Siren Song

Sing to me again as you sang to me
before. Sing to me again that same song
which drew me in toward you, enchanted
by your sweet voice, the simple melody.

But this time please, don’t sing to me of love,
everlasting devotion, walking off
together hand in hand toward the sun
and living happily ever after.

Sing to me instead of companionship,
trips to galleries, walks by the river,
drinking coffees in favourite cafes,
days out in Whitby talking to the gulls,

And long, slow, afternoons, between the sheets,
making gentle uncomplicated love.

21 Responses to “Siren Song”

  1. Hi David,
    this is lovely and realistic πŸ™‚ And so nice to know you survived the first Siren’s song! lol No one else ever did! I wish you many of such moments! Especially the days in Whitby and the stuff under the cover… :blush: lol πŸ˜‰

    Arohanui πŸ™‚ xxx

  2. A beautiful poem David.

    I understand it too. Up until a few years ago I would have yearned for the walk into the sun swirling with romantic love and wanting that feeling to be never ending etc etc. but the words in your third stanza are what speak to me today. And maybe a little of the last two lines too.

    Love you loads
    Christine
    Xxx

    • *Smile*

      Thank you Christine

      I guess with experience comes a re-alignment of dreams and a different form of acceptance πŸ™‚

      The last two lines are where the comfortable is πŸ™‚

      Love you loads
      David
      xxx

  3. Very beautiful poem, David! Very fine write… I love this one!
    groetjes, Francina

  4. I couldn’t say it any better, nor could anyone I know! Well done David, though it makes me feel a little lonely! Big hugs my friend!

  5. This poem really touched me. One of your most inspired from my part of the universes. I can well identify with it, too. Gripping & longing (:

  6. Hi David,
    This is a gorgeous poem all the more for the reality.
    I had to think a bit because I am lucky to have someone to share my life with. The reality is indeed an illusion. The romance, passion and lust wears thin very quickly in the face of realities particulary if they’re harsh ones.

    Companionship, common ground and a shared vision to survive the process of life is what matters in the end. A nice cuppa and warm slippers are more appealing most days than the thought of long nights and languid romantic whispers. LOL
    …And anyone who does’t want to sit and talk with gulls isn’t worth knowing in my book. *Big smile*

    Thank you for sharing such a wonderful poem.
    Take good care! πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    And K’sOTC πŸ™‚
    Tikarma
    Xoxoxox

    • Thank you Tikarma,

      This is a lovely, warm comment.

      And you made me smile for I suspect I have sub-consciously run my whole life on the basis that “anyone who doesn’t want to sit and talk with gulls isn’t worth knowing” *grin*

      You take good care of yourself too πŸ™‚

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      And K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xoxox

  7. Beautiful David! I don’t know Whitby except through old re-runs of Heartbeat! But I love the gulls and the sea! Actually, it is believed that salt water is in my veins! πŸ™‚
    Whoever she is, when you find her, she will be most fortunate. I do believe she is out there.
    Bon courage et bonne chance!

  8. so, so beautiful – and what a lovely thing to wish for – how lucky are the ones who retain a quiet, comfortable love and companionship when the white-hot fires of new love calm over the years πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

