Real?

She sat down opposite me
at a table in the coffee shop.
We chatted, as you do.

She asked what I did,
I said I was a poet.

She asked my name,
keyed something into her iPhone,
brought up a picture,
turned the phone towards me
and said “That is you”.

Well I knew that!!!

But perhaps she thought I was more real
as an image on her iPhone
than sitting opposite her in the flesh.

“She will want a selfie next” I thought
to prove that both of us exist!!

🙂

 

24 Responses to “Real?”

  1. 🙂 Oh yes the attraction of the famous! You made it! Or maybe she needed proof that we humans are actually here! Lovely poem that made me smile 🙂 Arohanui xxx ❤

  2. Fabulous David. Brought a big smile to my face. And lovely to see you treading the boards of WordPress again! 😊.

    Love you loads
    Christine
    xxx ❤️

    • Thank you Christine,

      I think I will make the effort to engage with Word Press again.
      The onset of Autumn perhaps puts me in a better place 🙂

      Love you loads
      David xxx

  3. Well done and welcome back David! You bring smiles to us all again!

  4. had to chuckle over this one – just yesterday someone said they “googled” me, as if pulling me up online made me more legitimate 🙂

    • I am always delighted Sarah to provide you with a chuckle – chuckling is good.

      I am just feeling my way back onto Word Press having left it alone for a while. I shall try to catch up shortly.

      David

  5. I love this one! My children are bad for that kind of thing. haha

  6. One of the first things I do when I wake up in the morning is to switch on my PC and check WordPress–listening to Archers always comes after–and it’s just lovely to be able to find your new post and read your poem. 🙂
    I’d love to see the girl’s reaction when she finds out that her encounter with you has become part of poetry.

    Now I must return to translating nonsense (sigh) for a farthing.

    Ayano xxx

  7. I chuckled at the line, “Well I knew that!”

  8. jonnia smith Says:

    It likely never entered her mind that researching the validity of your identity online while sitting across from you might strain the boundaries of polite behavior. Had to laugh at this!

  9. Haha, very good! It seems people are more fascinating on screen than off! 😉

  10. Well, it never happened to me, David. There is more to this poem than meets the screen, I suspect. At least the lady reads poetry and recognizes a poet even though she probably had to check to see if the you is really the you or just a voice who says he is who he is or something else confusing like that. I hope you are well, my friend, especially as the cranes tower over you in the morning. Your laughter at yourself at the lady at life at the joy in who you are warms my day.

    • Thank you Tom,

      I was trying I think to point up how the imperatives prompted by a mobile phone have gradually eroded our pleasure in enjoying good company and living in that moment.
      I am well enough I think – particularly if I refuse to take myself too seriously 🙂
      I hope all is well with you and Edith
      David

Leave a Reply

