Contentment

21 Contentment
I do wonder what difference it would make to the impact of the painting if I changed the book to a Kindle?

NB  The original of this painting is not available to download except to the person depicted in it. And he already has a copy.

David

Availability of Paintings

I do my paintings using Brushes App. They are done on my iPad. That means the original image is on a computer rather than on paper or canvas.

I print them off on a good quality printer to good quality paper (or canvas). I then have them mounted and framed and hang them on my wall.

I have chosen, almost from the beginning, to display them on the web as photos of the paintings. To put the computer image up would be tantamount to giving my art away and that does not seem right somehow.

I could sell framed copies (I have sold some) but to be honest I have no motivation to put in the effort and energy which doing that requires. I would much rather use that effort and energy in making more paintings.

I have also had requests from people who would like particular paintings on their own walls and I have invariably allowed them to use the computer image to print them off.

So, pondering all that, I have decided that the way forward will be  –

1. I will continue to display on the web using photos of paintings.

2. If you would like a copy for your wall then email me and I will send you a computer image.

3. If you do print it off and hang it on your wall then I ask two things –

A. You take a photo and email it to me. That would be nice for me.

and

B. You make a donation to a charity of your choice. I have no desire to know the amount (none of my business) But it would be nice to know which charity.

So that is the deal

David

16 Responses to “Contentment”

  1. Oh David, this looks superb!! Well, you know how much I already liked it but the framing just completes an already wonderful picture. I am sure he is absolutely delighted with it!

    And a kindle instead of the book? A different impact altogether.There will always be something about the look and feel of a book to depict contentment that a kindle just wouldn’t achieve. In my humble opinion of course! 🙂

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx

  2. I find this nothing short of amazing! I have tried using this app, and my work looks like toddler’s art! Hugs maestro!

  3. Lovely painting — so relatable. 😎

  4. Hi David,

    so this was the other painting 🙂 Good work, you always know how to make a real piece of art out of it ! Who is the person reading there? I think if he were reading a kindle, it would look like he only had half a book!

    I don’t have a Kindle, I am not good with tools lol so I hope if you ever publish another book, it will be in paper 🙂 it is much nicer to have a paper book I think, as a book is more than just words, it also has a body, a character.

    Arohanui 🙂

    xxx

    • Hi Ina,

      The person reading the book is my younger son.
      I could not put the painting up until I had his permission to do so.

      I think it captures the essence of who he is.

      And I agree with you too – a book has a presence which a Kindle does not!! 🙂

      Arohanui 🙂
      David
      xxx

      • That he gave his permission must mean he likes! And I think that is probably most important. It seems the book he is reading is your latest anthology? 🙂

        My country is about to get a king btw so already celebrating, this country hasn’t had a king since 1880… But you remember how it is to have one! Big festivities tomorrow 🙂

        xxx

      • He does like it Ina.

        I was delighted about that.

        Enjoy the celebrations 🙂

        xxx

  5. Hi David,

    This painting is most delightful! 🙂 It certainly captures that moment of contentment for me.
    A kindle wouldn’t do in my opinion. They need power and it’s not a content feeling to have your book run flat…:-) one of the many beautiful things about books. 🙂
    I think this is marvellous. You just keep on getting better and better and it’s always a joy to see what comes next. 🙂

    I hope you are going well?
    Arohanui
    ((BSH))
    and K’sOTC 🙂
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • Thank you Tikarma,

      I am always pleased when you enjoy my paintings.

      I have this painting on my wall side by side with the one of me skimming stones.
      Perhaps there is something running in the family in the seeking and enjoying of contentment!!

      And a Kindle definitely wouldn’t do it!!! 🙂

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC 🙂
      David
      xoxox

  6. I wonder why your posts don’t come up in my “Reader” … an imperfect process, I guess.

  7. David, you are so talented! Painting, poetry… It makes one wonder what other talents you have? 🙂 Lea

Leave a Reply

