La Petite Mort

09 La Petite Mort
On the back seat of a car, in a secluded clearing,
with the theme song from ‘Local Hero’
playing on the stereo, two people
couple with such intensity
that for a moment the forest falls still;

the woodpecker pauses in his drumming,
wood-nymphs cover their eyes
and their ears with their wings,
and a robin, nearest to the scene,
begins to doubt his own ability.

Meantime, a sparrowhawk,
searching for other prey, looks down in wonder,
wonders if, for those two people,
life will ever be the same again, then swoops
to change the life of a coal tit for ever.

Availability of Paintings

I do my paintings using Brushes App.
They are done on my iPad.
That means the original image is on a computer rather than on paper or canvas.

I print them off on a good quality printer to good quality paper (or canvas).
I then have them mounted and framed and hang them on my wall.

I have chosen, almost from the beginning, to display them on the web as photos
of the paintings. To put the computer image up would be tantamount to giving my
art away and that does not seem right somehow.

I could sell framed copies (I have sold some) but to be honest I have no
motivation to put in the effort and energy which doing that requires. I would
much rather use that effort and energy in making more paintings.

I have also had requests from people who would like particular paintings on
their own walls and I have invariably allowed them to use the computer image to
print them off.

So, pondering all that, I have decided that the way forward will be  –

1. I will continue to display on the web using photos of paintings.

2. If you would like a copy for your wall then email me and I will send you a
computer image.

3. If you do print it off and hang it on your wall then I ask two things –

A. You take a photo and email it to me.
That would be nice for me.

and

B. You make a donation to a charity of your choice.
I have no desire to know the amount (none of my business)
But it would be nice to know which charity.

So that is the deal

David

6 Responses to “La Petite Mort”

  1. This is an absolutely wonderful poem. I thought so when you first wrote it but today, reading it again reminds me of the gift you have with words.

    And the painting captures the words so beautifully. I could find myself tearful.

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

  2. I really like the painting (and the poem too of course!)

    Have you seem David Hockney’s work with the iPad? I went to his big exhibition last year at the Royal Academy, and what he had been able to do with the iPad was great and quite different to his painted pieces – new media means new possibilities!

    • Hi Will,
      It was David hockney and what he was doing with his iPad that inspired me to start painting in the first place.
      I would love to have seen his exhibition at the Royal Academy but could not make it.
      But I have been several times to see his exhibition in Saltaire.
      I love too that he is still so enthusiastic about trying out the possibilities of new media.
      And after all, as he says, at one time the pencil was new technology.

      Thank you
      David

      • ah yes – I was inspired too! One day when I have an iPad (I’m sure we’ll all have them one day) I’ll try my hand at it.
        Yes, he seems a remarkable man. I was excited by his interpretation of the British countryside – how where others saw greys and browns he saw blues, purples, oranges.

        Keep up the good work

        Will

      • My favourite Hockney painting Will is one called ‘Garrowby Hill’.

        As soon as I saw the painting I knew it was Garrowby Hill, yet if I go there and stand where he must have stood with his canvas to paint it I see something radically different! Wonderful

        Thank you

        David

Leave a Reply

