Where the poems are

There is a long curved pathway
which runs between sanity and madness:
I have walked it many times,

searching

in wrong places
for solutions
to wrong problems;

destined

to walk for ever
until, exhausted,
I came close to death.

Whoever is responsible for miracles

chose that moment
to open up my eyes,
let me see the light,
which lit a different path.

That is where I found the poems.

42 Responses to “Where the poems are”

  1. I love this – would you mind if I reblog it onto one of my blogs?
    (I’ll include a link to this one, of course)
    Ali x

  2. I so understand what you are saying here.. When Carl died, I felt like I was going crazy,because I blamed myself..My grief counselor told me to keep a journal, and gave me a poetry book to read!! I had never read any before;my writings in my journal,slowly transformed to poetry,and there you have it!! This is marvelous David, so sad,but with such a wonderful outcome,and I am so thankful to have found your words on myspace!! Hugs and Thanks!!

    • Sandy,

      Thank you for your honesty in this comment.
      My poetry, in the beginning was very much about the pain of the journey. It has evolved since then.
      Your poetry is a source of delight to me.
      I think there is something very spiritual in that things of beauty can emerge from what was originally so much pain.
      I take great solace sometimes in my poetry for it has taught me to look at the world in a different way.

      Hugs to you too my good friend

      David

  3. This is a lovely tribute David, to that grace that let you see the ‘other path’. So glad you found it, Brother. Great poem, I love it!

    • Res,

      It was indeed ‘grace’ which led me to that ‘other path’
      As long as I remember to be grateful on a daily basis, it continues to work for me.

      Thank you my friend
      David

  4. Hi David,

    what a beautiful, personal poem. Poetry means so much to you and you have written many, really such very good ones. In poetry we can find a lot of our difficult struggles, in words we never would have arranged ourselves that way. To feel comfort and regain sanity from it, is a big compliment to art. I am so glad you got out of that dark era! And look at you now, a great poet with lots of readers who enjoy your work! 🙂

    My depressions could not be cured with reading poetry, as it was of a different nature I suppose, I don’t think could have even read a sentence and understood it in those 2 periods, in my case pills and a shot did the trick, but that doesn’t mean I am not very grateful now that poetry can do this, helping to cure.

    If I am moved by a poem, shocked or enchanted, that also is part of the emotions and feelings poetry can trigger and it enriches my life. I hope you understand what I am saying. In your poetry I find a way to look at the world that is surprising and with deeper meaning. There is a lot of love in your poems.

    Your poetry also helps people, I know that. And while you write, I think you also feel the joy of making words and sentences to be a part of a bigger whole than just stanza’s. 🙂

    Poetry is magical in many ways. I personally don’t want to write therapeutic poems, I would like to write poems for the beauty of poetry alone really. But you have convinced me by your work that reading and writing poetry can also be a sort of therapy 🙂 You know that I was very sceptic before 🙂 And if the result is as wonderful as your poetry is, it doesn’t matter much why it was written. Does it? 🙂 It’s the result that counts.

    Poetry to me should be disturbing and haunting, making me ponder or amazed by beauty 🙂 rather than calming my nerves. But that is personal, there is enough poetry about for everyone.

    I think you have found a wonderful meaning in your life and I am very greatful for our friendship. I hope to have read all of your work
    one day! And I shall keep learning whatever I can from you.

    Arohanui 🙂

    Ina

    • Hi Ina,

      Thank you for this comment, exploring what poetry means to us.

      I think that the poetry which moves me, touches me, is written from the heart rather than from the head.

      And I know from experience, both my own in writing poetry, and from working with people is that poetry reaches places that no other medium can. I am not sure why that should be so, but I do know it to be true.
      And, when I am writing poems, I am not trying to write therapeutic poems – it is just that sometimes they turn out that way. My poems are always written for myself – if other people can relate then that is a bonus 🙂

      I think too poetry is more than just a thing of beauty – it needs to move us in the sort of ways you describe 🙂

      You could pay me no bigger compliment than –
      “In your poetry I find a way to look at the world that is surprising and with deeper meaning. There is a lot of love in your poems.”

      Thank you very much

      Arohanui

      David

      • Thank you for your reply, it fascinates me to learn how it works with your creative process.

        We write from different angles. I write (try to write, still a beginner learning and I know I have a long way to go to be as good as you, probably will never get there) from the perspective of the result, how it will come across, how I can express myself, or find a way that it adds something to what already has been said perhaps, as a form of communication and if I find something about my own innerself doing so, it is a bonus. I never write just for myself, that is why I put them on the blog immediately lol, which is not that wise perhaps.

        I don’t think those different starting points should be a problem in the way we experience poetry, nor in our appreciation. 🙂

        Arohanui 🙂

        Ina

      • *Smile*

        I suspect Ina that as you continue to write poetry you will continue to find “something about your own innerself”.
        It is in the nature of writing poetry to have that happen 🙂

        It is also fair to say that I am not uninterested in ‘the result’.
        I do want the poem to reflect very precisely what I am trying to say.
        My poems start life in my notebook.
        Only if I am satisfied there do they make their way onto the computer. I will likely edit again on the computer once I have seen what they look like on the page.
        After that I will put the printed copy aside to read again the next morning (after two cups of tea and two cigarettes 🙂 ).
        They may well then be subject to further editing.
        Sometimes I will seek advice from other poets if I am still not happy with the result

        And I agree with you – the different starting points are not a problem 🙂

        Much Love

        David

  5. I love this, David. Perhaps it’s my favorite of yours. 🙂

    May you find more poems as you go along. 🙂

    – L

  6. Elaine Randall English Says:

    You found poetry at the junction….it got me TO the junction and sustains me to this day. I’m addicted to IT! Loved this!

  7. David,

    This is a poem which goes so very deep for me. As ever it is beautifully crafted.

    When I read this I can feel you feeling it deep inside of yourself to a place of immense wonder and gratitude, a place where you have found comfort enough to dwell, and travel through the process of healing.

    And to have found the ability to create wonderful words out of deep pain never ceases to amaze me. You are an inspiration.

    Talking about miracles and grace in your post is another instance of synchronicity for me, as something has been baffling me of late but as yet I haven’t discussed it with anyone. It is the matter of the slogan “there but for the grace of God” which has always rolled off my tongue so easily. Yet when I ponder it I can’t see why I should have been given that grace and others die. I understand it is about being open to receive it but I must have been given the grace to be open surely? Maybe we can discuss this further.

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx

    • Thank you Christine very much.

      I have no answer to your particular question.
      But I do believe that having been given that gift it is our responsibility to make the most of it.
      And to pass on the message to others.

      You take good care of yourself

      Love you loads
      David
      xxx

  8. indeed the razors edge is not a good place to walk .. i love this piece.. beautifully done my friend..Providence is kind!

  9. Stunningly beautiful images, David. Thank you for this.

  10. Hi David,

    Beautiful poem, David. There is hope and comfort to be found in poetry.

    Ciao, Francina

  11. A most honest & tensformative poem David (:

  12. A very powerful and meaningful poem, David. I give you 5 stars for this one. . . 🙂 ~ hugs xx

  13. Hi David,

    Your poem has touched me to the core. The power of your sentiments and your graitude shine through so strongly.

    I very much relate to your journey with poetry as I’m sure many do.
    There’s a lot to be said for graitude and I know I’m very grateful for been given a second chance even if I don’t understand why.
    In everything I’ve overcome and through all my travels poetry has been the one constant. I don’t think I would’ve coped with the isolation of my teens without it. The poetry may not be particularly “good” 🙂 but it served its pupose and got me through many a dark night, being too busy writing to do anything more drastic. 🙂

    I’m very grateful that poetry found you in that moment and you found a path to not only express yourself but also one which has helped others too. I’m very grateful to the one responsible for miracles too, that I’ve been able to get to know you and your poetry. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing such a wonderful poem and beautiful reminder of the blessing of grace and gratitude.

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC 🙂
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • Hi Tikarma,

      “The poetry may not be particularly “good” but it served its pupose and got me through many a dark night, being too busy writing to do anything more drastic”

      I think that is one of the most powerful validations for poetry I have ever read!!!

      As I said to Christine, I have no answer to the question – Why was I given a second chance?
      But I do believe it is my responsibility to do the very best I can with that chance. 🙂

      I believe too that there is spirituality in all forms of creative activity 🙂

      My next act of creativity will be to write a shopping list and go to the supermarket!!! 🙂

      I hope your painting week is going well 🙂

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC 🙂
      David
      xoxox

  14. There is a long curved pathway
    which runs between sanity and madness

    That’s true, isn’t it? And part of the problem with life is that it is so often difficult to understand, or even suspect, where sanity or madness are in relationship to how we are and how we think.
    Most of us face periods, sometimes extended periods, in our lives when we search
    in wrong places
    for solutions
    to wrong problems
    Too many people keep going down the path wrong for them until they are exhausted and near collapse.

    But fewer find a moment where there eyes are opened, a miracle truly occurs, and they are privileged to
    see the light,
    which lit a different path.

    But poems, I believe, are always found in the light of the different path, and the finding of true poems is, of course, as your magnificent poem suggests, a miracle that helps to shine light into the whole of who the poet really is no matter the curving pathways they have walked between sanity and madness in their lives.

    • Thank you Thomas for this extremely thoughtful response.

      I do believe the question ‘Why me?’ can be asked on the way down or on the way up. But it is a question which leads nowhere!! Acceptance is the key which allows us to go forward.

      And I totally agree with you – the whole poet is the person we relate to, no matter their history. In fact it is our history which makes us who we are today!!

      My very best to you

      David

  15. Me, too, David, finding the poetry, that is, in that place you speak of where dying is…and I’m still finding them, alongside you. I loved this poem.

  16. Oh my dear David,
    I’ve walked that pathway and know it well.

    For me poetry is my constant companion, my guide who helps me find my way when the darkness threatens to envelope me. Poetry is also my solace and my teacher.

    I’m so pleased that your poems are now part of my journey. This poem has touched me in the depth of my being.

    Hugs
    Tricia

    • Tricia,

      There are many of us who have walked that pathway.
      That we are still here today and still finding the poems is the miracle.

      Your gratitude for that shines through in everything you write.
      May we both continue to find the poems 🙂

      Hugs
      David

  17. Perfect, David. We find our poems in different places at different times: these days, happily, mine mostly hide up trees and under hedgerows, and I pick them up them as I walk or cycle past. But there are certainly days when I I find myself on that ‘long curved pathway’, over a drop I daren’t look into. It’s a scary place, but sometimes necessary, perhaps. A superb piece.

    • Hi Nick,

      There is something quite delightful about the thought of you picking up poems from under hedgerows and up trees.
      I have read enough of your poetry to believe that you did indeed find them there!!! 🙂

      I believe also that once we have been on that ‘long curved pathway’ we are likely to be susceptible to going there again. The difference is that this time we do know there is a different path.
      My original version of this poem had the words ‘torch of hope’ in it. I took them out but that is what I meant!!

      Take care my friend
      Thank you
      David

  18. It was wonderful to find this during my current ‘catching up with blogs’ activity. The idea of the ‘wrong problem’ is so simply stated but sums up so much! The final line is perfect. You leave the reader with a sense of wonder, which comes directly from your own sense of wonder, I think. Did you ever think anymore about recording your poems for your blog? I know we discussed it briefly before. I would love to hear you read this one aloud.

    • Thank you BH,

      It is good to have you back among us.

      You are right – I still retain that sense of wonder. And I am still grateful.

      Recording my poems is still on my list. We shall see 🙂

      David

Leave a Reply

