Just to let you know

I thought it only right to let you all know that, at least for the next few months, I will be much less present on here (and on FB for that matter) than I have been previously.

I want to give precedence to things in my real life (not that I am suggesting any of you are less than real, you understandย ๐Ÿ™‚ )

In particular two things are grabbing my attention –

I want to develop my painting. At the moment I am on a steep learning curve and the only way I will improve is by working at it. (As my friend Dave Rindahl say I need to practise, practise and then practise some more J )
It is not only that each painting takes me a long time but that if I want to paint landscapes, which I do, then I have to get out and about amongst the landscapes to discover what it is I want to paint. (Spring is such a good time to do that)

I am also spending time sorting out events for the launch of my new book โ€“ โ€˜There are no such things as seagullsโ€™ to be published by Valley Press in June of this year. I will put up a post with details as and when they are finalised.

I will continue to post from time to time, but they are much more likely to be paintings rather than poems.

I will continue to comment from time to time on your posts, but it is likely to be on a random basis rather than a regular basis.
So please donโ€™t think I have fallen out with you or that I donโ€™t like your work โ€“ it is just that I wonโ€™t have had the time to read.

If you, very specifically, want me to read something or to get in touch then please send me an email.

My very best wishes to you all

David

47 Responses to “Just to let you know”

  1. I will miss your presence David, but am so pleased you are pursuing your painting.
    Thank you for so many things.
    Big hugs
    Tricia

  2. And very best wishes for success with your pictures and your new book David. Thanks for letting us know. There’ll be a warm welcome for any posts you might manage to share, whether pictures or poems.

  3. Hi David

    With a sad feeling I write this, as your blog and poems (and Christine’s) are my favourite and the comments you both make, are so from the heart. But there is a time for a change, like there always will be. As we said in Whitby, you can’t write poems for ever, you told me there that you have found this digital painting interesting and wanted to try it out. We have seen the results, you are pretty good at it already ๐Ÿ™‚ Digital art is something so modern, that this granny here can’t grasp how it is done.
    But you can! So a new adventure. Please keep writing and publishng poems too! I hope I am not a nuissance with all my mails and messages. I have really learnt a lot from you and I am so very grateful for everything you have given me these last few years. I am not always too confident, well you know what I mean.

    I am very pleased that you agreed to participate in what is hopefully my new book with the cover and I hope you have managed to read the manuscript without too much trouble, it was a bit difficult to get everything in one file lol. Without your encouragement, I would never have published one, let alone try another book, in English.

    Our friendship, as you told me, goes above wordpress friendship, thank you very much for those words. I am so glad I made a real friend in you! I will see you (in Bridlington? ) and if possible in Leeds shortly. And of course I will send you my poems, as I hope you will find a little time for some help. (Still much needed ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Thank you also for writing that review. I am for ever in your debt!

    Big overseas hug
    {{{ David }}}

    Arohanui ๐Ÿ™‚
    xxx
    Ina

    • Thank you Ina,

      One of the big pleasures in my life in recent years has been the good friends I have made via the Internet.

      I shall miss the company but do need to find out how my journey into painting can work for me.
      I am not going away – just being fair to myself in creating space in my life in which to paint.

      Whether the amount of creative energy going into painting will mean less poetry I have yet to find out. We shall see.

      I will let you have details of all the various poetry reading activity around the book launch as soon as the details are finalised.

      You take good care of yourself

      Arohanui

      David
      xxx

      • ๐Ÿ™‚ you take good care too. Keep walking! And thank you for doing the review, I am very happy with it ‘coming out’. ๐Ÿ™‚

        You might find you are a painter and a poet, and in that case, you will be doubble blesssed ๐Ÿ™‚

        See you around, I am looking forward to meeting you again ๐Ÿ™‚

        Much love
        xxx
        Ina

      • and stay in touch ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I was wondering why you were not around David and i came to see if you were still posting.
    You need time out to take up your painting and as your say the summer would be the best time for that.
    Looking forward to your next visit.

    Harry.

  5. Have a great time painting & getting your book in order David. I appreciate your needing to get into the real world & often want to do more of that myself as opposed to lving alot of my life on-line. I look forward to seeing examples of your creations in due course. And I plan to head back to the west coast of Ireland next month to revisit & discover new places with camera & an openness to new poetry in tow (:

    • Thank you Jeff,

      This does seem to be ideal weather for getting out and about.

      Enjoy your trip to the west coast of Ireland. I would love to be going there myself

      David

  6. Even less time! You’re hardly on here anymore already! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Landscapes require a lot of consideration and planning of composition and focal points, in my experience – even if that means taking a few artistic liberties sometimes. Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • There is a certain truth in that Paul.

      I have already discovered that ther is a big difference between looking at a landscape with a view to photographing it and looking at it with a view to painting it!

      I have a plan to take a trip up Otley Chevin in the near future. ๐Ÿ™‚

      David

  7. it will be delightful to see your artistic work in another medium!!

    • Thank you Katherine,

      I never expected to be painting.
      But then I never expected to be writing poems either!

      ‘Beyond our wildest dreams’ comes to mind

      David

  8. Congratulations on the new book!
    I have yet to publish one so there is a bit of envy attached to my good wishes ๐Ÿ™‚
    Practicing writing has served you well, so I hope the same will be true for your painting.

  9. I sure will miss your posts! Best of luck with your projects! I cannot wait to see some of your new paintings!

  10. We shall miss you David, but if you post a painting now and then, well, life winds in strange ways sometimes. As long as you are smiling, then your life is all right with the world. I hope to see you later. Your staying on my blogroll.

    • Thank you Tom,

      I am smiling. ๐Ÿ™‚
      And you will see me later.

      I hope all is going well with you and with your recovery.
      I will still see your posts as they pass through my inbox and hopefully we will stay in touch.

      My best wishes to you both

      David

  11. You’ve been a great mentor to me and many others, David: we shall miss your warm, affirming and amusing presence. But you truly have a great gift for painting, and it’s absolutely right that you pursue it to the fullest extent you can. And of course, your comments will always be greatly welcomed and appreciated. Looking forward to seeing the fruits of your new venture. My very best wishes, as always. N.

    • Thank you Nick,

      It has been my pleasure to get to know you and your poetry during my time on WordPress.
      Your sonnets are a delight and I will continue to enjoy them in my inbox even if I am not commenting.

      And don’t forget that book!!

      My very best wishes to you my friend.

      David

  12. pebblelodge Says:

    Welcome to the world of paint, its exciting, rewarding , and can be very frustrating, and demands committment, which I know you will give 100%, I am looking forward to following your progress and I hope you will display your work for us to see,
    Have you joined a local Art Club ? Its a great place to exchange ideas and encourage the use of different mediums. I just love the whole concept and Im pretty certain that you wont be content until you have tried them all .
    Good Luck and I wish you well
    Love
    Chris xx

    • Thank you Chris,

      I have been excited and frustrated in equal parts I think as I have got into paint.
      The challenge continues to excite me and the enjoyment when something works is a bit special.

      For the moment I think I will leave joining an Art Club but it is definitely to be considered for the future.
      I will put work up here for you to see as and when. Although there are some which may have to remain in the garage!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Love
      David
      xxx

  13. pebblelodge Says:

    Hi David,
    Welcome to the world of paint, its exciting , rewarding,and frustrating , and sometimes a depressing waste of time! but as all our tutors say its the 3 p,s which you already know about, and of course committment which I know you will give 110%.
    Have you joined a local Art Club? Its a great place to to exchange info , and see the use of all the different mediums. I just love the whole concept and Im certain you will too.
    Good luck and I wish you well in this new venture , and I look forward to seeing your work.
    love
    Chris x

  14. I’m sure we will be in touch *big smile*

    Your painting must come first; you have a gift not to be ignored

    Love you loads

    Christine xxx x

  15. that’s what happens when you make yourself indespensible ๐Ÿ™‚

    say hi to the sunshine for me, tip your hat to a few birds ….

  16. Hi David,

    I wish you nothing but the best of success with your continuing journey with painting and with the final stages of your new book. I’m really getting excited now! ๐Ÿ™‚

    You have indeed embarked upon a worthy challenge and you have more than demonstrated that you are up for that challenge.
    As I was told a few times “When you are blessed with a talent you have an obligation to develop it and share it.”
    You need to let it have priority in your life right now, because you do have talent. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Being someone who is extremely slow, I know very well how important time is and how quickly it can race away if you ‘re not careful. I just know though that all the time and effort you are putting into your painting right now will pay off with many fine pieces. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I wish you many long hours enjoying and absorbing the landscape around you and as always I remain ever curious to see the results of your creativity.

    Arohanui
    extra big (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC ๐Ÿ™‚
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • Hi Tikarma,

      That’s you and me both getting excited!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thank you too for your continued support and assistance – it means a lot to me.

      I do believe I am doing the right thing in giving myself time and space to see where this stage of my journey takes me.
      I love your phrase – “absorbing the landscape”. I do believe I have to do that before I can paint it. So I need to get out there and teach myself to look differently!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      There may be some results quite soon.

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC ๐Ÿ™‚
      David
      xoxox

  17. I’m looking forward to seeing your paintings, David! – L

  18. Hey David,

    That’s exciting news. It’s good to shake things up a bit. I have felt an urge to paint too lately. I’m taking some courses in the Summer. It’s a weird urge I’ve never really had before. We must be on similar wavelengths. We’ll have to share our art now as well as our poetry.

    Take care,

    Cathy

    • Hi Cathy,

      If you do take it up do let me know.
      I would be fascinated to see what you are doing.
      I will post some of mine on here as and when they are shareable ๐Ÿ™‚

      You take care too

      David

  19. I will miss your poetry, but all the best to your new book and your painting.

  20. Francina Says:

    Wishing you all well on your new adventure! Would be neat though to see some paintings of you posted here over time..

    Ciao, Francina

  21. David, we eagerly await your book launch! Congratulations and all success is wished for you! We look forward to seeing any paintings you wish to share here. I am SO pleased you are pursuing your painting seriously. And spring is exactly the time to be getting out there to paint.

  22. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words Says:

    I found you thrugh Dave and now you are away on a learning expedition it the world of painting…where as I envy that for I have always wanted to be an artist, I will surely miss getting to know the energu that makes up BelfastDave….
    Hope to see you around when you find a moment or two to wander through…
    Take Care…
    )0(
    maryrose
    (congratulations on the new book)

    • Thank you Maryrose,

      I am delighted to have you drop in.
      And I will still be around from time to time ๐Ÿ™‚

      But now I am intrigued – Which Dave?

      Take care
      David

Leave a Reply

