Time Gone

Browsing through a second-hand bookshop
I come across a novel
by one of my favourite authors,
written back in the 1960s
when he was beginning his career.

It describes a world
much different from today,
yet very familiar to me
and I wonder what happened
to the intervening fifty years.

Fifty years! Bloody hell!
How did that happen?
My father did not even live that long.

I must have been present
through all that time.
So much has happened.
I can pick out highlights
but so much is haze.

The Β world has changed around me
and whilst I have adapted
to the new, it seems
I never really noticed
at the time.

Maybe I should pay more attention
or, then again,
maybe not.

16 Responses to “Time Gone”

  1. What a lovely poem, overviewing so many years. Time gone, or life gained? πŸ™‚ You have expirienced so much in those years, that is a treasure! The parts you remember are worthy of remembering, and what is forgotten, should be forgotten. And who knows what may be ahead for you πŸ™‚

    Arohanui xxx ❀

    • Thank you Ina,
      Sometimes it catches me by surprise how much has gone into all those years. But nowadays it does seem that time goes faster although I don’t suppose that is true πŸ™‚
      And the pace of modern life somewhat overwhelms me. But then of course I don’t have to live at that pace do I? πŸ™‚
      I shall sit back and observe πŸ™‚
      Arohanui xxx

  2. Elaine R. English Says:

    Dear David…child of the past…oh yes….it’s gone…and we wish it was not. Those coming on recently don’t know what we lived….just as we don’t know how our forebears lived…not exactly. Memoirs, photos, bits and pieces of the past will never tell the tale. We just get on with it don’t we? But David, child of the past, and present and future….live on….for who knows what lives are left to live in some other time and place.

  3. I think ive adapted to the bits that suit me and try to ignore the rest! But I think life holds good things in store for you as you wait patiently. 😊

    Can you believe it’s 17 years since we met?!! (That place has been demolished now in favour of apartments as they call them!) So much has happened and changed, but we are still here, and supporting each other through good and bad.

    Great poem sparking off lots of thoughts and memories.

    Love you loads
    Christine
    xxx

  4. Hi David,

    What a wonderful poem for me to return to. πŸ™‚

    It makes me wonder. It’s all relative. I’m freaking out over 20 years, so goodness know how I’ll react to 50!
    πŸ™‚
    I think though as we start looking back it is with different eyes to those that were looking into the future.
    We tend to gloss over aspects of life that truely are better for progress. Certainly though we loose something in gaining another step towards…whatever humanity will become in the future.
    That said the world has changed very rapidly. I can’t keep up and I think at some point everyone decides where they draw a line in what they are content to take on and what they ignore.
    Your poem made me smile as I recalled this morning printing out duty rosters to “snail mail” for the gallery attendants who choose not to have email. Who doesn’t have email!! Still quiet a few and in some ways I envy them. πŸ™‚
    Live for your now, I think. That’s what matters, that each day is the best you could make of it…ohhh and if we we were aware of what was coming, aware exactly how our world was changing we’d be hiding under blankets refusing to come out. πŸ™‚ So I think it’s good we don’t notice too much…just what we need. πŸ™‚

    Thankyou as always for making me smile and think. πŸ™‚
    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    And K’sOTC πŸ™‚
    Tikarma
    Xoxoxox

    • Thank you Tikarma,
      Your comment made me smile. We all I guess from time to time suddenly realise a great number of years have passed and wonder where they went!!
      We do look back with different eyes and I do know that it is what went on in that 50 years which made me who I am today πŸ™‚
      But nowadays I am aware I have slowed down and am more than happy to ignore what I don’t want from modern technology. although I do think we have lost something when emails replaced letters as a way of communication and when now it seems face to face contact has been lost to the wonders of modern technology!!!
      However I am not yet “hiding under the blankets”!!! πŸ™‚
      And I do know that you and I would not have been able to become the good friends we are without that modern technology πŸ™‚
      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      And K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xoxox

  5. wonderful piece, David – and so true! amazing how quickly the time goes

  6. I have moments like these too, the older I get the more they arrive! Time is a weird thing, it so real and yet appears not, and yes, I wonder too what happened in those in-between years. It all goes so horribly fast…

    • And the older we get Suzy the faster it seems to go!!!

      Good to see you here – I am not on WP as often as I used to be so it is good to know people still come to read

      Thank you
      David

Leave a Reply

