Lunching in the Park

Newspaper from a lady
who clearly hates her job
with a passion.

Two hot Cornish Pasties
from someone much more
inclined to smile –
it makes a difference.

Large milky coffee
from the man with a van
in the park.

We talk about the weather –
today is the longest
day of the year.

Find a bench, sit down,
eat my lunch,
people watch –

The swagger (look at me)
of the alpha male.

Those two are surely
having an affair.

Young men, with low-slung trousers,
advertising underpants.

Designer trainers look the part,
but if I was that size and shape
I would not be jogging
in the noon-time heat.
Heart attack territory methinks.

Young girls with mobile phones
permanently attached.
β€œHi, I’m in the park” DUH!

Your mothers would advise –
show legs or cleavage,
never both together.

28 Responses to “Lunching in the Park”

  1. Hi David,

    How lovely to spend a lunch in the park with you. πŸ™‚
    Mmmm cornish pasties. You can’t beat them. They do make the best park lunches. πŸ™‚
    It would seem people and phones are part of the scenery these days. It’s impossible to be anywhere now without seeing someone glued to the screen.

    Your park is certainly more interesting than mine!
    Although come the weekend it can be a challenge getting from one side to the other dodging tourists with their cameras, so as not to spoil their shot. Most times I have the whole place to myself. πŸ™‚

    I hope you’re able to enjoy a few more good lingering warm days in the park people watching before summer ends. πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    And K’sOTC πŸ™‚
    Tikarma
    Xoxoxox
    P.s. Jackie Bear will have some photos up soon of her adventures with the peach tree. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Tikarma,

      This particular park (Park Square) is in the centre of the commercial district of Leeds, so on a week day lunch time it is the ideal place for an avid people watcher like myself!!! πŸ™‚
      I don’t know why I always buy a paper first – I never read it – watching people is far more interesting!!! πŸ™‚

      And that particular shop does very good Cornish Pasties πŸ™‚

      I do look forward to seeing Jackie Bear’s pictures πŸ™‚

      And here is a little poem I wrote about Park Square some time ago –

      Park Square

      A small oasis set within the city,
      some grass, some flowers and many, many trees.
      Surrounded as it is by office buildings,
      a place where I can sit and take my ease,

      And then, from out of nowhere, came a squirrel
      disappearing up a tree with little fuss.
      It can’t have walked along the streets to get here.
      I wonder if, in fact, it took a bus.

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xoxox

      • *Big Smile*
        I do like that poem very much David. πŸ™‚ I can just imagine a squirrel bus hoping to the park. πŸ˜€

        I saw in a documentary recently some pigeons in London who use the train to get from one area to another. They’re getting too smart for their own good! πŸ™‚

        I think it’s necessary to have a place where you can go and take a break from the urban jungle or even just life. πŸ™‚ I’m really glad you have such a nice park near you…And I agree people watching is waaay more interesting than the newspaper any day. πŸ™‚

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        and K’s OTC πŸ™‚
        Tikarma
        xoxoxox

      • *Grin*

        What a good word “waaay” is. I think you made that up but it says exactly what you wanted to say. Love it! πŸ™‚

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
        David
        xoxox

  2. People watching and a cornish pasty (or two!). What more could you want ? πŸ™‚ I can picture you πŸ™‚

    I think we have people watched together in Park Square πŸ™‚ Its such a shame it isnt that simple these days, although you know I am with you anyway. I know we used to people watch on the Town Hall steps too πŸ™‚ Listen to me! I am a little melancholy today. πŸ™‚

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

    • Ah Christine,

      You are a little melancholy. I do hope today has dawned brighter πŸ™‚

      I still people-watch on the Town hall steps, or, more often, on the steps outside the Art Gallery. πŸ™‚

      Look after yourself

      Love you loads
      David
      xxx

  3. Please do be kind if you happen to see me at the park someday. πŸ™‚ Fun post.

  4. Hi David,

    Thanks for the poetic tour in the park πŸ™‚ We have no park here,
    but we do have benches in the woods as you know. I can imagine that the park is the place to be and watch people in Leeds πŸ™‚ I wonder, is that far from your house, is that the golden acre park?

    lol you had heat on the longest day? Here it was like Autumn πŸ™‚

    Those trousers you mention, I don’t understand them, I am glad the fashion is about over now πŸ™‚

    Have many great days of “bird” watching and such in the park!
    And enjoy good weather on your walks!

    Arohanui πŸ™‚

    xxx

  5. makes me think of this one clerk at the corner grocery who wears this pout/frown and you walk out wondering how it’s possible for someone who hates their job so much to stay at it or even be there. sometimes i think the young ones believe they are more attractive with frowns, that it’s all about how they look.

    • A smile costs nothing Eileen and it does make such a difference.
      I do try to smile when I walk past people or when I see them in the park.
      But nowadays so many people seem to be wrapped up in themselves or permanently attached to their phones and I think they are missing all those little things which make a day a pleasure!! πŸ™‚

      David

  6. Delightful David! I almost felt as if I were there with you. πŸ™‚ While I have never had the experience of a REAL Cornish Pasty, I am sure I would enjoy it. Especially with such charming company. Perhaps Christine could join us. That would be fantastic! Just throw in a bit of sunshine, or I could bring it with me… πŸ™‚

    If people watching were a sport, I would be olympic material… πŸ™‚

    LΓ©a

    • Ah Lea,

      You bring the sunshine and I will bring the Cornish Pasties. I am sure Christine would be delighted to join us.

      And the man with the van makes exceedingly good coffee. πŸ™‚

      David

  7. An enjoyable read of people watching. I often do this myself (:

  8. Enjoyed having lunch with you in the park through your words, David. Great poem, it’s fun to watch people even I know ourselves are be watched too πŸ™‚
    groetjes,
    Francina

  9. fabulous! nothing like a little people watching over coffee πŸ™‚ had to laugh at the advertising underwear bit!

  10. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words Says:

    sometimes I get to watching people I forget to eat my lunch…
    you have painted a beautiful day in the park for me/us to enjoy
    Thank you for sharing ….
    Take Care…
    )0(
    maryrose

    • I am delighted Maryrose to have your company in the park. πŸ™‚

      Next time shall we go down to the river?

      David

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words Says:

        oh its a date! as soon as I feed my zoo I will be back around..
        I finally figured out how to find your post…yes I am a senior blonde that has major computer challenges …I was so pleased to find you again, now to figure out how to get your notices when you share…

        I so enjoyed your lunch in the park..It reminded me when I was stationed in Germany….I loved eating in the park..people watching..

        Thank you again !
        take Care…You Matter…
        )0(
        maryrose

      • Thank you maryrose

        That is a lovely thing to say.

        xxx

Leave a Reply

