Solitude

115 (2)
Solitude
Solitude
A lonely place
or a place alone?

Solitude
A place of sloth
or of creation?

Solitude
For deep regret
or for reflection?

Solitude
I must accept
where I am today.

Solitude
is the result
of choices on the way.

26 Responses to “Solitude”

  1. Now, I know you love it when a plan comes together, but these unplanned things keep happening to you! πŸ™‚

    This is wonderful and looks even better on here, and the accompanying poem is perfect for it. Please keep drawing πŸ™‚ and keep running them by me too! I love following them through, and this post is a lovely surprise :). πŸ™‚

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

  2. Hi David, this poem says so much, much better than the one that I made that was inspired on this same image of yours πŸ™‚

    Solitude can be a choice, a good way to be or a good place, but also a way to cope being unable to relate to others I suppose. When you are in solitude, your thoughts are your only companion. That can be very unrealistic.

    I have often needed solitude, so this poem has a special meaning to me πŸ™‚ Is it good to be alone? Why not? But not always. The older I get, the more I realize I am a part of that wonderful group called people. The choices made in the past lead us to where we are today. So true, but new choices can always be made. Solitude is not the only answer.

    For you, I really hope you are good with the choices you have made and will make. If solitude is what works for you, then solitude it is. And if not, there are so many people that want to keep you company. If not in real life as it is called, in other ways. But you already know that and you are going places, no? πŸ˜‰

    This is the best poem about solitude I know btw.

    Arohanui πŸ™‚

    xxx

    • Hi Ina,

      It was your poem written in response to this drawing which made me look at the drawing in a different way and eventually brought me to realise its connection with my own poem which, as it happens, was one of my very early poems.

      So I guess my struggles to come to terms with solitude and its cousins – Alone and Lonely – are nothing new.

      Most of the time I am content with my solitude.
      In fact there are some days when I feel I don’t really like people!!! πŸ™‚
      And it is true certainly that people can tire me. πŸ™‚

      I am too aware there are “people that want to keep you company”. I am very appreciative of those people.

      And the recharge of my batteries on my birthday is giving me the energy to get out and about more. πŸ™‚

      Now I just want my dentist to sort out the residual pain in my mouth!!! I am seeing him on Wednesday!!

      And thank you for your final comment. It made me feel warm πŸ™‚

      Arohanui πŸ™‚
      xxx

      • Hi David,

        I can relate to getting tired of people πŸ™‚ Sometimes they want your time and attention when you are not in the mood or in the possibility to be there for them, and even if you try to do your best and listen to them for days on end, they give you the feeling it is not good enough and diasappear.
        The opposite of solitude I suppose is feeling friendship, something abstract for me as usually I mess up by not responding the way it is expected though I really would like to be a friend, it is an issue for me that I never seem to grasp the rules of friendship. Maybe it is beause I like to speak my mind at times and that seems to be a nono, and this usually happens when I think I have found a real friend. Also I learnt that most people loose interest in others quite soon. Solitude is the consequence. πŸ™‚ It has a good side as in solitude alone we can be ourselves perhaps.

        Your batteries seem to get their energy from a special source πŸ™‚ I hope that your dentist can help you with the last bits of the process. Keep safe and know you might be in solitude but you are not alone πŸ™‚

        Arohanui πŸ™‚ and I am pleased my poem had an impact πŸ™‚
        xxx

      • Ah Ina,

        You are very hard on yourself – You and I have been friends for some time now and it is a friendship which I value a lot.

        In my younger days I used to give freely of my time and my emotional energy often to the detriment of myself.
        I have learned as I grow older that in order to be able to give to others I first need to look after myself.
        I have also learned that I have only got so much emotional energy and that if I don’t take the time to build it up then it runs out very quickly.
        I do too seem to have less as I grow older! (There is not a lot good to be said about growing older!!! :))
        So sometimes I withdraw.

        I do too like your thought – “you might be in solitude but you are not alone”
        I shall keep that thought with me for comfort. πŸ™‚

        Your poem definitely had that impact! πŸ™‚

        Arohanui πŸ™‚
        David
        xxx

      • πŸ™‚ You know, that means a lot to me. I too value our friendship very much πŸ™‚ and it has kept me going when I was about to give up. Thanks for being my friend. I must be doing something right without knowing perhaps πŸ™‚

        The running down of emotional energy, yes, that is probably what causes solitude. And solitude cures the tiredness. All has its purpose πŸ™‚

        Don’t withdraw too long if you feel like doing that πŸ™‚ but take all the withdrawing you need.

        Arohanui πŸ™‚
        xxx

      • (((Big Irish Hug)))

  3. i vote for sloth….there is something about not having to be completely tidy all the time. πŸ™‚ solitude means no one else around to complain….or add to the mess!

  4. With all its downsides, I don’t really mind solitude. I just need someone to share my solitude with, and they’re so difficult to find. πŸ™‚
    On a more serious note, the poem’s perception of solitude made me ponder about the choices I made in the past and about what future choices I will make in the future. My inclination towards solitude will never change, and I hope that I will always have the courage to accept everything that comes as a consequence (albeit with a bit of whining and whingeing along the way).

    Lovely pastel.
    Hugs,
    Ayano xxx

    • *Big Smile*

      I love that first sentence of yours – there is great depth to it along with the humour.

      I am going to pinch it and put it up as my status in FaceBook πŸ™‚

      As for choices – I am well aware that choices I have made in the past and choices I continue to make contribute to my solitude.
      Some days I struggle with those choices because there is often a blurred area between Solitude, Alone, and Lonely.

      I have never been afraid of solitude – even when I was young.
      And I guess I have always had an “inclination towards solitude”.
      Just sometimes however I get that longing for “someone to share my solitude with” πŸ™‚

      Thank you for this wonderful thought provoking comment.

      Hugs to you too
      David
      xxx

  5. A most deep & thoughtful creation (:

  6. beautiful in a very soft and compelling manner – the piece is the perfect companion to the artwork πŸ™‚ think I needed this one today – thank you, David

  7. Perfect combination, David, and great poem. . I love solitude time , it’s one for reflection and inspiration , and peaceful time, but also to get rid of frustration.. hmm. me must be a solitary one, even though I love the company of my family and friends πŸ™‚

    groetjes from across the creek.

    • Thank you Francina,

      We all need the solitude you describe – it is necessary to enable us to enjoy the company of loved ones.
      I do worry about the young people of today who are so attached to their mobile phones and such like that they never seem to have that downtime.

      My very best to you

      David

  8. The essence of solitude and attitude. Nicely written, as always, David. (I’ve always loved solitude, craved it even.)

  9. Yes, solitude is all of those things. Well captured…if you’re interested, I thought I’d share one of my own on the same topic:
    http://fromaflower.wordpress.com/2012/07/11/solus-2/
    : )

  10. A truth. Solidtude v Lonliness. It’s a choice.

Leave a Reply

