Moving On

Walking, on far end
of the promenade,
I am caught out
by weather’s sudden change.

It races across the bay,
disturbs water, creates
white tops on waves, arrives
horizontal in my face.

And as I look, into the wind
and rain, I see a light
flickering across vastness,
darkness of the sea.

I am reminded of candles lit on graves,
put there to make connection with those
who have gone before – their faces appear,
re-appear in blinking of the light.

No longer do I feel alone,
there is comfort, warmth almost,
in the presence, midst the storm,
of those I knew and loved.

I came here feeling loss, my mother
so recently departed from this life.
Yet now I feel a sense of reassurance,
a sense that she is here, with me, today.

And so I turn around,
pull hood over my head,
walk with wind now on my back –
Go forward once again.

This is not a new poem, but several things happening in my life prompted me to post it now, and I don’t think I have posted it on here before.
David

33 Responses to “Moving On”

  1. David, I love this. This was perfect for me to read today, but I think I say that anytime I read your work. Your description made me feel as if I were there with you. You are always able to paint a picture with your words. This was so fitting because we just lost an oldtimer that was like everyone’s mother and your poem just described how I have felt over the last week. Thanks for posting it on here 🙂 wishing you lots of love and peace

    • Paula,

      I am always delighted when you drop in. And even more so when you have joined me.
      Moving on is always difficult but we do need to find a way.

      Love and Peace to you too

      David

  2. is touching, David …. what haunts in those gone before us is how much they cared. you express so well that sheltered feeling and presence.

  3. Oh David, i love this poem. I remember reading it a while ago when you gave me copies of all your books (bringing us both back up to date with each other *cosy smile*)

    It was almost like the sudden change in the weather was meant just for you at that time , the whole scene, a message from your mum letting you know that how it left you feeling was and is a truth, that she is here with you today and always will be, and very proud of you too.

    This is a beautifully written poem expressing deep feelings very softly and honestly. I am so glad you chose to post it.

    It has brought back memories orf my mum too, good ones, so thank you.

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx x

    • Thank you Christine,

      It was/is a very personal poem written for myself at a time when I needed to write it.
      It still brings me comfort every time I re-read it.

      I am pleased it brought back good memories for you.

      Love you loads
      David
      xxx

  4. Hi David,
    I am glad you are alright yourself.
    This poem is so moving and real, the promenade could be a metafor of life and the storm speaks for itself.

    I have been in storms like that, feeling that weather, see the lights as you describe and the reassurance they have, I always find that too at sea. To find that comfort, I am sure the weather changed just for that reason. You wrote such a beautiful flow of thoughts here which all became one thought. Yes, that white foam looks like candles!

    All the people we knew and are now dead, the older you get, the more. I like the thought of their faces being there like that.
    The most moving part is that of your mother. It is hard to say goodbye, but she will always be there somewhere watching over you while you move on.

    This is a wonderful poem, it would be a great comfort for others too to hear it read out on funerals.
    Thank you for mailing the poem, I have blown it up to visible proportions and it reads better.

    Arohanui 🙂
    xxx
    Ina

    • Thank you Ina,

      I do feel very strongly that my mother is still present in my life and watching over me.
      It is a very comforting thought.

      Storms, particularly by the side of the sea, are always, for me, very powerful experiences. They move me in a way I find difficult to explain.

      Take good care of yourself and don’t forget to give your eyes a rest from time to time.

      Arohanui
      David
      xxx

  5. I think you’ve caught a familiar mood, and even more important a change of mood, very accurately. And the title picks it up perfectly.

  6. Francina Says:

    very moving poem and comforting too , David.

    Ciao, Francina

  7. I remember this.. a very deep;y felt piece my friend..

  8. Thank you for being so generous with your feelings — I admire that!

  9. Hi David,

    I remember this poem well. It is still a most moving and beautiful poem about your feelings and your mother.

    The change in weather to me speaks of the changes and often turbulence loss can bring in life . The sense of love as you spy the light I always find most moving as you remember past loved ones and the comfort in knowing you can move forward, that your mother is with you, in the rain, in the cold, across the miles in the light, in your memories…

    There is a lot of reassurance in this poem and so much love. It still moves me and reminds me that moving forward after loss is okay and a fundamental part of accepting the changes life brings.

    I think this poem is very much one I needed to read myself today.
    Thank you.

    I hope you are well?
    Take good care my dear friend
    Arohanui
    (((BSH))) and
    K’sOTC 🙂
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox
    p.s. an email will be with you soon. 🙂

    • Hi Tikarma,

      I often go back to this poem when I want to remind myself.
      I was prompted to go back to it again this week when talking to a friend who’s own mother had recently died.

      And yes – “moving forward after loss is okay”
      We need to do that – however hard it may appear at the time.

      I am pleased I posted the poem on a day you needed to read it yourself.
      It wasn’t in the plan for this week, but clearly it was worth doing!!!

      I am well thank you – sorting out dates and venues for the launch of my book in June and planning some more painting days over the weekend. 🙂

      You take good care of yourself too my good friend. I hope your week is providing you with nourishment.

      And I look forward to your email

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC 🙂
      David
      xoxox

  10. A very moving poem David. It shows vulnerablity & hope. And I wonder if its situated in our mutual haunt of Whitby?

  11. David, a truly beautiful ode to the memory of your mother and the love you shared with her. What a comfort, indeed, are candles lit at gravesites of loved ones. So pleased this was sighted on your walk.

  12. David, I love the light you see,

    “flickering across vastness,
    darkness of the sea.”

    And I know that feeling of a loved one’s presence, which this light signifies. A poignant and beautiful poem!

  13. And so I turn around,
    pull hood over my head,
    walk with wind now on my back –
    Go forward once again

    Yes, how the storms behind our back will propel us forward. Your hood is on like a kind of shield which makes the ending complex. You are moving forward but, I sense, with some trepidation…or at least with the tenderness of knowing life’s storms deeply enough to need some protection.

  14. As the weather changes, and we suddenly find ourselves inside the storm, talking to those who have crossed over to the other side, as the Navajo say, feeling the chill of the wind, but also feeling the warmth of the lives who have visited us in our lives and made us who we are, then the storm is inside us as well as outside of us, and we are not far from rainbows bowing down out of the sky to touch the end of the dock off the promenade beside a gray swelling sea, daring us to walk over to the dock’s last plank to touch the colors dipping down there. This poem swells with the winds and waves of life and what they mean to a poets’ spirit and soul.

  15. Lovely poem. I understand you.

Leave a Reply

