Touch

I sit back,
close my eyes,
free my mind,
reach out my hand
to touch whateverโ€™s there.

Sometimes soft sand upon a beach,
sometimes rippling water of the sea,
sometimes grass growing on a cliff top,
sometimes naked flesh of inner thigh
above a stocking top.

But every now and then
I reach
and nothingโ€™s there.

I search and search.
I need to find
and touch again
familiar things I love –

the mug from which I drink my tea,
a book with well-read pages,
my favourite teddy bear,
your hand.

22 Responses to “Touch”

  1. A beautiful reflection David. Im having one of those periods where I need to search. Doesnt come easy. Sometimes even the things we love dont seem enough. That’s a sign for me to start putting the work in again, beginning, I think, with a gratitude list.

    Love you loads
    Christine
    xxx

  2. Hi David,

    there it is! ๐Ÿ™‚ and it is a very moving poem, to touch the things that means most to you. Sometimes just knowing they are there is enough, but not always. I like the idea of the touch of a tea mug mostly; the warmth and familiarity from it ๐Ÿ™‚ And the ‘you’ in this poem of course. Comfort comes from such ordianry things, I understand that. I hope you will have many moments where you find safety and comfort within reach!

    Arohanui ๐Ÿ™‚ โค xxx

    • Thank you Ina,

      I find great comfort in that tea mug – it allows me to start my day with a sense of ‘everything is OK in the world’ ๐Ÿ™‚

      And I probably agree with you about the teddy bear but I knew what I meant so I will leave the poem as is ๐Ÿ™‚

      Arohanui โค xxx

  3. That’s beautiful David. Love it!

  4. Elaine Randall English Says:

    My friend David…you scored on this one!

  5. Reblogged this on Ina and commented:
    A moving poem deserving more readers ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    ORT-ORT-ORTT….GOOD STUFF–WELL-DONE AND SENSITIVE!

  7. Aahh, what a sweet ending David! The hand of a loved one is what we need most. This almost sounds like a dream or a vision at first, until nearer the end, certainly very different, and a reassuring read about those comforts we just can’t live without! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. So very beautiful David. There is nothing like the touch of someone we love. WONDERFUL! ๐Ÿ™‚ Lรฉa

    • There is something Lea about holding hands which I find very precious ๐Ÿ™‚

      David

      • Oh yes David! Touch is such a basic primal need we all have and it is the lack of it or the negative touch which I associate with many of the problems in this world.
        Holding a hand, an embrace, a kiss, a supportive arm when needed. There are many ways to show that we care. ๐Ÿ™‚ Lรฉa

      • I was once told Lea by a psychiatrist when I was working as a mental health nurse that hugging a patient (male or female) was inappropriate!!!
        sometimes that is all they need!!!

        Look after yourself

        David

      • David, since my degrees are in psychology, might I say that that “psychiatrist” is part of the problem and not part of the solution. You could have taught him much.

        A votre santรฉ!

        Lรฉa

      • In this particular case the him was a her!!!!
        Clueless she was ๐Ÿ™‚
        David

      • Ah, I’ve worked with a number of them like that. Unfortunately, they have the degree but neither life experience or sense! I would say that covers about a third of my graduate class and they are out there! Unfortunately, the majority of the clueless (not all) were women… what can I say? ๐Ÿ™‚ Lรฉa

  9. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words Says:

    we seem to go in search more often than not lately or it is that way for me
    your favorite things made me hear Julie Andrews singing “A Few of My Favorite Things” ๐Ÿ™‚
    I always like the realness within your lines, gives reality a better light
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

Leave a Reply

