Healthy Eating

My doctor, who is remarkably young
(although to be fair, most all
the people I deal with nowadays
appear remarkably  young)
is of the opinion
that I should cut
fatty foods from my diet.

I have no problem with that;
it is just we disagree
over what constitutes fatty food.

Butter for example –
I have tried the alternatives –
nothing else will do.

Fish and chips she is prepared
to concede are acceptable
provided eaten only once a week.

Bacon does not count if eaten
as part of a BLT
at the Heart café in Headingley.

Their cakes do not count either,
although the extortionate price
is a consideration.

And as for Taw Valley
Tickler Extra Mature Cheddar –
the pleasure is worth the pain.

16 Responses to “Healthy Eating”

  1. I agree whole heart & stomachly (:

  2. I really should eat better than I do. Ethel, of course, keeps careful watch on my intake and is always guiding me in the right direction, but “Tickler Extra Mature Cheddar,” well, even Ethel would not begrudge anybody that! Anyway, I need David’s good humor at the moment, and I’m getting a dose of it. Thank God. If Thor and Zeus will forgive the blasphemy.

  3. What is life without cheese?…It’s like…well…death…

  4. gains and losses … you know, i wonder that any person no matter how schooled, can set themselves up above man’s instinct?

  5. David
    I love the way this jogs along with a tongue in cheek attitude to your doctor’s advice.

    I do enjoy your “snippets from life” poems very much.:)

    And as for being an advert for Taw Valley Tickler Extra Mature Cheddar, it has worked wonders! My mouth is watering as I insert its name into the very top of my next grocery list! 🙂 Oh, and some oat crackers to go with it – pure bliss 🙂 Oh and some no fat butter too!!

    Love you loads

    Christine

    Xxx

    • Thank you Christine,

      You will enjoy that cheese, but be careful, it is very moreish!! 🙂

      I am afraid I don’t understand the concept of “no fat butter”
      Is that similar to alcohol free lager? 🙂

      Love you loads

      David
      xxx

  6. lol! I had to cut fat out of my food too and after a while you get used to it. But once in a while you can sin and that does not hurt the doc told me .. Great poem.
    Ciao, Francina

  7. Funny how many docs look like kids these days.

    Your doc seems pretty liberal.

Leave a Reply

