North Yorkshire Moors


This is one of my favourite roads – the road from Pickering to Whitby across the North Yorkshire Moors.
In this case the view is travelling from Whitby to Pickering.

I intend to paint more views from the Moors in the future

Enjoy

David

42 Responses to “North Yorkshire Moors”

  1. I know that road – you’ve captured it beautifully. Wonderful colouring.

  2. Hi David,

    what a very nice landscape 🙂 You did the country there justice, I can tell lol as I have been on that road to Pickering, on the way to Eden Camp. The desolate beauty and the colours are both in this pic, and there is something extra that makes it more interesting than a photo, namely you and how you see that road.

    Now I won’t get philosofical about roads (I already went overboard in a poem when I commented on your fb Whitby photo album lol, which was also about roads. ) I just want to add that taking this particular road looks like a pleasure to me 🙂

    I hope you will walk (or drive) many beautiful roads in future and I hope you will add a poem of yours here as well 🙂 Your intend to make more views of the Moors is someting to look forward to!

    Arohanui 🙂

    xxx

    Ina

  3. Ah,that’s the road I loved so much the other day!! Lonely,but filled with movement!! An excellent view,and great work of art!!You never fail to surprise me,and make me smile!! Hugs!!

    • What a lovely comment Sandy. Thank you.

      It is one of my very favourite roads. And a fascinating experience trying to paint it.
      If I have made you smile I am delighted 🙂

      Hugs to you my friend

      David

  4. Beautiful colors — exactly what I’d think of when I hear the word Moors. I can’t wait to see more. 😎

  5. Love it! That curve of the road heading off into the distance just awakens the imagination. 🙂

  6. I know that road too – thank you for bringing back some good cycling memories! And what a fantastic image; you have a real gift, my friend. N.

    • Nick,

      If the painting brought back those memories for you then surely it has done its work.
      Exhilarating and challenging in equal measures I suspect, cycling up there. 🙂

      Thank you
      David

  7. Mmm…I recall this from your photo posts t’other week..I may’ve never travelled this road as i tend to be coming from the north to Whitby or by train on another route. I love the open space in your photo. It’s very cleverly taken (:

  8. I like your more adventurous use of colour, David. It’s an amazing road.

  9. Elaine Randall English Says:

    Nice interpretation!

  10. David,

    You were clearly overtired last night when you voiced your concerns about the “readiness” of this painting. 🙂

    It is an amazing painting and the mix of colours you have incorporated gives it a very personal touch.

    It isn’t at all what I had pictured! 🙂 There is so much more colour and it is definitely tinged with a little “Agnew” abstract, which I have to say has worked excellently!

    You have very much brought yourself into this painting, I can already begin to see your “artist’s “voice” in this and really look forward to many, many more – no pressure of course 🙂 🙂

    You have clearly painted it with love 🙂

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx (x extra kiss for a very well done piece of creativity) 🙂

    • Christine,

      “You have clearly painted it with love” – I suspect this remark gets to the heart of the matter.
      I find I can only paint those places which I have feelings for and I guess that must come out in the painting.

      David Hockney says that if you look, really look you will see the colours which are there. 🙂

      There will be more. I am fascinated by this whole process and am really enjoying where the journey is taking me.

      Thank you

      Love you loads

      David
      xxxx

  11. Wow.. no wonder great writers come from there I haveseen the Lake District in Essex and the Moors with the Heather….exquisite David!

  12. This is beautiful! To see the wild moors and ocean is a gift. Love Ethel

  13. Hi David,

    I do very much much love this painting! 🙂 I like your use of colour and the open space.
    I can see why this is a favourite road of yours. 🙂
    I like the perspective as well because it makes you feel as if you are taking the journey yourself.
    This leaves me smiling and reminds me of a road near me that sweeps up a hill in a similar fashion.
    I feel a joy and anticipation in this painting. Almost as if there was a smile on your face as you were painting. 🙂
    Really wonderful and well done!
    I wish you all the best as you continue your journey with painting and I hope we’ll all get to see more paintings from this area too. 🙂
    I do agree with Christine’s comment as well. Your artistic voice is beginning to emerge and that makes me so happy and excited for you all over again. 🙂

    I’m very much looking forward to what you’ll paint next. 🙂

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC 🙂
    Tikarma
    xoxoxoxo

    • Hi Tikarma,

      If this painting leaves you smiling then I am delighted. 🙂

      There was a smile on my face as I was painting – It kindof took on a life of its own which surprised me! 🙂

      There will be more paintings from that area and I may well go back to view the road from the other end and then paint it from that perspective. That thought excites me.

      Even across the distance between us I can feel your “happy and excited for me”. 🙂 your encouragement and support means a great deal to me.

      I am not sure what I will paint next. I had grossly under-estimated the emotional component in making a painting so I need to bear that in mind. 🙂

      I do hope your week is going well

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC 🙂
      David
      xoxox

      • *BIG* 🙂 paintings can have a habit of that…taking on a life of their own.
        I think from my own experiance as you become less self-conscious in what you are doing you are able to get more “lost” in painting and that’s where your deeper artistic self emerges.
        It’s a process that still fascinates and surprises me. 🙂

        I’m sure when your ready the painting will come. 🙂 I had overlooked the emotional aspect myself as it’s something which now is just a part of it for me. It is in part why I divide my painting into one week on one week off, so I have the space to distance myself and clear the head before continuing or starting a new painting.
        It sounds like you are finding your way and settling into painting very well. 🙂

        My week is off to a good start, thanks. An email is fluttering it’s way to your inbox. 🙂

        I hope your week will be a very good one! 🙂

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        and K’sOTC 🙂
        Tikarma
        xoxoox

  14. The patterns of your colors and your perspective on the distances makes me almost see one or two “little people” peeking out from a curve in this road.

  15. A road very well used by guests who stayed with us at http://www.carrhousefarm.co.uk .They enjoying driving over the Moors from Pickering to Whitby then on to Sandsend. The Moors are at their best when the heather is out which you have depicted by painting the road purple. I just love how you use colour .if you do any paintings nearer to us around Ampleforth I would be happy to try to sell them for you..We are twixt the Abbeys of Ampleforth,Byland and Stanbrook

    • Anna,

      I am delighted you have dropped in. Thank you.

      I don’t think I have ever visited Ampleforth, but your web site makes the area seem very appealing. Perhaps I will drive across some day and explore.
      Would a cup of tea be on offer if I was passing your way?

      David

  16. really pretty, looks almost like a photograph

Leave a Reply

