold, winter afternoons. And we have some more to come later on this week according to the forecast.

      Lots of love
      David
      xxx

  3. Appealing picture of you settling back in the safe, warm light of your cozy sofa in your pretty room with loving thoughts in your head – made extra cozy because of the winter scene outside! I felt warm and comfy reading your happy words!

  4. Hi David,

    I quite like this poem. It really like the contrast in light from grey to what I’d imagine would be a soft ambient glow of yellowish light. Warm in mind, warm in heart and warm in the knowledge the wet and cold are for now just a oberservation through the window.
    Mmmm. A most lovely poem indeed! Like a nice bowl of soup. It makes you smile and warms you instantly. πŸ™‚

    Thankyou for sharing such a sweet poem.

    I hope you have a good week and take good care.

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxxoox

    • I love the metaphor you have used here…like a nice bowl of soup! Perfect!

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Hi Tikarma,

      Do you know I don’t think I have ever had a poem described as “a nice bowl of soup”. What a lovely thought. I am delighted. πŸ™‚

      It all goes back to my Reality poem which you referred to in response to my comment on your blog – I do not have to be a prisoner to the weather outside my window. There are a lot of warm places I can go to instead. πŸ™‚

      I will have a good week. I hope you have one too.

      Take good care
      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  5. David,

    This is really lovely. I can certainly relate. I hope you have many more of those precious moments to keep you feeling warm and cozy this winter. It is still pleasant here, but I’m sure winter will be upon us soon.

    Take care of yourself.
    Shirley

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Shirley,

      We are forecast snow for later on this week – not too bad so far, although I did have to de-ice the windscreen when I got into my car this morning.
      We do well to hold on to those precious moments to keep us warm and cosy – I didn’t know until now that it is spelt with a z in America – looks quite nice that way. πŸ™‚

      You take good care of yourself

      David

  6. Susan Morgan Bosler Says:

    David, I absolute love the simplicity and depth of this piece.

  7. A beautiful piece David, short and to the point……..Please forgive my absence lately. MS has made it increasing hard to get to anyone’s blogs. I’ve missed yours greatly…..I hope to be here on WordPress soon. Hoping we’ll see more of each other then.
    My best to you always, Rachealgrace

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Rachealgrace,

      I have all but given up on MySpace now, which I find sad in lots of ways. Look forward to seeing more of you in the future

      Take care
      David

  8. Peter Doyle Says:

    Good idea. : )

  9. So simple but so clever….an absolutely amazing title! You are so inspirational…I am having a bad case of writer’s block lately but when I come in here I feel the muse within begin to stir again…at least its a start…I pop by from time to time for inspiration. Thank you πŸ™‚

    • belfastdavid Says:

      If I can stir the muse within you Viola I am delighted. I am never quite sure what stirs mine!! πŸ™‚

      Pop in as often as you like.

  10. Happy thanksgiving David….stay warm, inside and out ~ : ) xo

  11. Nice to be grateful for those simple comforts.

  12. Have a nice warm winter πŸ™‚

  13. Sounds good. I hope you have a cup of hot coco and a nice book to go with it? That’s not in Belfast I suppose? Scotland? Not Troon I hope (I have been there lol)
    It is getting dark already overhere.

    Snowflakes tumble down the street
    they won’t stay ; they only greet
    and say that Winter ‘s coming

    • belfastdavid Says:

      No, not in Belfast.
      I was brought up in Belfast but now live in Leeds which is in the north of England. We haven’t had the amount of snow yet which they have had in Scotland but it is currently, as you say, “tumbling down the street” and more is forecast.

      I shall stay warm with a good book πŸ™‚

      • Leeds, I have been in a bus to Eden Camp that went to Leeds. Staying near Whitby in Ruswarp. I love Yorkshire.
        Have a nice read πŸ™‚

      • belfastdavid Says:

        Whitby is my favourite place in England. I find my spirit lifts every time I go there.

        A lot of my early poetry was written either in Whitby or was about Whitby
        I am hoping to arrange to go there for a day before Christmas

  14. That is great, you have been to that museum on the hill of course? With the hand πŸ™‚ The building and the people there, it had a feel of belonging?
    I liked the station very much too. A gypsie there predicted the future πŸ™‚ Whitby has this special place in my heart. So where can I find this Whitby inspired poetry of yours?

  15. Thank you for the link, I took a peek and it is a lovely site, with lovely poems, couldn’t comment there so I do it here. Hope that is ok.

    I like to hear the poems being read by you, it adds something. On wordpress you can easily do voice posts btw, did you know that? You just phone to your blog and it get’s posted as a post. http://en.support.wordpress.com/post-by-voice/

    I hope you will get a chance to visit Whitby soon πŸ™‚

    • belfastdavid Says:

      Thank you Ina,

      I didn’t know I could do that but I will certainly give it a try soon.

      I am watching the snow come down this morning πŸ™‚

  16. Snowing here too πŸ™‚ Confetti of angels?

  17. seeker of truth Says:

    Ah, what better way to spend a dreary afternoon!!

  18. What winters are for πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

