Marilyn

18 Marilyn

Inspired by something I saw recently at an art exhibition,
prompted by a conversation with my friend Tikarma about the art in painting being the art of illusion
and remembering what my friend Carole said to me a long time ago –
“Draw what you see David”

David

Availability of Paintings

I do my paintings using Brushes App. They are done on my iPad. That means the original image is on a computer rather than on paper or canvas.

I print them off on a good quality printer to good quality paper (or canvas). I then have them mounted and framed and hang them on my wall.

I have chosen, almost from the beginning, to display them on the web as photos of the paintings. To put the computer image up would be tantamount to giving my art away and that does not seem right somehow.

I could sell framed copies (I have sold some) but to be honest I have no motivation to put in the effort and energy which doing that requires. I would much rather use that effort and energy in making more paintings.

I have also had requests from people who would like particular paintings on their own walls and I have invariably allowed them to use the computer image to print them off.

So, pondering all that, I have decided that the way forward will beΒ  –

1. I will continue to display on the web using photos of paintings.

2. If you would like a copy for your wall then email me and I will send you a computer image.

3. If you do print it off and hang it on your wall then I ask two things –

A. You take a photo and email it to me. That would be nice for me.

and

B. You make a donation to a charity of your choice. I have no desire to know the amount (none of my business) But it would be nice to know which charity.

So that is the deal

David

21 Responses to “Marilyn”

  1. It’s here!! πŸ™‚

    Wow!!! πŸ™‚

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

  2. Hi David.

    Nice πŸ™‚ Looks a bit pop artsy πŸ™‚

    Arohanui πŸ™‚

    xxx

  3. Good one David. You’ve got Andy Warhol on the ropes!

  4. It looks like you’ve got her spot on David! Happy St. Patrick’s Day my friend! πŸ™‚

  5. Compelling piece. Such power in the simplicity of black and white.

  6. Love it! You have captured her. I always loved her, thought her funny, beautiful, and so talented!! Too bad men took such advantage of her! Hugs David!

  7. Wow! Amazing! x

  8. Hi David,

    Fantastic!!! πŸ˜€

    It’s great to have such a large photo to view too. πŸ™‚ I think you’ve taken in all your observations about illusion very well with this painting.
    It’s really wonderful and what a fun subject too. πŸ™‚

    I hope you continue to be inspired by what you see around you and inspired to keep on trying different things. πŸ™‚

    Wishing you a lovely week and I hope some vibrant spring weather finds its way to you. πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • *Big Smile*

      Thank you Tikarma,

      This was actually great fun to do. Largely, I think, because I never took myself too seriously whilst I was doing it!! (I never really expected it to work as well as it did) πŸ™‚

      I will go back to landscape next. I have one in mind which I am not sure I can do. So that will stretch me!! πŸ™‚

      And then maybe Elvis!! πŸ™‚

      We do seem to be missing spring this year. More like winter at the moment!!!

      You look after yourself

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xxx

  9. Keep warm David! it is really difficult thinking of Easter with snow… my cousin just sent photos and it sure looks like winter! – so keep warm!! πŸ™‚

    Vera & Yeva sending some of the 34 degrees we had today…

    • Thank you Vera,

      Some of your 34 degrees would be very gratefully received.
      Enough to take the temperature above freezing would be a good start!! πŸ™‚

      Take care of yourself

      With love
      David

  10. “It’s not the men in my life that counts, it’s the life in my men” : ) Great post!

Leave a Reply

