Paintings from round and about

Otley Chevin

I was prompted to paint this by my friend Paul who, in response to one of my previous paintings, said he missed his weekly walks up the Chevin.
I guess the landscape in Florida is rather different from the landscape in Yorkshire!

Bolton Abbey

19 Responses to “Paintings from round and about”

  1. πŸ™‚ I wish I could see them better, but they do look great so far!
    I walked a long distance this morning, the Sun made all very cheerful!
    Your walls must be like that of a real art museum by now πŸ™‚
    Otley Chevin sounds like a good place to dwell btw! And inspiring for poems…

    Arohanui πŸ™‚
    xxx

    • One of the benefits Ina of painting these places is that I have to get out and walk to reach them!! πŸ™‚

      My walls are rapidly changing – it feels good to look at them πŸ™‚

      Look after yourself

      Arohanui

      David
      xxx

  2. Both beautiful David. πŸ™‚

    I am so proud of you

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx

  3. Yes, I was up the Chevin most Sunday afternoons! I hear the Royalty pub has closed which is sad, as I took my netbook up there, used their wifi, and had a pint. Nice picture, David. The Florida landscape is very flat with no ancient buildings like Bolton Abbey, but it does have its attractions and the bird and animal life is amazing (I won’t mention the bugs!) πŸ™‚

  4. oh thee are lovely!!

  5. Oooh I love the greens of these paintings, David. So lush! – L

  6. Wonderful of you to paint in honor of your friend. And that one of Bolton Abbey just sweeps me right away to an age long ago and faraway! Both are so gentle, somehow!

  7. The greens that you paint are lovely to view. In Florida we have swamps teeming with flora and wildlife in half the state, and Forests and farms in the other. It is a state with lime rock as its base and sandy soil in most places. I do not think you will find country like Florida anywhere else it is so unique and vastly different from your England..Even our view of the ocean that surrounds us is strikingly different from what you look out upon..Love that you painted these so one can see the differences David

    • Thank you Clarice,

      I have never been to Florida but would love to visit. Perhaps someday πŸ™‚

      I have long had a love for the ocean so to see it as you see it would be exciting πŸ™‚

      David

  8. Francina Says:

    lovely, David!

    Ciao, Francina

  9. so pretty ….. very nice, soft colors

  10. You are so talented! I am impressed.

Leave a Reply

