Outside the window whilst at a poetry workshop

The forecast is for snow
and I guess I wait for it
to begin, which it does,
at first gently,
almost apologetic,

but growing in confidence,
gathering momentum,
until what was tentative
turns into a determined
re-painting of the landscape.

39 Responses to “Outside the window whilst at a poetry workshop”

  1. Hi David,

    This is so lovely. I can see you sit with your mug of tea, wating for the miracle 🙂 and the load is actually being dropped over Leeds, the landscape repainted in blinding white!

    🙂 Enjoy the anticipated wonders of Winter! And be careful when you walk outside!

    We are in a thick layer of snow now, and ice is giving ferry problems, so not sure I get rid of my weekend guests lol, but it is a beautiful sight!

    Arohanui 🙂

    Ina

    • Hi Ina,

      I have no intention of venturing out at all today.

      The re-painted landscape is really attractive to look out on. And the blue tits are very grateful for my bird feeder.
      So I shall stay in the warmth with my slippers on 🙂

      Arohanui

      David

  2. 🙂 The best way to enjoy it! Do you have those Bunny slippers?

  3. This is just how it was when I was watching it start!

    A lovely description. Although your phrase”almost apologetic”, I’m afraid I turned into “almost pathetic”!! Sorry snow, you were okay once you got going! LOL 🙂 🙂

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx

    • It did take time to get going!!

      I was supposed to be doing a writing exercise about something else at the time, but the lure of the snow was too much!!! 🙂

      Love you loads

      David
      xxx

  4. A lovely piece! You’re the best, David!

  5. Deftly described. I witnessed those scenes myself yesterday (:

  6. I may sound ridiculous but here goes. Sometimes when reading a poem, I enjoy a moment of fantasy thinking that the poem was woven solely for myself. (Don’t worry, I am not a stalker)
    Some poems have that magic.

  7. lovely – I’m so pleased we’ve finally had some snow this winter – although most of it has melted up here now…

  8. It’s all about the anticipation being finally fulfilled – lovely.

  9. nice — very beautiful descriptive there. seems our snow is being transplanted to europe/the ukrain. 16 feet in Bosnia…..wow. stay warm, keep your boots-on.

  10. Lovely poem David, now at your age stay in and keep warm.

  11. Hi David,

    beautifully written !

    Ciao,
    Francina

  12. Wonderful, as ever. Snow is definitely more than just a meteorological phenomenon; there’s something very deliberate, almost calculating, about it, which you’ve captured perfectly here.

  13. Such a wonderful poem about one of my favourite things. The progression of the poem showed beautifully the progression of the falling snow.

    On a diferent subject, I unfollowed then followed again and now I’m getting your poems when you post them. Funny things these computers.

    Tricia

    • Thank you Tricia,

      The poem kindof wrote itself as I followed what was happening outside the window.
      Guess I could have been paying attention to what was going on inside the room!!! 🙂

      I will try unfollow and follow on your blog – see if it works for me 🙂

      David

  14. I love the direct simplicity of this, David, and don’t think I should try to overthink it and try to find a deep meaning in it. Last winter Continental Divide hardly had any snow even though we are over 7,200 feet up. This winter we have had a lot of progressions like the one you describe: Tentative snow, more confident snow, and then the world transformed and dressed in shining white, the pinion and juniper branches laden with piles of dressy cold. A great poem.

    • *Smile*

      There was no deeper meaning Tom as I was writing it.

      The snow has mostly melted again by this morning.
      but I love what it does to the landscape and the silence it brings with it.

      Thank you

      David

  15. Another beautiful poem, David, but then I expect nothing less that perfect from you 🙂 hugs, Nance xx

    • Thank you Nance,

      But please do not lay ‘perfect’ om me.
      I used to be perfect – Life became a whole lot more manageable when I gave it up!!! 🙂

      Hugs to you too my friend

      David
      xxx

  16. Elizabeth. Says:

    😀 XXX

  17. Hi David,

    I’ve enjoyed the charm of this poem although at first it was hard to connect to. There is a feeling in your poem which teases for not having experianced snow. *pout*
    Thankfully for t.v. and photographs 🙂 it makes it easier to imagine. that feeling though, of seeing the first flakes falling the almost school boy anticipation? of watching trees and cars slowly being transformed…it remains elusive. I am charmed nonetheless.. 🙂

    I hope the roads aren’t too slushy with the snow melting and you are keeping warm and well rugged up! 🙂

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    and K’sOTC 🙂
    xoxoxoox

    • Hi Tikarma,

      It never occurred to me that you would never have experienced snow. I bet you do *pout* extremely well!!! *Grin*

      I still find it quite magical no matter how often I experience it.
      And hopefully you will get the opportunity to experience it in the future. That will be something to really look forward to.

      The snow has mostly gone now but we are in a period of bitterly cold weather. “well rugged up” is the only way to be 🙂

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC 🙂
      David
      xoxox

Leave a Reply

