Significant

2013_0516Significant0016

Significant

I drift across the fabric of the day,
touching down, just now and then,
to check that I exist.

Perhaps there is a ripple on the surface
which marks my passage on the way
and says that I’ve been there.

Perhaps when I touch down
I leave a marker,

Enough to last in memory,

A footprint in the sand.

Availability of Paintings

I do my paintings using Brushes App. They are done on my iPad. That means the original image is on a computer rather than on paper or canvas.

I print them off on a good quality printer to good quality paper (or canvas). I then have them mounted and framed and hang them on my wall.

I have chosen, almost from the beginning, to display them on the web as photos of the paintings. To put the computer image up would be tantamount to giving my art away and that does not seem right somehow.

I could sell framed copies (I have sold some) but to be honest I have no motivation to put in the effort and energy which doing that requires. I would much rather use that effort and energy in making more paintings.

I have also had requests from people who would like particular paintings on their own walls and I have invariably allowed them to use the computer image to print them off.

So, pondering all that, I have decided that the way forward will be  –

1. I will continue to display on the web using photos of paintings.

2. If you would like a copy for your wall then email me and I will send you a computer image.

3. If you do print it off and hang it on your wall then I ask two things –

A. You take a photo and email it to me. That would be nice for me.

and

B. You make a donation to a charity of your choice. I have no desire to know the amount (none of my business) But it would be nice to know which charity.

So that is the deal

David

26 Responses to “Significant”

  1. I didnt think it could look any better!! This is terrific; I love it, and once again here is a fabulous poem which complements it beautifully.

    These poems had no idea where their lives would take them ! 🙂

    As I said to you the other day, in my opinion you have embarked on a whole new level with this one. Well done; its beautiful.

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx

    • Thank you Christine,

      I have been pondering a background for this particular poem for some time and suddenly I just knew!!!

      I was pleased with the final result 🙂

      Love you loads
      David
      xxx

  2. Hi David,

    this is a lovely poem and art.
    Drifting across the fabric of the day is a good line!

    The writing is your footprint, and the beach is where you need to walk 🙂 I hope you are going to be able to do some serious walking, near the sea or anywhere else. To be healthy, if we want to know it or not, mostly is a matter of choice! 🙂 so I hope your choice will be to walk. You have done some very good choices already! 😉

    Where is that beach? It looks like the one here 🙂

    Big hugs {{{ David }}} and much love from another shore 🙂

    xxx

    • Thank you Ina for this very supportive comment.

      I have already been out for one walk today, I will go for another later!! 🙂

      The beach is I think exactly where you want it to be.
      After all if we are just touching down every now and then we can surely touch down exactly where we choose. 🙂

      Big Hugs to you too and thank you for the love

      xxx

  3. Amazing David!! Always a pleasure! Hugs!

  4. I like this poem, David. I think maybe we are all often in just such a space.

    The artwork is lovely and your process interesting. Technology really is such a wonder … maybe a mixed blessing … but look at what you can do.

    I will keep watching and keep your offer in mind.

    Be welll …

  5. just lovely, David – the imagery of drifting free yet maintaining a tenuous connection to reality pairs perfectly with your painitng. 🙂 kudos!

  6. Elaine R. English Says:

    Love the combo….best the poem….thank you David….lovely.

  7. how to handle the particulars of digital art can get confusing. i have none of mine printed out. but i make sure they are copied to several places, including a remote server.

    • I put them on a CD Eileen, then take them down to a local printer who has the good quality equipment to make a proper job of them 🙂

      I do also have them in various places 🙂

      David

  8. Most evocative & contemplative words & picture (:

  9. Hi David,

    I do love this poem. It moves me deeply and it pairs perfectly with your painting. 🙂
    It creates an even deeper atmosphere to read and then let the eye wander off onto the dunes.
    I could wax lyrical but I’ll spare you. 🙂
    Congratulations!! I am continually impressed with what you are achieving with your paintngs and the combinations with your poetry.
    This painting to me is perfect. 🙂

    You take good care of yourself! 🙂
    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC 🙂
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • Thank you Tikarma,

      There is a whole on going process in re-reading my poetry and contemplating what I could paint which would enhance the poem.
      And as I am not writing much poetry at the moment this process keeps the creativity going 🙂

      I may go back to Whitby for my next painting. There is a scene I have long wanted to paint but have so far resisted because I didn’t think I could do it. Perhaps I can 🙂

      You take good care of yourself too.

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC 🙂
      David
      xoxox

      • I have no doubt, that once your mind is set upon something and the desire outweighs the doubt it can be achieved. 🙂
        I hope you are able to visit Whitby soon. 🙂
        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        And K’sOTC 🙂
        Tikarma
        Xoxoxo

      • I have no doubt of that either Tikarma.

        and the 199 steps at Whitby have still to be climbed this year!!! 🙂

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        and K’sOTC 🙂
        David
        xoxox

  10. A lovely poem and a lovely painting. (I have not printed my copy yet, looking for the right paper.)

  11. I love the poem!
    the picture is nice too, – but I love the poem 🙂

    You are doing very well painting! It’s amazing how finding the right medium has brought you to create such good work!
    I look forward to your next painting! Best wishes for meeting the challenge!

    with Love
    Vera & Yeva 🙂

  12. This poem could also be taken as a comment on art itself…
    How deep a footprint can one man leave?…

Leave a Reply

