Places where the Magic is

These two paintings are of places which I visited and described, in words, in my book ‘First I Dreamt the Journey’.

Neither painting turned out quite the way I had anticipated when I started. Paintings seem to do that on me – somewhere along the line they take on a life of their own and I just have to go along with the flow. After all, I am making a painting, not taking a photograph!!Β  πŸ™‚

Enjoy

Fairy Dell
2013_0109DarkHedges0024

If you turn to your left as you step into the painting you will see a path.
It leads down to the stream which runs along the bottom of the dell.
That is where the fairies are.Β Β  πŸ™‚

Dark Hedges

2013_0109DarkHedges0020

If you ever visit Northern Ireland be sure to put this place on you ‘must see’ list.
The beech trees are over 300 years old so I guess they will not be there for ever.
Although they have been there, like this, throughout my life time.

30 Responses to “Places where the Magic is”

  1. fauxcajun Says:

    Hello, David. Long time . . . I have, of course written down your instructions, and when I finally get to Northern Ireland I will go faerie hunting, for I want, ere I die to see with my own eyes they are actual beings. Oh, I believe in them, but it would be neat to see them with mine own eyes. Nice painting.

  2. Much enjoyed the view…both are quite nice..though I do find something particularly intriguing in how you painted the trees in “Dark Hedges”…
    Rachael πŸ™‚

  3. David where is it over here i have never heard of it

  4. Terrific! At last the IPad has come out of its slumber!! And it is definitely not yawning πŸ™‚

    I love both of these and the frames are perfect for both of them. The frame for the dark Hedges is particularly effective as it seems to encourage the path along its way.

    Have I seen the Fairy Dell one before or not? I cant remember. I know I have seen the photograph of it.

    Well done you!! Keep doing it as they say! πŸ™‚

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx

    • I did figure Christine, that if I was going to hibernate over Christmas then I might as well find something creative to do!!

      Besides which, I could hear you chuntering in my ear!! πŸ™‚

      I am pleased to have got back to painting again.

      For the next one I will go back to Whitby again

      Love you loads

      David
      xxx

  5. Whitby is missing you πŸ™‚ xxx

  6. Hi David,

    I am very pleased to see what came from the hibernation πŸ™‚ You surely know by now that fairies and such don’t exists, (thank goodness πŸ˜‰ ) but nature is even more beautiful without them πŸ™‚

    Your art has a law and repeat of its own think. I like it. The last painting is even nicer than the one on your book cover.

    I hope all went well this week.

    Arohanui πŸ™‚ and a big artsy hug
    xxx
    Ina

    • *Big Smile*

      Ah, let us not mention the painting on my book cover!!! I am biased!! πŸ™‚

      Thank you – the target for this year is to be more painting – I want to keep stretching myself and see where I get to.

      As for fairies – they will only appear if you believe in them. πŸ™‚

      A big artsy hug to you too πŸ™‚

      Arohanui
      David
      xxx

  7. Wow! Love both the paintings! both make me stay a little longer and keep looking!
    fascinating places in Ireland! – just armchair traveling via DVD’s – and they do mention the fairies too, but don’t show them…
    still, – looking at your painting, I am sure they live there!
    Those old trees are just wonderful!

    with Love
    πŸ™‚
    Vera & Yeva

    • Thank you Vera,

      “stay a little longer and keep looking” is good πŸ™‚

      And the fairies are there – you just have to believe!! πŸ™‚

      I went a few years ago to look for those trees. I remembered being driven through them by my father when I was a child.
      The place was just as magical when visiting as an adult as it was when I was a child!!

      Much love
      David

  8. Beautiful works, both of them. That second one is especially atmospheric. πŸ™‚

  9. They are quite exceptional David! I love the peaceful feeling/place they take me to. πŸ™‚

  10. Hi David,
    I do very much like both paintings but Dark Hedges is my favourite of the two.You’ve still captured an atmosphere of magic I think.
    I would expect nothing less the paintings taking on a life of their own. πŸ™‚
    I think that’s part of the magic itself painting.
    I’ m looking forward to seeing what you will do this year.
    Take good care.
    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    And K’sOTC πŸ™‚
    Tikarma.
    Xxxx

    • Hi Tikarma,

      I was pleased in the end with the way ‘Dark Hedges’ turned out.
      But you would not believe the number of times I looked at how it was emerging in sheer frustration thinking I wish I had never started this bloody thing!!! πŸ™‚
      (Actually you might well believe that!! :))
      But somewhere along the line I got intrigued by what was happening and began to thoroughly enjoy the process. πŸ™‚

      I am looking forward too to what I will do this year *Grin*

      Thank you for your encouragement.

      Look after yourself

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xoxox

  11. These are two beautiful paintings — they make me want to step into them. Lovely, David!

  12. David these are wonderfully atmospheric.
    I keep gazing and as I look I experience a sense of longing to wander amongst the Dark Hedges.
    The finished products show your wisdom in following where the painting leads.
    Hugs
    Tricia

    • Thank you Tricia,

      I first saw those trees when I was a child. They have remained in my memory since.
      I got the chance a few years ago to go back and find them again.
      The magic was still there.

      Hugs
      David

  13. It was good to meander about your paitings David. I may visit those ancient trees in Northern Ireland one day. I did see WB Yeats famous Autograph Tree in Coole Park near Gort in County Galway a wee while ago (: Lots of famous carved signatures on there (:

  14. wonderful paintings, David. Pen or brush have often their own way πŸ™‚
    groetjes, Francina

Leave a Reply

