Dear Leonard

(Written as a response to hearing the Leonard Cohen song ‘Famous Blue Raincoat’)

Dear Leonard,

Its eleven in the morning
late in September;
I’m writing you now
in response to your song.

Today has been difficult,
Jane is in Ibiza,
I slept poorly,
was late leaving home,
the bus was delayed
and overcrowded,
the shop had sold out
of my paper,
there was a queue
at the coffee counter.
I felt rushed
and harassed.

And then you came along.

Oh Gawd!

20 Responses to “Dear Leonard”

  1. oh…..I’m a big fan of Cohen, so I put on the song and started to read your poem.. and you had me laughing out loud while reading.
    Your last line is the show stopper… if we can speak of a show stopper in a poem . Super poem,

    groetjes from across the creek.
    Francina 🙂 🙂

    • *Big Grin*

      I was actually in a poetry workshop at the time Francina – the song was played as a prompt for us.
      My immediate reaction was “Oh Gawd” and the poem just flowed from there. 🙂

      I am always delighted to provide you with a laugh.

      Best wishes

      David

  2. Hi David,

    I love this but you already know that 🙂

    He appeared at Leeds Arena last month; I read a very good review, I will post it on your facebook wall just for interest. I think I may have pre-judged him; I think I would like to have seen him but not sure he was actually worth another wheelchair experience!

    Love you loads
    Christine
    Xxx

    • Hi Christine,

      I look forward to reading the review when you post it.

      I do feel that an entire evening of Leonard Cohen would lead me to losing the will to live!!! 🙂
      But I may well be doing him a dis-service

      Love you loads
      David
      xxx

  3. Hi David,

    This is really nice!
    Making a poem on the music of a song is what I like do too, the rhythm goes better that way 🙂 and Leonard has been my fav. singer for decades (Suzanne was the song during my second child’s birth, and I get in tears over Hallelujah, also love All the sisters etc) so I know how the music of this song goes 🙂 I think he will like this version . Lovely lyrics. All the misery and then came you. 🙂 Gawd!

    Arohanui 🙂 and glad you are posting regulary again!

    xxx

    • Thank you Ina,

      Doing a poem in this way is new for me.
      But it was one of those poems which came out of a reaction and more or less wrote itself!! 🙂

      I am pleased to be back posting regularly again too – the re-charge of batteries on my birthday is clearly working!!! 🙂

      I hope your trip to the knee doctor goes well.

      Take good care of yourself

      Arohanui 🙂
      David
      xxx

  4. Hi David.

    Great riposte to Famous Blue Raincoat.

    I used to know Leonard quite well many years ago when he’d drop into my workplace in Curzon Street for a chat.

    We lost touch but I still feel privileged to have known someone who I consider one of the greatest poets of the 20th Century/

    Best Regards

    Res

    • Res,

      What a pleasure to have you drop in again. I do hope you are staying well?

      And I agree with you – it is a privilege to have known him.

      I still dip into your own poetry from time to time when I want a lift! 🙂

      Thank you.

      Best wishes to you

      David

      • Thanks David, kind of you to say so.

        I’m OK in myself but am getting quite weak and unsteady on my feet but I’m quite content.

        I sleep a lot and read and watch movies.

        My muse seems to be sleeping too, at the moment but I guess it’s just as well. Too much time on the computer leads to swollen feet so I don’t spend very much time on line.

        Good to hear from you my friend.

        Take care

        Res

      • Ah Res,

        I have often thought that what we should be seeking in this life is not love but contentment. I am glad you are in that place.

        My own muse is a bit like a robin – during the summer months (While moulting) she hides away in the bushes and stays quiet. In the autumn she re-emerges to stake her claim to territory for the winter!!! (There is a poem in that comment!!!)

        Take good care of yourself my friend

        David

  5. A very accessible & real poem that has me wondering about the mysteryies it contains (:

  6. I adore you for writing this! Have you read his poetry? I have his Book of Longing and think I’ve read completely through it three or four times now. 🙂

    • Thank you Sarah,

      I have no read much of his poetry – perhaps I should 🙂
      I did have the lyrics printed out so that I could read them whilst listening to the song – I do think that probably increased the impact!

      David

  7. lol.
    that was cool david.
    one of my all time favourite songs
    like your response.

  8. I do love this poem. I must admit, I’m not a fan, even though my voca styling has been compared to his. This poem put a real smile on my face as I could relate so well to it. Well done my friend!

    Beannachd leat,

    Jamie

    • Thank you Jamie,

      I am not really a fan either. And this song is not likely to make me one!!!!

      Although I could listen to his voice as background without listening to the words and find it relaxing 🙂

      Look after yourself my friend

      David

  9. He is a joy, isn’t he? 🙂

Leave a Reply

