Book launch and Poetry readings

There are no such things as seagulls
Book Launch and Poetry Readings

My new book – ‘There are no such things as seagulls’ will be published by Valley Press in June of this year.
To coincide with this launch I will be doing a number of poetry readings   –  details below.
Please feel free to attend any or all of these.
Do let me know if you are coming. It will be good to see as many friends as possible.

Sunday 17th June – 1:30pm Bridlington Spa

This event, hosted by Jamie McGarry, is part of a day-long event by Valley Press.
So if you want a day of poetry, book readings, workshops and an opportunity to meet the publisher and some of the Valley Press authors, not to mention a day out by the seaside and an opportunity to buy some books then this is an event not to be missed!!

Monday 18th June – 7:30pm Carriageworks Theatre Leeds

This event, hosted by Ian Harker, will be run under the auspices of the Leeds Writers Circle but everyone is welcome.
The Carriageworks Theatre is in the Electric Press building on Millennium Square.

Sunday 24th June – 12:30pm Victoria Pub, Leeds

This event, hosted by David Tait, will allow you not only to sample good poetry but also to enjoy the ambience of one of the finest pubs in Leeds  –  good food, good ale, good atmosphere. If you like your pubs to be like pubs, as I do, then this is the place for you. The Vic. Is behind the Town hall in Leeds.

It is my intention at each of these events that selected poems from the book will be read not only by me but also by some of my friends.

Wednesday 27th June – 7:30 Heart Café, Headingley, Leeds

This is not a launch event as such. I will be reading along with four or five other poets at this event which runs on a regular monthly basis on the last Wednesday of each month.

33 Responses to “Book launch and Poetry readings”

  1. Wish I could be there!! Miss you!! I wish you so much luck!! Hugs
    David!!

  2. Congratulations David! I would love to try and get along to one of these, but work may prove prohibitive. Good luck with all the launches, and make sure you save me a copy!
    Love
    Kimx

  3. Dear David, I am so proud of you, and so happy for you! Best wishes on the launch of your book, and on your poetry readings,
    I wish I could be there!

  4. David,

    It hardly seems a minute since we were discussing the beginnings of all this and now here you are about to “set sail”, seagulls flying overhead!!

    Well done and I can’t wait for the book!

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx x

  5. Congrats!! All the best on the success of your book and your readings – what an exciting adventure to embark upon. 🙂

  6. Hi David

    That you will have another book out soon, is wonderful and Valley Press sounds like the right place for your poetry of Whitby. It has been a long time of editing and such, but June is not that far away, so there is an end to the misery of waiting. I am very excited for you, your poetry is giving me lots of joy and appreciation of the English language, the deeper meaning of the simple, direct words you write have a way of touching me. I shall therefore of course purchase a copy! “There are no such thing as seagulls” is not just the work title then, but also the final one. It is intruiging. This book will be loved by many!
    I hope there will be a seagull on the cover 🙂 one of your mates, like there are so many in Whitby.

    Your ambitions might have changed towards painting for the moment, which is also turning out so well, but I am convinced you will be back writing poetry too; I don’t think you have left it at all.
    I’ll be there for the launch if everything works out, hey this is the 21st century so distance is nothing, right lol, and I am looking forward to meeting you again. Well, everyone who knows you, probably wants to be there, so I hope there is plenty of room for all of us!
    In the mean time, good luck with all your activities. I am glad you stayed in touch, take good care of yourself. I will be in touch too.

    Arohanui
    and a big hug
    xxx
    Ina

    • Thank you Ina,

      It will be good to see you there.

      I will keep the cover secret for the moment, but I suspect you will like it. 🙂

      Arohanui
      and a big hug to you too 🙂

      David
      xxx

  7. Or is it: appreciation for the English language ?

  8. David good luck with all your events and i hope they are a big success.

  9. Hi David,

    A BIG Congratulations on the book! 🙂

    All your hard work and waiting I’m sure have culminated in a most wonderful collection of poetry and I’m certainly looking forward to being able to purchase a copy. 🙂

    I wish you all the best of success with your book launches too! I’m sure it will be wonderful to finally read these poems to others and hear them being read! 🙂

    I am so very proud for you, for all you’ve achieved with getting your your book published but also for taking chances and opportunites with Valley Press and with your journey with painting.

    You will be in my thoughts that all goes well and you have a most enjoyable time!

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC 🙂
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • Thank you Tikarma,

      I had never planned another book so this opportunity came a bit out of the blue.

      I am delighted and am now looking forward to all these events.

      I will try to get some photos taken so that you can see.

      You take good care of yourself

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC 🙂
      David
      xoxox

  10. Congratulations and the best of luck with your reading series!

  11. Congrats, David! Wow, your schedule is hectic! 🙂 – L

  12. David, I hate publishing, especially with big presses. The work is horrible and dealing with editors is even more horrible. I’ve never had a good experience yet. I admire your perseverance and will get your book when it comes out if I can figure out how to in the U.S. I tried Amazon and Barnes and Noble for some of your other books, but couldn’t find them anywhere.
    I would absolutely love to come to one of your readings, but I’m afraid that Ethel and I will not be there. We would if we could, and I’d love to see Nick Moore and some of the other poets I love that live in England, but we are neither wealthy enough to make the trip nor am I in shape to do so at the moment. The last part will end one of these days, though.
    Please assured that I will wish that you make a million dollars with a fat movie contract from your poems, even though poetry, at least in this day and age, will not garner that. Still, my friend, from this side of the Atlantic and inland way too many miles, I am willing to say you are a wonderful poet and deserve more than you will ever get.
    Read well and let your voice boom with the strength of a dragon and whisper with the beauty of a blue iris in the earliest spring.

    • Thank you Tom,

      In this country we have a number of small independent presses and thank goodness for them. Without them I am not sure how poetry would survive.
      Valley Press is one such – relatively recently established and already beginning to make a name for itself in the poetry world.
      I was delighted to be given the opportunity to be published by them.
      This book will be available on Amazon!

      I hope you are recovering well

      My very best wishes to both you and Ethel

      David

  13. am glad …. sounds like a busy summer :)]

  14. Best wishes to you, David – on the launching of your new book. Congratulations!

  15. Francina Says:

    Congratulations and best wishes for the book launch David.

    Ciao, Francina

  16. Congratulations on your book launch and on your poetry readings. Excellent!

  17. David, how I wish I could get over on that side of The Pond to attend at least one of these readings. Will be looking for your wonderful book, though! Wishing you every success and lots of good fellowship included in your readings. Neat idea to have some others read with you. Congratulations on this publication!

Leave a Reply

