Rock ‘n’ Roll

Do you remember
way back then when you and I
could clear the dance floor;
everyone else
looked on, applauded.

Those early days
of rock n roll
when we were freed
from formal dance
and jive was all the rage.

Never a romance,
yet we could form
a union on the dance floor,
instinctive, intuitive;
we were as one.

I wonder now
what would have happened
had we formed another bond;
for sure we flirted round it,
but never crossed that line.

Where are you now?
I do not, cannot, know
but every now and then
I play the music;
am back on the dance floor
with fifty years off my age
and we dance now
as we did then.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEq62iQo0eU

21 Responses to “Rock ‘n’ Roll”

  1. Hi David,

    what a wonderful poem of the good old days 🙂 dancing just for the fun of dancing, and never a romance leading from it (which is remarkable if you come to think about it!) I can imagine the freedom it must have given, after the formal dances (which I have learnt when I was 14, never enjoyed doing that, but I did like to pretend I could swing free stylish 🙂 ) .

    Some people are born dancers 🙂 I think you might be one of them?

    Arohanui 🙂 xxx

  2. Great poem David!

    And as you already know it has taken me right back into a similar situation as yours. And I can even remember my dancing partner’s name! We used to hope that Brown Eyed Handsome Man by Buddy Holly would be played, and it always was. We loved that one because it was a bit faster than a lot of them and the beat was just a little more difficult to hold but it enabled us to show off even more! Love it! *Big sigh*. Now that was definitely on Decca and was written by Chuck Berry. *another big sigh*!! 😄

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

  3. A dancing reverie of memories & ponderings. Most engaging (:

  4. Hi David,

    This is a wonderful poem!. There is so much freedom in being able to move with a groove. 🙂
    I could see the dance lights and the wooden floor , the flash of ladies and gents as they twisted and bopped past the door and the faint sound of music as I peeked into a space of your world.
    It reminded of my own time in the nightclubs. Goths and Punks 🙂 somewhat removed from the jive. 🙂
    I went purely to dance for as long as my legs would hold me up. 🙂
    There’s something nice in being able to have that person for whom the connection is the love of dancing, sometimes it becomes the stronger bond. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing a corner of your memories and starting my morning with a smile. 🙂

    I hope you are well?
    Take good care

    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC 🙂
    Arohanui
    Tikarma
    xoxooxo

    • Thank you Tikarma,

      I only have to play the music and I am carried away to that place and I am delighted you were able to get a glimpse of it.

      There was a Goth week in Whitby last week – I am sure you would have felt right at home.
      I think we all carry memories of the music and the dance of our teenage years including dancing for as long as our legs would hold us up 🙂

      We certainly had that bond on the dance floor and were friends off it.
      So it is all good memories for me 🙂

      And I am delighted to have started your day with a smile.

      I am well thank you

      You take good care too

      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC 🙂
      Arohanui
      David
      xoxox

  5. wonderful! and sometimes the ‘what-ifs’ are as nice to savor as the reality

  6. sometimes memories have that sad after-taste ….looking backwards on the roads taken. good when the years can drop, though…. 🙂

  7. I wonder if kids today will have these same kinds of memories…do music and dancing mean much anymore?…Hard to say…

    • I got this comment from Shirley when I posted the poem on FB Michael.

      I couldn’t have said it better myself

      Teenagers used to dance their way through those life changes, and it made life a lot easier. Dancing works out energy, frustration, expression of emotion–not to mention building happy memories like yours (mine too). This generation now doesn’t dance as couples much. They don’t date much. Most of the music they listen to is not for dancing. A slow box step around the floor to a love song used to be the highlight of many a teenager’s evening, and for those brave enough…the sultry Cha Cha. It might seem silly to kids now, but they don’t know what they are missing. Dances used to have names: Mashed Potato, Twist, Watusi, Bop, Shag, Stroll, Frug…when was the last time you heard of a new dance? Oops. I didn’t mean to rant. I really like the post. I might put on some music and dance a little tonight! xxx

  8. The dance of life! There is both sadness and joy here.

  9. Superb poem! David, I love it! Beautiful with that subtle touch of melancholic.
    groetjes, Francina

Leave a Reply

