Some Whitby Paintings

I am posting these paintings by way of a progress report really I guess.
They represent as much as anything else a process of learning. Not only about painting itself but also about how a painting looks when I transfer it from my iPad.
I have discovered I need to be aware of what it looks like after printing.
I remember hearing David Hockney talking about just this on a television programme.  I didn’t understand what he meant then but I do now.

Enjoy
David

Towards Sandsend

If I had known, before I started, how challenging this painting would turn out to be I might well have not started it at all!
But there you go – Story of my life really.
And if I was to do it again I would probably do it differently.  Story of my life again!

But it is what it is and I learnt a lot along the way.

Whitby Abbey

This is another painting which gave me real challenges.
Tikarma very generously provided me with advice and guidance without which the painting would surely have finished ‘in the garage’.
The quality of the finished painting is down to me – not down to the quality of Tikarma’s advice which was really helpful.
The other challenge with this painting was for me to understand how it would look.
It looks really good when printed on a good quality printer. (I don’t have a good quality printer but I know a man who does! :))

If you take two paces back from the screen you get a clue!!!

Whitby Pier

This painting was done just because it was tremendous fun to do!
What it is all about really!  🙂

Oh, and one other thing –
I don’t half get a good feeling when I see one of my paintings framed and hanging on my wall!!!

42 Responses to “Some Whitby Paintings”

  1. Hi David,

    As you already know I just love all of these!

    I was going to try and pick a favourite but I can’t and that’s because I like them all in a different way and for what each of them says to me. So that idea ditched I will just say that your wall at home will look brilliant with all these and I could quite happily live with all of them on my wall too.

    The Abbey looks great now, much more textured and Im not sure what you mean when you say it still doesn’t work; I think it does, although you did say it looks great framed so perhaps you are happier with it than you were before framing.

    As I said to you, your artist’s “voice” is appearing very vividly now and I will repeat, “Ooh, look, there’s a David Agnew”!! :):)

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx x

    • *Big Smile*

      you really are my favourite art critic Christne 🙂

      What a good thought “Ooh, look, there’s a David Agnew”!! is!!!

      Thank you also for being prepared to give your opinion on the early versions of my paintings. You are a great encouragement.

      Love you loads

      David
      xxx

  2. PS If someone was going to kill me if I didn’t choose a favourite then it would have to be Sandsend! But only then!! LOL 🙂

    I think i become more insane by the day! 🙂

    xxx x

  3. I like Towards Sandsend the best. I like the blues and grays, and the splash of other colors in between. 🙂 – L

  4. Hi David,

    So here are 3 already! I am glad you succeeded in your paintings, they look really bright, much brighter than I remembered the place but that makes it art 🙂 I like the Abbey best. I would have excpected a much more dramatic painting, this is a very original way of showing your impression of Whitby.
    (Where are the crows! lol)

    Take good care of yourself,
    Arohanui
    xxx
    Ina

    • Thank you Ina,

      I see Whitby in a very particular way I guess 🙂

      The crows (rooks, ravens?) are out of the picture on the right at the other side of the graveyard!! 🙂

      Arohanui
      xxx
      David

      • 🙂 lol that reminds me when I once drew a donkey. I drew a house, so my mother asked where the donkey was. Behind the house of course, I said lol.

  5. Hi David,
    really enjoying looking at your Whitby works-in-progress. I can visualize them well in real life as well as in your evocative depictions (:

  6. These are all lovely; nevertheless, my favorite is Whitby Pier, which seems to move seamlessly into the ocean. All are very well done, and obviously a lot of effort accomanied each. Congratulations!

  7. I think the are magnificent David! thrilled you are posting them!

  8. Lovely paintings David keep up the good work.

  9. E. English Says:

    Are you using oils or acrylics?…or something else…I’m liking the abstractions.

  10. Whitby Abbey is definitely my favorite; the composition is enticing. I love the way the skeletal frame of the Abbey sharpens the otherwise vacant, grey looking sky. The trailing colors of land further afield is lovely too! The pictures are all beautiful and I enjoyed the view very much. Thank you, David.

    Ayano xxx

    • Thank you Ayano,

      The Abbey is such an iconic image for Whitby that I was determined to try to paint it.
      I am glad I did – it is a very satisfying picture to have on my wall.

      David
      xxx

  11. Hi David,

    Gosh you’ve accomplished so much! I’m so happy for you that you are so happy with the framed paintings and enjoying them on your wall. 🙂

    I really love the colours of Sandsend and the little seagulls. I adore Whitby Pier. That just pops out at you in the most pleasant manner. The fun of painitng it I think comes through. 🙂
    The Abbey…I’m so proud for you that you didn’t give up on it.
    I can see where you’ve added depth and the ruin ends on the side are much more textured. Well done! These techniques are not esay to learn and I think you’re doing a fine job of applying all you’re absorbing into work which is very much your own creative voice.
    I am glad too that all my babble on techniques was helpful. 🙂

    Each painting suits a mood for me. Towards Sandsend content, Whitby Abbey peaceful/contemplative and Whitby Pier happy. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing this update on your progress. I am very much looking forward to seeing the next David Agnew. 🙂

    Take good care and I hope you’ve had a good week. 🙂

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC 🙂
    Tikarma
    xoxoxxo

    • Thank you Tikarma,

      And for your continued support, encouragement and advice – they all mean a lot to me.

      As for not giving up on the Abbey, we have spoken before about the stubborn/determination continuum *grin*

      I love that you have been able to identify a mood to go with each painting. You do reflect the mood that was there when I was painting them. Whitby Pier makes me smile every time I look at it on my wall 🙂

      There will be an email on its way to you shortly.

      I hope you are having a good week 🙂

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC 🙂
      David
      xoxox

  12. These look so much different in frames David! I can see them on your wall now! 🙂 And I hope to really see them soon 🙂

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx

    • Thank you Christine,

      They do brighten up my living room. And there is great satisfaction in looking at them.

      You will be very welcome to come visit them 🙂

      Love you loads
      David
      xxx

  13. Oh Wow! I agree with Christine, these look very different framed. They’re absolutely lovely and wonderful! 😀
    This has ended my day on a high point seeing them all ready to be put on your wall. 🙂
    I hope they bring you much pleasure to look upon for many, many years. 😀

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC 🙂
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • Big 🙂

      Thank you Tikarma.

      There is a lot of pleasure in finding the right frame which will show off each painting to its best 🙂

      It feels like I have re-decorated the living room! 🙂

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC
      David
      xoxox

  14. Hi David

    I noticed in my comments- you -made -section something must have changed on your blog lol.
    Impressive, when did you frame them … Looks very good! Is that your wall?? (chair?)
    I hope you are okay. How’s poetry going ? 🙂

    Arohanui 🙂
    xxx
    Ina

    • Hi ina,

      I get them printed on a good quality printer and framed as I go along.
      I can only truely appreciate them after I have done that.

      And yes, the background is either my wall or my chair. 🙂

      The poetry is, for the moment, taking a back seat 🙂

      Arohanui
      xxx
      David

    • Hi David Thank you for the mail, I am glad you are okay. It will be great to see your painitngs hanging elsewhere too! 🙂 I am not too sure I understand about the launch, you don’t have a date already or do. I will try and see if I can make it .

      Arohanui 🙂 and take good care dear friend 🙂
      xxx
      Ina

  15. David, so pleased that you are enjoying your printed and framed work on your wall. I truly love the first painting, you said was so hard to do. I think your effort really paid off, because it shows the beauty of the constantly changing water and how much your skills have developed.

  16. David, I wish I had the ability to say something as meaningful about paintings as I do about poetry. I love art and live in the midst of artists doing work that I love to contemplate and relate to, but the truth is that I’m better with poetry.
    But I enjoy these works of yours as you are coming along with them. I especially like the first one with its layers of colors and the fading of the horizon. Both that one and the pier have an abstract quality that draws my eye and gives me the opportunity to visually contemplate what I am seeing and conjure a story from the contemplation. The abbey is mysterious and romantic and looms out of the horizon and landscape as if it is a great beast that insists on dominating everything around it.
    Ethel is the expert, but I like seeing what you are up to, expecting it to keep getting better and better as you put your mind and eye into the same gear and grind away toward the flashes and landscapes of genius.

    • Thank you Tom very much.

      What this is all about is me enjoying myself and enjoying a brand new challenge.
      That other people can take pleasure from what i am doing delights me.

      David

  17. wonderful painting, David! Good job!

    Ciao, Francina

  18. These are wonderful, David. The composition and abstract qualities with musical interaction are exceptional. Love Ethel

Leave a Reply

