Raven

02 Raven
Just the bird and I
Up on the cliff top
Beside the graveyard
In the mist and rain

26 Responses to “Raven”

  1. adore this, David! something just so simply peaceful about it – and the image is sublime 🙂 well done!

  2. Hi David,

    this is lovely! 🙂 Those ravens are beautiful birds and they seem to like the sinister but they are great parents! Beautiful couple of arts 🙂 I love your choice of subjects!

    Arohanui xxx

  3. that’s a really pleasing picture, and the poem too.

    • Thank you John,

      I was inspired partly by a photo I saw of the graveyard a few days ago, And also by the knowledge that part of that cliff collapsed relative recently.
      I am not sure that I could stand in that spot today.

      David

  4. Birds are
    great
    not many words
    can do justice to their
    majesty

    thanks

  5. This is simply wonderful David! It’s the simplicity that speaks to me. I LOVE it 😊 And in good time for the framing too!

    Love you loads
    Christine
    xxx

  6. Hi David,
    This is a most lovely painting. Contemplative. Your poem equally evokes a sense of quiet amidst the observations of your environment.

    Ravens were once believed to be messengers for the gods. I couldnt think of better company to have amidst the gravestones and rain. 🙂

    Hoping you are well?
    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Ans K’sOTC 🙂
    Tikarma
    Xoxoxox

    • Thank you Tikarma

      Every time I see the ravens up there it occurs to me that they are guarding the graves 🙂

      I am well. I hope you are too.

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      And K’sOTC 🙂
      David
      xoxox

  7. lovely poem and painting, David!
    groetjes, Francina

  8. This must be the time of ravens, David. The poem, growing out of the cliff top and the graveyard, is a perfect compliment to the artwork where the raven’s body curves against the movement of waves on to the shore. Ravens have been on my spirit too lately, burying into what I am writing, dark, but alive with movement. Your painting is a song of point and counterpoint that echoes in the words.

    • Thank you Tom,

      I have read your latest poem in my inbox.
      It is strange, is it not, how the same thoughts or images appear at the same time to people who are connected yet in disparate parts of the world.
      I have noticed this phenomenon before and marvelled at it.
      We are connected it seems to me in ways we do not understand

      My very best to you

      David

  9. Your poem is very open to allow for many connotations. It is packed with feeling for me.

  10. Hmmm, I just wrote a poem about a raven. Is it the winter do you think?

  11. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words Says:

    a whisper on the wind and the Raven sits in stillness
    your thoughts and photograph whispers another mystery to hear
    I think…
    both are beautiful in their energy….
    Thank you….
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

Leave a Reply

