The Big Stuff

I cut myself shaving,
wonder whether
to throw myself
off a tall building.

Can’t be arsed.

She washed the dishes,
then scoured
the inside of my tea mug
with a Brillo pad.

She will have to go.

The big stuff
I can cope with.
The small stuff
is harder.

25 Responses to “The Big Stuff”

  1. Brilliant,, my friend!

  2. i tried even getting help from /church and realized i’d be doing my own dishes until i die. must be the irish in me–but at least i make a mean stew.

  3. Yes, can well identify with you there. Have a lie down to think & then forget about it. Phew! That was a close shave (:

  4. Ha! Ha! Well done, David!

  5. The small stuff is definitely harder. That is why I seldom give into the thoght of, “Wouldn’t it be nice to have a little help around the place!” The older I get the more Crusty Old Batchelorhood suits me! LOL. Good one David, you make me count my blessings!

    • Thank you Res,

      I suspect that, like you, I have lived on my own too long to have it any other way.
      Although I do have to watch out that I don’t turn into Victor Meldrew!!!

      Take care of yourself

      David

  6. Christine Lanham Says:

    Brilliant my friend !!!!!

  7. Chuckles.
    It’s so true to tlife. πŸ™‚

  8. Hi David,

    this is really a David Agnew poem, making me smile and think about what really matters in life. You used just enough words to keep the speed and left out all unneeded stuff.

    I am not too sure why using a brillo pad for a tea cup is not good if you rinse well, maybe the taste does linger? (I never use brillo pads so no idea. ) But such are the mysteries that come with the Stuff this poem is about πŸ™‚ And you growing a beard might be an idea lol.

    Keep safe and shave well,

    Much love
    xxx

    • Hi Ina,

      When I read this poem at the Writers Circle someone there also said “this is a David Agnew poem” πŸ™‚
      Thank you

      I guess you would have to be from these islands to understand that the build up of tannin on the inside of a tea mug enhances the flavour, therefore they only ever need to be rinsed!!! It takes ages to break in a new tea mug!! πŸ™‚

      And I really don’t think I would suit a beard πŸ™‚

      Much love
      David
      xxx

      • I knew that about tea pots, that they should never be cleaned, never thought about that for tea cups! πŸ™‚ I suppose I can stop cleaning them now and say that it is the British way for tea!

        πŸ™‚

      • Ah Ina,

        Back in the day we all used to make tea in tea pots. Nowadays we mostly use tea bags in our tea mugs! Therefore it is even more important that the mugs only ever get rinsed!!

        If I want tea made the traditional way then I can always go to Betty’s Tea Rooms. (you can google that) πŸ™‚

        David
        xxx

  9. Belly laugh, David. When I used to drink tea, having one of those fits when I had decided to stop drinking coffee, I was always in trouble for letting the tannin get nice and thick before washing the cup. My bad habits eventually drove me back to coffee. Great poem.

    • Ah Tom,
      In this country we would argue that the thicker the tannin the better the tea tastes.
      But then the tea we drink over here is different from the tea served in America.

      Thank you my friend

      David

  10. This made me smile as soon as I read it David πŸ™‚

    And then we had our conversation and discussed how such a simple, short poem can hold profound truth. And this one certainly hits the spot in that regard. Much more effective, in this case, than a longer poem.

    Now, about my broken tooth…!! πŸ™‚

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx

    • Thank you Christine,

      I knew when I posted the poem that it would make you smile.

      It is a poem which I hope will stay in your head and make you smile again when you get bogged down in the small stuff!!! πŸ™‚

      Love you loads
      David
      xxx

  11. haha Know the feeling well. This was brilliant, and I also am set in my ways! Hugs David!

Leave a Reply

