Whitby Beach Huts at Sunset

2013_0131Whitbybeachhuts0007

When you stand in Whitby and look out to sea you are, by a quirk of the coastline looking north, rather than east which you might expect.

The result of this is that around midsummer the sun both rises from and sets in the sea.

I have spent many happy hours either on the top or on the promenade by the beach huts watching sunsets.

It is an activity I never tire of.

And now I will be able to see it by looking at a painting on my wallΒ  πŸ™‚

David

27 Responses to “Whitby Beach Huts at Sunset”

  1. fauxcajun Says:

    I like the idea of the sun rising and setting from the sea, an amazing feat of coastline peculiarity . . .

  2. What an unusual blessing, to see the path of the sun through the whole day’s sky. And your painting is very lovely — it makes me want to be there! Beautiful, my friend. 😎

  3. Not only will you be able to see it by looking at a painting on your wall but a painting that you did. And one to be truly proud of! πŸ™‚

    And this frame works really well too.

    Well, you already know what I think about this picture, even when I look at it objectively. It is probably the best you have done so far
    In my humble opinion, and when I say best I am really referring to the way tou have captured the light. It is quite remarkable how you have done this, and it keeps drawing me back to it over and over.

    Of course there are many other reasons why this one is a favourite πŸ™‚

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

    • Thank you Christine,

      I am not sure that the photo does justice to the frame and the painting. The mount is actually a very pale yellow colour not unlike the colour of my living room walls – it sets off the painting really well.

      There is something about standing at that spot watching a sunset – once seen, never to be forgotten methinks. πŸ™‚
      I have written a poem about that very place – I know you remember the one!!
      Perhaps I will repost it soon. πŸ™‚

      Love you loads

      David
      xxx

  4. A grand painting David. Whitby will always be with you (:

  5. A wonderful painting David,
    I’m enthralled by all aspects of the sea. As Christine writes you’ve captured the light beautifully. For me it’s the perspective that’s a standout.
    You’re a talented man, and I love that you keep pushing your personal boundaries.

    little hug
    Tricia

  6. Hi David, that is a lovely spot πŸ™‚ and the calm beauty this image provides goes well with the good news of today.

    I have a dune here behind our house where the Sun does the same trick btw πŸ™‚ Sunset watching is one of my fav. things too. And it costs nothing! Maybe the only thng that is more lovely is the Sunrise…

    Arohanui πŸ™‚ xxx
    Ina

  7. Peaceful and soooo beautiful! You are one talented chap my friend. πŸ™‚

  8. Hi David,
    My apologies I’ve come in so late. Some plumbling mis-adventures have me running rather late with just about everything!

    I am so glad you are painting again, and what a painting! I’m so proud of you. My first reaction was WOW! This is just brilliant! πŸ™‚

    You really captured the magic of Whitby in this. I really love the lighting. This is so inviting. It just sits calmly inviting you to sit with it. Which I did for a good 20 minutes. πŸ™‚
    It’s nice too that it can be either sunrise or sunset. It is a most unique phenomenon.
    How special too that now you will be able to look back and remember your times at Whitby with such a serene and beautiful picece. πŸ™‚
    I very much my love my painting of yours that I dearly cherish but I must say this is my new favourite. πŸ™‚
    You’ve outdone yourself!
    Thank you for sharing such a beautiful piece of Whitby. I feel in viewing this I too can share a little piece of that Whitby magic. πŸ™‚

    Take good care. I do hope spring’s arrival won’t be too far off for you. πŸ™‚
    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • Thank you Tikarma,

      I actually think this is my new favourite too πŸ™‚

      I put off painting it for a long time thinking I would never be able to achieve the effect I wanted. Which just goes to show how much I know. DUH!!

      I have in mind to do a Whitby sunrise too – as the sun rises over the harbour and reflects on the boats – we shall see πŸ™‚

      And I understand “sitting with it”. I find myself doing that most mornings as I drink my early morning mug of tea. πŸ™‚

      There are some signs of Spring over here now – the snowdrops are beginning to appear which is always a good sign.

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xoxox

  9. Really lovely!
    xx

  10. I love the luminosity in this painting, the way the light highlights all the triangular frames. Lovely.

  11. I like this painting very much!
    Wow! You are doing so very well!

    with Love
    Vera & Yeva

  12. I like the idea of the sun rising and setting on the sea as belfastdavid Agnew watches in front of beach houses from a pier. May the sun always be on you through your art, David.

  13. Christine said I should check out your Sea Hut paintings. Never argue with Christine! πŸ™‚ She was right of course!

Leave a Reply

