Distraction

At a poetry reading
in the Heart cafΓ©
when the poetry got boring
I heard instead the voice

of a Victoria Sponge Cake
on the counter
which got louder and louder
drowning out the voice of the poet

victoria sponge cake

30 Responses to “Distraction”

  1. Hi David, LOL it sounds like a real good piece of art… the Victoria Sponge Cake too! (What on earth is it … maybe I have eaten that in England this year! ) I hope you got a reasonable piece of it anyway?

    Arohanui πŸ™‚
    xxx

  2. Hello David,
    Enjoyed the poem and would kill for a piece of the Sponge with my final cuppa of the evening.
    Take care
    Trocoa

  3. Hi David, my first comment disappeared, but I hope the cake tasted good πŸ™‚ it is a amazing thing if pastry starts talkling to you more than poetry! πŸ™‚

    Arohanui πŸ™‚

    xxx

  4. Elaine R. English Says:

    FUN!

  5. And I already know you had more than a satisfying portion! πŸ™‚

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

  6. Dreaming of a cake πŸ™‚ i love the Victoria sponge

  7. A treat! Much enjoyed…
    Rachael

  8. My too expansive belly rumbles as the words drip icing and boring poetry swirls into a sponge of emotions baked into a counter of absolute anticipation–and guilt if I knew what guilt is. O, and the pleasure of it all!

  9. I hope the cake SATISFIED YOUR DESIRES (:

  10. I haven’t been to a poetry reading in years, but I remember the feeling! 😎

  11. I cannot help but think that the cake quite literally drowned out your voice, poet, as you consumed it! Yummy poem.

  12. Indeed. Yum! I can’t say I blame you.

  13. Bon appΓ©tit! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

