Whitby Postcard

2013_0619WhitbyPostcard0015

I will be getting cards made from this painting.
So if you are expecting a card from me soon, it will likely be one of these.

David

Availability of Paintings

I do my paintings using Brushes App. They are done on my iPad. That means the original image is on a computer rather than on paper or canvas.

I print them off on a good quality printer to good quality paper (or canvas). I then have them mounted and framed and hang them on my wall.

I have chosen, almost from the beginning, to display them on the web as photos of the paintings. To put the computer image up would be tantamount to giving my art away and that does not seem right somehow.

I could sell framed copies (I have sold some) but to be honest I have no motivation to put in the effort and energy which doing that requires. I would much rather use that effort and energy in making more paintings.

I have also had requests from people who would like particular paintings on their own walls and I have invariably allowed them to use the computer image to print them off.

So, pondering all that, I have decided that the way forward will beΒ  –

1. I will continue to display on the web using photos of paintings.

Availability of Paintings

I do my paintings using Brushes App. They are done on my iPad. That means the original image is on a computer rather than on paper or canvas.

I print them off on a good quality printer to good quality paper (or canvas). I then have them mounted and framed and hang them on my wall.

I have chosen, almost from the beginning, to display them on the web as photos of the paintings. To put the computer image up would be tantamount to giving my art away and that does not seem right somehow.

I could sell framed copies (I have sold some) but to be honest I have no motivation to put in the effort and energy which doing that requires. I would much rather use that effort and energy in making more paintings.

I have also had requests from people who would like particular paintings on their own walls and I have invariably allowed them to use the computer image to print them off.

So, pondering all that, I have decided that the way forward will beΒ  – 2. If you would like a copy for your wall then email me and I will send you a computer image.

3. If you do print it off and hang it on your wall then I ask two things –

A. You take a photo and email it to me. That would be nice for me.

and

B. You make a donation to a charity of your choice. I have no desire to know the amount (none of my business) But it would be nice to know which charity.

So that is the deal

David

21 Responses to “Whitby Postcard”

  1. This looks very good on here David. It looks very professional in its presentation too. Bringing some of your work together on one postcard is something to be proud of πŸ™‚

    And I shall look at it first thing tomorrow morning and pretend I havent seen it beore!! πŸ™‚

    • Hi Christine,

      I do love it when a plan comes together! πŸ™‚

      And I wasn’t sure when I started if I could make this work, but I am delighted with the result.
      I will be picking up the cards tomorrow.

      Happy birthday

      Love
      David

  2. Hi David,

    that is lovely πŸ™‚ What a nice idea to make those cards. Am sick so not much on the net, but wanted to say I think it is a beauty πŸ™‚

    Arohanui πŸ™‚

    xxx

  3. Hello, David. I’ve been missing your posts — I’m not sure why but I’m back now. I love your paintings of Whitby, and as always, I wish you the very best in this new endeavor. I’ll send all kinds of positive thoughts your way.

  4. Thank you for the birthday wishes! And for the beautiful card!

    Love you loads
    Xxx

  5. What a wonderful venture in art making!

  6. Hi David,

    The montage is lovely! How wonderful too that you are able to arrange your paintings like this and do things like make postcards.
    It’s a good reminder of how technology can enhance our lives.
    I like the paintings you chose to be together. I think they compliment each other very well.
    Congratulations! I hope you will be able to do more in the future. πŸ™‚

    I hope you are well?

    Arohauni
    (((BSH)))
    Abd K’s OTC πŸ™‚
    Tikarma.
    Xoxoxox

    • Thank you Tikarma,

      It was good fun to do.
      I haven’t had much time for painting recently so it was good to find a task that I could do as and when I found odd moments πŸ™‚

      I am well thank you. As long as I don’t think too hard about it!!!! πŸ™‚

      Look after yourself

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      And K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xoxox

      • Glad to hear you are well. πŸ™‚ Sometimes it is best to not think too much and just take each day as it comes. πŸ™‚
        I hope you’ll be able to find the time to paint again soon. πŸ™‚
        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        And K’sOTC
        Tikarma
        Xoxoxox

      • *Big Smile*

        I am pondering on a new painting Tikarma.
        Sometimes I have to let them sit in my head for a few days until they move me. πŸ™‚

        Today is a pyjamas all day sort of a day – they generally make me feel better!! πŸ™‚

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        and K’sOTC
        David
        xoxox

      • πŸ™‚ I can certainly relate to needing a painting to sit for a few days. I sometimes find it’s when they’re ready and not before. πŸ™‚
        Ohh a day in p.j.’s sounds divine. πŸ™‚
        I have been planting a peach tree with Jackie Bear. πŸ™‚

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        And K’sOTC πŸ™‚
        Tikarma
        Xoxoxox

      • I do hope Tikarma that Jackie is going to put a photo of that activity up on Facebook πŸ™‚

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        and K’sOTC
        David
        xoxox

  7. oh.. that is very neat idea! Good thinking, David.
    groetjes, Francina

Leave a Reply

