Consultant Vascular Surgeon

“Walk into the pain” he said
“Stop, rest, walk on.
Do this three or four times

Every day,
at least once,
preferably twice.

Then there is the possibility
you can look forward
to walking pain free.”

One other thing he said,
but that is a subject
for another poem.

In the meantime
I will do
the walking.

199 steps at Whitby
have still to be climbed
this year.

24 Responses to “Consultant Vascular Surgeon”

  1. Hi David

    As the song says: Walk on…
    I am sorry that it is needed but one day you will be able to walk pain free, so it is worth it! And you will make the climb in Whitby!

    Much love and best wishes for your walking future! 🙂

    xxx

  2. I hope all this walking pays off, and that you will be pain-free very soon, xx

  3. And I am certain you will do the Whitby steps!

    I am pleased he was a pleasant person. Although why we show surprise at this is quite ridiculous; being pleasant is surely natural, but apparently not always 🙂

    I am impressed with your determination to keep up the walking; the results can only be good.

    All put together so well in this poem 🙂

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

    • Thank you Christine,

      I thought that if I shared this on here it would give me added incentive to keep it up!! 🙂

      And I will certainly do those Whitby steps!!

      Love you loads

      David
      xxx

  4. I guess we all have little, or not so little trials!! go get em David. I think you can do anything!! Hugs!

  5. Mine said the same, David, and I am taking every step right next to you. Slow, SLOW results are still results. All the best.

  6. depends on the injury …. but hope he’s right and things improve. myself am resting the feet and praying they heal better and soon.

    • Ah Eileen, I just have to persevere.

      He sure as hell wasn’t going to operate – the risks far outweigh the potential benefits!!!

      Mind you he told me that over 10 years ago when I first saw him!!!

      Ignoring it and hoping it will go away isn’t going to work either!!

      Look after yourself

      David

  7. Hi David,

    It is great to read such determination in your poem.
    I can see you at the top of the steps at Whitby triumphant! 🙂
    I’m confident you can do this. Life changes are never easy but with all you’ve acomplished and overcomes thus far this will be a challenge but one you can conquer. 🙂
    Each day little by little.

    Jackie Bear and I are cheering you on from the sidelines. 🙂

    You are in my thoughts and prayers.
    Arohanui
    (((BSH))
    and K’OTC 🙂
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • Thank you Tikarma for your continued support and encouragement.

      When I get to the top of the 199 steps I shall raise my cup of tea in a toast to both you and Jackie 🙂

      Look after yourself

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC 🙂
      David
      xoxox

  8. I wish it did not have to be this hard, but everything great and worth achieving usually is. We are all with you – every step!! Keep moving. Poem – awesome and truly relatable. I shall take your doctor’s advice myself. 🙂 🙂

  9. David, perfect timing, I just walked in the door from a rendez-vous with the surgeon who did my surgery…

    I did enjoy the poem. The rendez-vous, not so much. 🙂

  10. Now that , my friend , is the spirit! Keep on walking for you have many steps to climb! well conveyed poem.
    groetjes, Francina

Leave a Reply

