We Need To Talk About The Rain

Not the soft gentle rain
which drifts in from the sea
carrying with it both
scent and taste of the ocean,

not the wind driven rain,
horizontal in your face,
pushing you forward
in one direction only,

not the downpours of rain
which bounce from the ground,
soak you from the bottom up
and from the top down,

not the thunder filled rain
which is best watched
from behind glass
as lightning streaks across the sky,

not the low cloud sort of rain
which obscures your vision
in all directions making you
uncertain of where you are,

but the rain we walked through
that September evening holding hands
when we promised that next year
we would do this again.

40 Responses to “We Need To Talk About The Rain”

  1. Hi David,

    I am very happy to see you posted another poem, and a terrific one too!
    The rain pours down in all sorts, cats and dogs even, but that September rain, when it is still a bit Summer but also Autumn, must have been special then.. I love the thought here and the warmth, the rhythm and the promise to do it again, one of your best I think πŸ™‚

    Arohanui πŸ™‚
    xxx
    Ina

    • ps ” Wind of change ” now is my fav. of TANSTAS πŸ™‚ I read it again this morning, just before I went out for my walk in a fret πŸ™‚ of sea mist . Weather is inspiring.

      • I love the way a fret drifting in from the sea alters the landscape we walk through.

        I envy your closeness to the sea – so much more pleasant to walk there than through the streets of Leeds which is where my walk took me this morning!!

        And yes, weather is inspiring πŸ™‚

    • Thank you ina,

      It was written on the day I was out and about with friends in Leeds recording our thoughts for a radio programme – details, including me reading an earlier version of this poem on FaceBook

      Arohanui
      David
      xxx

  2. Elaine Randall English Says:

    David….this is one of the best pieces of yours I’ve read…granted, that’s just my opinion…but it is simply beautiful and worthy.

  3. Christine lanham Says:

    So very beautiful David….makes me smile and swoon

  4. Oh I so love the romantic side of you!! This is a lovely piece; makes me want to walk in the rain!! Hugs avid!

  5. It’s interesting how we can use one thing to talk about so many others πŸ™‚

  6. David great to see you posting again, and a lovely poem.

  7. Hi David,

    Quite by chance as I read this most beautiful poem in my inbox it was raining, pouring down and deafing and as I sat back with a big smile the sun came out, full of promise for the day ahead. πŸ™‚

    I do very much like this poem. It’s has a gentlness much like a slow walk or the rain itself in your descriptions of all the different types of rain. The final stanza is just so warm and full of promise.
    I can only smile and say thank you for sharing such a sweet and beautiful poem!

    I hope you enjoy your trip to Whitby.
    You will be in my thoughts.

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • Hi Tikarma,

      Don’t you wonder about ‘chance’ when those things happen!! πŸ™‚

      You take very good care of yourself.
      I will be thinking about you.

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xoxox

  8. This poem really engaged me, David. I wanted to keep reading & find out the meaning of the rain. I wonder if the couple met again a year later…& was it in Whitby…I wonder & wander (:..?

  9. What a thoughtful, poignant message. Beautiful!

  10. Wonderful poem David. I have to admit, I have been very absent from the poetry writing world. . . and to come and find this beautiful gem all findly laid out – is very rewarding indeed. I love the rain, and the love the memories – and the promise. Beautiful.

  11. Katherine Says:

    exquisite i remember the warm rain puddles in July last year and holdings hands jumping barefoot in hem

  12. Francina Says:

    Lovely poem, David. Walking in the rain can be romantic too..

    Ciao, Francina

  13. What a very fine tribute to that September rain that many of us have walked through holding hands with a special someone (even a dear son or daughter or grandchild!) and vowing to repeat the process again and again. So true about that September rain of the hand-holding is like no other.

  14. This is wonderful, David – I think we all have those “September rains” in our pasts… even decades later, I still remember those times. Beautifully written!

  15. Ahh, David, may you always find your spirit in a misting rain as sea gulls fly out to sea and gardens soak up life and bloom the colors of love forever in your soul. You have sat down at your bench, taken a block of wood, selected your tools as dust motes drifted through a ray of sunlight streaming from a high window, and crafted a masterpiece as your remembered a September evening rising out of who you are and who you may one day be again.

  16. Perfect lylovely, subtly romantic.
    Like unwrapping a box of chocolates.

  17. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words Says:

    I love this…
    for I was part of a promise just like this one…
    I wait….for I know it will be…
    Beautiful David…just beautiful…
    )0(

  18. Just lovely David.

Leave a Reply

