Self Portrait as a Dreamer

All my life
I have been better
at living in the now
than planning
constructively ahead.

In some ways I guess
my life could be described
as a series of accidents,
although that would not tell
the whole story.

For I have invariably
set off down paths
believing them to be right,
but never taking regard
for possible consequences.

Sometime this has led to shit.
Sometimes it has led to poetry.

32 Responses to “Self Portrait as a Dreamer”

  1. Hi David,

    this self reflection made me smile, and I think not planning too much is the only way to stay sane.

    Those down paths are needed to find the road back perhaps? But no matter what sidetrack, it all comes down to ways of writing your good poetry 🙂 So I celibrate that and I hope 69 will prove to be a magic number for you 🙂

    Arohanui ❤ xxx and have a nice quiet ! birthday!

    • Thank you Ina,

      It is said that if you want to give God a smile, tell him your plans!! 🙂

      The next target is 70!! 🙂

      Now that my mouth is starting to heal I look forward to getting out and about more – need to do more walking!!!

      Look after yourself

      Arohanui
      David
      xxx

  2. Hi David,

    This is a calm reflection during a stormy time for you.

    Some of us find it difficult to live in the now and not all who manage that can plan constructively ahead either!

    Maybe your life is the poem; I like to think so. 🙂

  3. Irish,

    I love this. It is absolutely a “David Agnew” poem, and that’s a good thing.

    My life, too, has been disordered by a quick following to instinct instead of caution. It has certainly never been boring! I think this has led to mostly happy destinations, but I do choose to forget the rocky roads and remember only delightful surprises found on the unbeaten paths. One of those really nice surprises started on MySpace, back in 2006, after I suffered injuries from a bad fall and decided to meet other poets online. 😀

    I hope your birthday is quiet and peaceful, filled with soft lighting and gentle smiles, and I hope when you walk by your mirror today you will see what I see when I think of you. (This is a compliment)
    And, I wish you many happy surprises and hours of enjoyment on whatever path you travel.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Much love,
    Shirley

    • Shirley,

      What a lovely comment.
      It leaves me feeling warm and cared about – that is no bad thing on my birthday 🙂

      I can accept that without the “rocky roads” I would not be who I am today.
      But just for now I could do with a little bit of gentleness.
      Autumn is good!!!!

      Thank you
      Much Love
      Irish xxx

  4. I think the trip has got to me after all!!! I forgot to say this, but you know anyway as I tell you every day –

    Love you loads, and enjoy looking at the photo and remembering a lovely day of which there have been, and hopefully will be, many ❤

    Xxx❤xxX

    Birthday kisses too 🙂

  5. lol, David… well living in the Now is all what counts me think. Good to read you again 🙂
    groetjes, Francina

  6. I enjoy your poems David. They bring pleasure to people, you know, and scatter a little bit of wisdom on the land. Keep them coming please.

  7. Hi David – just had to say that the final couplet spoke to me completely! 🙂

  8. My dear friend, David,

    In one way, you could have written this poem from my POV. In another way, I am opposite — I can plan and I can remember, but my challenge is living in the now. That has also led to both shit and poetry, and even at times to shitty poetry or poetic shit. 😎

  9. I just have to smile when reading these musings of yours…they are just so beautifully to the point 🙂

  10. It’s good to read you rhonest poetry. Living in the now is a great blessing (:

  11. Wonderful David! I have had a brush or two myself with the last two lines. However, more the “merde”! 🙂 x

  12. Ah, there are so many other wise sayings about this…to travel without a plan, it’s the journey not the destination, the best travelers are the ones who have no plan, etc., etc. So, hey, your poem fits right in with these wise sayings about our human journey. It sounds like both the shit and the poetry are important ; ) This was fun to read.

Leave a Reply

