Things I don’t see the point of

Gloves with no fingers
Alcohol free lager
Short corners in football matches
Nicotine free cigarettes
Caffeine free coffee (WTF)

Substitutes for butter
Wearing gloves while playing football
(the team with most gloves loses)
Thongs
Crotchless knickers (well maybe)

Use by dates on packs of cheddar cheese
Reality TV programmes
(in factΒ most TV programmes)
Bad Manners
Rushing

26 Responses to “Things I don’t see the point of”

  1. Love it!

    Though to be fair to bus conductors those gloves did manage to keep half a hand warmish! πŸ™‚

    I’m sure I will have a long list too – something to keep me busy rhis evening instead of watching Poirot! Now there’s something there definitely is a point to! Lol πŸ™‚

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

    • LOL

      Making the list Christine I found a fun thing to do.

      But I had to be careful not to go off on a Victor Meldrew and turn it into a rant πŸ™‚

      Enjoy Poirrot πŸ™‚

      Love you loads

      David
      xxx

  2. Hi David, this is a funny collection, there are so many things that are substitutes for what we want. Always go for the real thing only! πŸ™‚ Heels that are long and thin and make your hit your head, never understood those. So much comes into mind πŸ™‚

    When I was clearing up my emai today as we got a new providerl, I found a mail from you mentioning Ian Parks, I googled and found http://peonymoon.wordpress.com/tag/ian-parks-poet/ I really like his poetry so thank you for mentioning him.

    Keep the poetry coming πŸ™‚ and looking forward to your book.

    Much love πŸ™‚

    Ina

    • What is the use, the point, the right colour for curtains,
      why bother to care anymore you say, and reluctantly come with me to the store
      where all kinds of rubbish is hurting your eyes. What for, oh my god, what for…
      πŸ˜‰

    • Ah Ina, I have never tried high heels!! πŸ™‚

      Ian Parks is a terrific poet – he writes very moving love poems – that is where he excels methinks

      The book is on its way πŸ™‚

      Much love πŸ™‚

      David
      xxx

  3. Have to agree whole-heartedly with you, especially on the caffeine free coffee!

  4. Great fun David! And look how you’ve got us all thinking of our own lists!

  5. Nice one David, i used to have those gloves πŸ™‚

  6. yep, have to agree on most of those — though i wouldn’t live without my thongs (the shoe variety!) lol …. if are speaking on the underwear sort, no not terribly sensible, even from a “sexy” angle not much in wonderful about nickers being right up against the backdoor like that. πŸ™‚

  7. A great list! I would have to add Auto-Tune. If you can’t carry a tune on your own, no computer is going to make you any better!

  8. Pearls of wisdom indeed, David (:

  9. You mean, David, that we are not to fool ourselves with things that make no sense? Just think of it: The non-mountain mountain! The poet without words! Unlovely love! Should we not all be exactly what we are not? As the bricks fly the dozers by the wall get up and roundabout into a dance of sky that cranes with long, trailing feet toward tomorrow as if morning will never be. Is not all nonsense the substance of who we would like to be without the pain of being who we are?

    • What an absolutely wonderful comment which has left me smiling.

      It is a poem in itself.

      I shall go into the rest of my day rather lighter than I was before

      Thank you

      David

Leave a Reply

