To Die for (Repost)

As the theme this month so far seems to be Whitby Beach Huts I thought I would repost this poem.
After all theΒ the poem is centred in a restaurant which, when it existed, was down there among the beach huts.

David

To Die For

To die for, the waitress said
when I asked about
the bread and butter pudding.

We sat beside a window
in an Art Deco restaurant
looked out across the promenade,
waves getting ever closer,

walked back to an apartment
we had rented in a house
once occupied by Bram Stoker,
Sandsend visible from one window,
the Abbey from another.

When I visit now
the restaurant is gone,
its survival never more likely
than that of our relationship.

I sit upon the sand,
out of reach of breaking waves.
To die for, the waitress says.

22 Responses to “To Die for (Repost)”

  1. Sad the way things work out, at times!! Beautiful, insightful write!! Hugs, David!

  2. Hi David,

    This poem really deserves a repost! Such good memories captured in lovely lines, though it is also a bit sad perhaps. To die for… that line says a lot.

    There is no place that is more inviting for a look in the past than a beach perhaps. Did the ghost of Stoker pay you a visit when you were there? It must have been interesting to know he had the same view from his window as you had, thinking of Dracula maybe! πŸ™‚

    Whitby has left some beautiful memories to me too, and I do hope to revisit πŸ™‚ I want to see those beach huts, I can’t remember seeing them, but I must have. Pity that restaurant you mentioned is gone, but after reading the poem, in a sad way, it only seems justified!

    Arohanui πŸ™‚
    xxx

    • The beach huts may not have been there Ina when you visited.

      They take them down for the winter months and put them up again for the summer season – probably around Easter time.

      Whitby is that sort of magic place which does tend to leave good memories.

      Hopefully I will be there again soon.

      Maybe I will ride the steam train across the North York moors πŸ™‚

      Arohanui πŸ™‚
      David
      xxx

  3. Beautiful poem David 😊

    Desserts to die for and a dream of a view.

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

  4. Poignant and powerful — I see it in front of me now, as though I were standing there.

  5. I really enjoyed revisiting this poem, David. It is full of presence & atmosphere (:

  6. Hi David,

    It was most lovely to be able to re-visit this poem. For some reason I see a sea mist in those last stanzas. I guess memories and mist just go together. πŸ™‚
    It’s bittersweet, yet the the magic of the moment, the magic of the place, they remain. It pulls the heartstrings yet still I can smile. πŸ™‚
    Truly a really beautiful poem.

    Thank you for re-sharing it. πŸ™‚

    Stay well rugged up and warm! πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • Thank you Tikarma,

      Even without the sea mist I can still stand on Whitby Prom and see the restaurant as clearly as if it was still there πŸ™‚

      We are enjoying a few days of spring at the moment and it doesn’t half seem to make a difference πŸ™‚

      Look after yourself

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xoxox

  7. What I get out of this is the transitory nature of life, David. To die for disappears into times past as does the waitress, neither one with the grace to be around when we remember them. On the other hand, the phrase “to die for” also reminds us that in time that’s what we must all do. There are moments and moments in life that dance magically through our days, each one “to die for,” but in the final moment the special wonder that is life is, literally, “to die for.” The poem is powerful in the way of so much of your poetry. There is a tinge of humor, a wistfulness, a pedestrian feel that turns around and bites us readers awake to know what life is really all about as we slumber through our days. A great poem, David. As usual.

    • Thank you Tom,

      I guess what always stuck in my memory was the incongruity of the phrase ‘to die for’ in relation to bread and butter pudding πŸ™‚
      But you are right – it does remind me that life is to be enjoyed – else we would seem to be wasting it.

      I hope you remain well
      Best wishes to you my friend

      David

  8. Lovely – I remember this one πŸ™‚
    (I tried to press ‘like’ but I’m not sure whether or not it worked)
    xx

  9. Powerful imagery that puts me at the scene.

Leave a Reply

