Whitby Beach Huts by David Tait

My friend David Tait was so taken with my painting of Whitby Beach Huts  (my previous post) that it inspired him to write a poem.

In his words  –  “your picture made me write this poem”

I have his permission to post his poem on here

I feel privileged for he is a wonderfully talented poet as well as a good friend

Enjoy

David

Whitby Beach Huts
for David Agnew

I think of them mostly as monuments to joy
seen from the beach at low tide.

The last time I saw them was the happiest time.
I wrapped my arms around the whale bone arch

and Jay took pictures of the sky.
How lucky are we, to spend our moments

stuffed with sunshine and dressed crab.
And what am I except a wave flung out to sea

ceaselessly scuffing these shores.

David Tait

 

 

15 Responses to “Whitby Beach Huts by David Tait”

  1. Hi David,

    that is a beautiful poem, what a nice gesture and gift 🙂 to have a poem written especially for you! Memories of moments like those are what keeps us going when things are not so good.

    Arohanui 🙂 and good luck tomorrow. I shall think of you.
    xxx

  2. Beautiful.

    And I have had the extra privilege of your reading it to me 😊

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

  3. Fabulous poem, loved it. Nice post indeed, especially to see such friendship which is also written inside the poem.

  4. That’s great seeing people being inspired by each other. I’m currently putting my Whitby kin family tree updated ready to go on-line. Good old North Yorskshire (:

  5. stuffed with sunshine, scuffing the shore…
    It’s a very touching poem; lets me experience the part of magic Whitby seems to provide, together with the wonderful painting.

    Ayano xxx.

  6. Hi David,

    It’s always wonderful to see others being inspired by what each person is doing. It’s a beautfiul circle of creativity. 🙂
    David’s poem is very fitting to the painting. The imagery he captured in his words makes the painting seem like that last photo in series of happy memories. Lovely!
    Thank you for sharing David’s poem. Everytime I look at your painting now I will think of you “…stuffed with sunshine and dressed crab…” 😀

    Wishing you a lovely weekend! 🙂

    Arohauni
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC 🙂
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • Hi Tikarma,

      Now you have left me with that phrase too – it kindof sums up Whitby methinks 🙂

      David is a wonderful poet and I am just delighted to be able to put one of his poems in my blog.

      Hope all is well with you

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC 🙂
      David
      xoxox

Leave a Reply

