Room 101

(Room 101 is a television program in which participants can get rid of something for
ever by putting it in Room 101)

There is a voice
which originates
from somewhere
in the deeper
regions of my brain.

Always negative,
always talking me down –
you are not good enough,
your health is failing,
people don’t like you,
nobody cares about you,
and so on and so on.

I used to drown it
with alcohol,
distract it
by writing poetry,
rebut it
with activity.

Today I would put it
in Room 101
but it tells me
Room 101
does not exist.

Bastard!

18 Responses to “Room 101”

  1. Hi David,
    I don’t know the program Room 101, but this is such a very good poem. Your inner voice however is so wrong! πŸ™‚ Maybe you should find another room and still lock that inner voice in it! Voices can’t be drowned or distracted, but maybe silenced?
    Be sure that you are liked and that you are cared about πŸ™‚

    Arohanui πŸ™‚ xxx and a big {{{ hug }}}

  2. Sad. Not true. But a well-written and well-constructed poem, David.

  3. Love the poem David. Hints of humour among the dark work well.

    And you know you are cared about – I hope! :). πŸ™‚

    Hope you enjoyed the f and c πŸ™‚

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

    PS Ive just created our own junk room to share πŸ™‚ feel free to dump that negative voice πŸ™‚ xxx

    • Thank you Christine,

      Ah, the humour was intended.
      The perfect antidote to that voice is humour! And I have not lost the ability to laugh at myself. πŸ™‚

      I thoroughly enjoyed my fish and chips and sitting outside in the sun whilst I ate them. πŸ™‚

      Love you loads

      David
      xxx

  4. Another honest poem with humour, twists & turns (:

  5. Wow! I know that voice; it lives in my brain too. I can tell you only this — so many of your blog family care about you, and think of you as an inspiration and a fellow traveler. And, of course, I love you — you never need doubt that.

  6. Love the idea of a Room 101 – has me considering what I might wish to leave there and lock away forever.

    So hard sometimes to still the negativity that comes from within. Very well-written – honest and with wry humor. πŸ™‚ Be well!

    • *Smile*

      We can have fun Sarah playing with the concept of Room 101. πŸ™‚

      But I do find that the inner negative voice never stays locked away for ever!!! I just have to learn to deal with it!! πŸ™‚

      Look after yourself amongst all that busy

      David

  7. Ah — all too familiar with those voices I am…they come and go…thanks for the human and honest poem. Affirming and Good to read.

  8. a good room to leave some frustrations behind…if it does not exist we can imagine one πŸ™‚ great poem, wry and honest..
    groetjes, Francina

  9. Hi David,

    I can assure you, you are cared about and thought of daily all the way around the world. πŸ™‚

    I’ve seen an episode of this on *whispers* You Tube. Your telly is better than ours πŸ˜€

    I do relate very much to what you’ve written here. I can empathise a little too much maybe to that need to drown out that horrid voice and what it seems determinded to have you believe.
    Each day as it comes. Some days we loose the war and some days we can go “Ha! you’re wrong!” as we look at our accomplishments in succeeding in the places it says we fail and in so by doing weaken its power to hurt us. That voice is only as strong as we let it be.
    πŸ™‚

    Thank you for sharing this. It’s good to smile again at your humour and honesty.

    I hope you’re feeling a bit better from all the dental work you’ve had and your week is shaping up to be a good one for you. πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • Thank you Tikarma,

      Your warmth which emanates from South Australia does reach all the way to here and is very much appreciated. πŸ™‚

      I don’t know if our telly is better than yours. Apart from football I don’t watch a lot. Mostly because my hearing is such that I miss quite a lot of dialogue (given too that so many people talk too quickly and without moving their lips!!! Bah. Humbug!!) With football it doesn’t really matter that I miss some of the commentary – given that most of the time they are only stating the bleeding obvious!! πŸ™‚

      As for that voice – she used to sit on my left shoulder and chitter constantly in my ear!!!
      She doesn’t do that any longer but she does hang around looking for weaknesses to latch on to.
      Her most persistent one at the moment is loneliness and because there is some truth in that I do need to put in some work to overcome the inertia which would keep me isolated. But as this week I am meeting a friend for lunch tomorrow, meeting another friend for a walk in the park on Thursday and going to a poetry workshop on Saturday I think September is beginning to overcome August!! πŸ™‚

      BTW today’s problem was whether a new T shirt would run in the wash. It Didn’t!!!! πŸ™‚

      You take good care of yourself.
      You are a very impressive lady.
      And very dear to me.

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xoxox

Leave a Reply

