Christmas Reading

This year, for my enjoyment over the holiday, I shall be re-reading –

The Modesty Blaise books by Peter O’Donnell
without doubt the best totally escapist series of thrillers ever written.

Better than the Travis McGee series by John D MacDonald
although I have all those books too.

Different from the Matt Scudder series by Lawrence Block
the best private detective series ever written although a bit gritty for this time of year.

I shall also probably re-read A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
just because I usually do.

And, of course the Alice books by Lewis Carroll. πŸ™‚

So I might not be on the computer much

Happy Christmas to you all

David

 

25 Responses to “Christmas Reading”

  1. With a stack of books that high you won’t have time for the computer at all! πŸ™‚

    Sounds like a good supply of escapism with some of those books., perfect for sailing away from the madness that christmas can create.

    Did Waterstones have what you were looking for by the way?

    Have a good christmas, I will be keeping in touch just to make sure you are not overdoing the Tickler cheddar!! πŸ™‚

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

    • *Smile*

      It is now the 8th of January and I still have some books to read!!!

      But I have managed to do some other things as well!!!

      Not to mention the Tickler Apron πŸ™‚

      Love you loads
      David
      xxx

  2. Have a rest David and have a good holiday.

  3. I too have been reading a lot for Christmas. I get a good variety of mysteries and settle back in my reading room for hours of enjoyment. Merry Christmas David

  4. Hi David, l

    ucky you, good luck with hibernating. Modesty Blaise… never heard of those books, enjoy!

    Shutting down the computer and phone is the perfect way to celebrate Christmas and find yourself in the middle of chaos. I am going to do just that, looking forward to finally reading my Nicci French πŸ™‚ if I get a chance, not likely though (my children being here) . Have a good time in Whitby when and if πŸ™‚

    πŸ˜‰ Arohanui xxx
    Ina

  5. Enjoy doing the things that are right for you.
    Big hugs
    Tricia

    • I did Tricia, thank you.

      Personally I dislike the whole fortnight of Christmas – all my routines go out the window and I am unsettled.

      But we are now well into the New Year πŸ™‚

      Big Hugs to you too

      David

  6. Happy reading! Sounds “all good” to me. Sending best wishes for the festive season and a really great New Year!
    with Love
    Vera & Yeva

    • Thank you Vera,

      I seem to have emerged on the other side unharmed and with a positive plan for this year.

      Yeva is a lovely name for your new dog πŸ™‚

      With love
      David

  7. And a very, very happy Christmas to you, my friend!

  8. From the library I have borrowed the English translated version of Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84. I don’t know if I will have the time to read it though, with all the winter cleaning that I want to do during the holidays. Still, it’s nice to know I have a good book to dig into once (if ever) the chores gets over and done with.

    Happy holidays (hopefully butter free)!

    Ayano xxx.

  9. Enjoy your reading escapism David. Sounds like a good idea. I’m already looking for the signs of Spring (:

  10. Enjoy your reading , David. Wishing you a wonderful, happy and healthy 2013 from across the creek!
    Francina

  11. An engaging list of holiday reads. I have my own faves too. Thanks for bring up Modesty Blaze. I love a good mystery or thriller and that’s one series I’ve not read … and the list grows longer as life grows shorter, eh. Right not I’ve started reading Colin Dexter’s Inspector Morse series. I got a collection from family for Christmas.

    Popped by read – of course – but also to say I hope you had a good holiday and very best wishes for 2013.

    Be well, David, and poem on ….
    Jamie

    • Lovely to have you drop in Jamie, thank you for all your comments.

      Inspector Morse is well worth a read. And the television series was very worth while watching.

      Best wishes to you for 2013

      David

Leave a Reply

