Differently

He fears potential futures,
for this country
is not a good place
to grow old in.
He wishes it was
different.

He wants to do it all again
differently.

He likes the thought
of the now
being not as it is but
different.

He dislikes what he has become
but only some of the time
for mostly he is content
and he might not be
had he done it
differently.

He dreams of a place by the sea
where he can walk in quiet,
have his coffee on the pier
and be glad
that he had not
done it
differently.

30 Responses to “Differently”

  1. t h i n g s + f l e s h Says:

    you have a lovely poetic voice of quietly impassioned grace. tony

  2. Another poignant expression of emotion, and one to which I relate strongly. Lovely poem, my friend! 😎

  3. Hi David,

    this poem is a reflection showing another side, I think of you .

    I hope ‘he’ will be able to find that place to drink his coffee. πŸ™‚

    Arohanui πŸ™‚

    xxx

  4. fauxcajun Says:

    I wish I’d said that.

  5. I like the reflectiveness in this, and the quiet acceptance. The lines speak for many, David.

  6. I like what John had to say, as that seems right to me! I have been thinking about these vary things, also! We;; done David! Big Hugs!

  7. My friend, tis is a poignant expression of an emotion to which I can relate. Lovely poem, as always. 😎

  8. Lovely David. As I said yesterday I found the third person quite difficult but only because it is so different for you. It works well though and probably helps to make the poem more universal.

    I think we must all go through similar reflections and wonder how things would have turned out if we had taken different routes, done things ifferently.

    Maybe we are where we are because that’s where we are meant to be now,for whatever reason, whether we understand it or not. Or maybe I’m talking rubbish and we would have been better off if we had done it differently!! πŸ™‚

    Gentle acceptance is where you arrive in the last stanza and that is a very good place to be. You could push me along the pier.that way we would be able to drink coffee there together. πŸ™‚

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

    • Thank you Christine,

      I don’t think the poem would have worked as an ‘I’ poem – the detachment is what makes it work I think.

      And gentle acceptance was what I hoped the poem would reflect.

      Nor do I think you are talking rubbish – we could lose ourselves for ever in ‘could have beens’

      So now I will look forward to pushing you along that pier πŸ™‚

      Love you loads
      David
      xxx

  9. I hope the he is enjoying his times at Whitby, etc. A most canny & honest write (:

  10. Lovely and reflective, David…
    I’d like to join you and Christine and wander along the pier with you! xx

  11. Me, too. I’m with you. Who doesn’t want that place by the sea? A select few.

  12. Hi David,

    I really enjoyed this poem. You’ve captured that introspective space within us all I think very well. There’s a peacefulness too, but not melancholic. Maybe because you end the poem in hope of such a postive space of enjoying the simple things in life, being content.

    I certainly relate. I’ve spent too much time I think, thinking about all the what if’s and what might have beens. It’s only been the last few years where I’ve been able to let go and truely believe everything happens for it’s own reason and I wouldn’t be the person I am now (which is all I know πŸ™‚ ) without all those everythings and just focus on now and how to make tomorrow better. πŸ™‚

    Thankyou for sharing such a lovely and thoughful piece.
    I hope you are well?

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • Hi Tikarma,

      Thank you for this lovely thoughtful comment.

      I guess I have been something of a dreamer all my life.
      Much better at living in the now than making constructive plans for the future. πŸ™‚
      In some ways I suppose my life has been a series of accidents!!! But of course that would not be the whole truth either. πŸ™‚

      And of course you are right – without all that has happened in my life I would not be who I am now!!!

      I have just had a delightful morning walking in Golden Acre Park including a pot of tea and a sausage sandwich sat outside the cafΓ© in the park people watching. πŸ™‚
      Don’t tell my doctor about the sausage sandwich!!! πŸ™‚

      Take good care of yourself

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xoxox

  13. A beautiful message, the acceptance of self. It is sad how many people never learn this. Yet you have done it with all the grace and charm of the Impressionists. Thank you for sharing this lovely picture. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

