What the poem meant

Needing time to ponder
on the meaning of a poem,

I make a cup of coffee
lean out my window, drink it
while smoking a cigarette.

A long-tailed tit
on its own, unusual,
flies into my tree,
pauses long enough
to sing to me, flies on.

That, I decide,
is what the poem meant.

48 Responses to “What the poem meant”

  1. Elaine Randall English Says:

    Yes……you are absolutely right…..little messengers of light come bearing poetic meanings.

    • *Smile*

      Thank you Elaine.

      Now that the weather has got colder there are a pair of blue tits who visit the bird feeder outside my bedroom every morning – bring a smile into my life every time πŸ™‚

      David

  2. Yes, singing birds do deserve poems just all about them. ❀

    I sometimes wonder what they really want to say when they sing.

    – L

  3. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    This poem is very nice! (big πŸ™‚
    I like the play with the “meaning of the poem”, too right! It’s all about what it feels like,
    and, – definitely, birds like to communicate!
    Lucky you! It must be lovely to have a bird feeder with visitors!
    and great that you get inspired!

    I wish you a good week πŸ™‚
    with Love
    Vera & Karley

    • Thank you Vera,

      I agree with you absolutely – the poems which mean the most to me are the ones which I can feel!!!

      The bird feeder has been there for some time, but it it is only in the last few days that the weather has been cold enough for them to need it.

      Beautiful little birds the blue tits – if I can get a photograph I will put it up on FaceBook.

      My very best to you and to a newly retired Karley πŸ™‚

      With love
      David

  4. This is lovely. Poems are like songs – sometimes the meaning is elusive but none the less – pleasing. I like your songs.

  5. Smiling.. There are so many ways to interpret a poem, aren’t there,and I think we all do it differently, but whenever it involves birds, I have to smile!! Great write David; very astute!! Big Hugs!!

    • Hi Sandy,

      I don’t have the abundance of wild life in the city that you do where you live – so all the more pleasing when they do choose to come to visit πŸ™‚

      Big Hugs to you too

      David

  6. I like the openness & simpleness of possibility in your thoughful poem (:

  7. A poet writes to comment on life as he/she finds it, hoping that it will leave something of value and then moves on to the next one
    Enjoyed your poetic observation David

  8. You’ve said it in the most beautiful way. Ethel

  9. Katherine Says:

    Where we fine poetry…always amazes me i love this David.. it is in the moment and perfectly expressed … Funny how we assign meanings..too .. just a thought..

  10. When a poem means taking a pause to sing and to be sung to, that is truly timeless poetry, a masterpiece.

  11. Another excellent picture in your words — beautiful!

  12. David,

    There is a delicacy and a purity to this poem I feel.

    For me, it speaks of having stepped into the light. Just the simplicity of being “awake” to the experience is wonderful.

    For years experiences of this nature for me were shrouded in what seemed like an impenetrable fog. How different life is now.

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx

    • Hi Christine,

      The ability to be in the moment is precious – when we can persuade our heads to be quiet and just be πŸ™‚

      More and more I find nature will help me do that – Something that, like you, it has taken me a long time to learn πŸ™‚

      Love you loads

      David
      xxx

  13. πŸ™‚

    Hi David,

    This is just the perfect poem! I think certainly capturing the essence of the moment.
    There seems to be an inner clarity that arrives when we find ourselves taken in by the natural world. The moment seems to be made just for you. πŸ™‚
    I feel hope, a smile, a knowing that all things come and pass and that’s okay, life is good. πŸ™‚

    I will head into my studio with a smile and think of you as the sparrows and blackbirds dart about outside my door.

    Wishing you many more visits from the long-tailed and blue tits. πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
    Tikarma
    xoxoxoox

    • Hi Tikarma,

      It was, as it happens, one of your poems I was pondering at the time.

      So a moment of magic in Leeds was sparked by a creative enterprise in Strathalbyn!!! πŸ™‚

      I love it when I realise I have been awake enough to savour those moments which occur with no intent on our part. πŸ™‚

      The blue tits have been again this morning but so far have eluded my camera πŸ™‚

      I hope you have a really good creative week

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xoxox

      • I am humbled that my work can spark off inspiration for you. πŸ™‚

        It certainly makes distance seem irrelevant. If only travel itself was as easy as a word or a thought. πŸ™‚

        I do agree being able to savour those sparks of magic is a very good thing. πŸ™‚

        I am having a good week painting thank you. :-). My fingers are crossed for you, for capturing the blue tits. πŸ™‚

        I hope your weekend will be a pleasant one. πŸ™‚

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
        Tikarma
        xoxox

      • Hi Tikarma,

        It is one of the delights of the internet – connections made that would have been impossible without it.
        And certainly inspiration travels effortlessly across the gap πŸ™‚

        As regards painting I have been fascinated recently by the landscape work David Hockney is doing near his home in Bridlington – a landscape I thought I knew quite well until he introduced me to really, really looking via his paintings. If you have time you can Google him to see what he is doing.

        He is also doing really interesting things using an app called Brushes on an iPad.
        I have been investigating how to use that app. I do think it would be fascinating to go back to drawing but using that rather than pencil and paper. I do have to remember of course that David Hockney has great talent and I have very little!!! DUH

        So now I am trying to convince myself that I don’t need an iPad. I certainly can’t afford one but there you go! we shall see πŸ™‚

        I look forward to seeing your latest paintings πŸ™‚

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
        David
        xoxox

  14. Hi David,

    I remember asking you about the interesting name of those birds πŸ™‚ It most be very cold to have blue tits in your garden πŸ˜›

    I love the poem, but as I don’t know what poem you were writing and thinking about when you made this one, I love the thought that it meant what the bird said anyway πŸ™‚ lol. And keep the cats away!

    It took me a while to get back to the computer, sorry I am late to check your blog! πŸ™‚
    Antwerp was very impressive, and I was very tired after the journey, so I needed a bit of time.

    Arohanhui πŸ™‚

    • Hi Ina,

      There is something quite pleasing about lying in bed on a cold winters morning and watching the blue tits outside my window πŸ™‚

      They are beautiful little birds – I will put a photo up in FB if I can get one.

      sometimes we over-complicate poems – the bird reminded me not to do that πŸ™‚

      I am glad your trip worked out well.

      Arohanui
      David

      • We have those birds too, and also the ones with the black ‘cap’ .

        We might overcomplicate what we read, but sometimes poems are also complicated writings and reads…I always skip poems I don’t understand and if my own poems are starting not to make sense, I delete them lol. πŸ™‚ Some poems are not for me I suppose πŸ™‚

        The trip: I would have loved to stay there longer! πŸ™‚

        Arohanui πŸ™‚ My New Zealand cousin says 2 words btw πŸ˜›

      • The weather has warmed up a trifle recently so the birds visit less often. When it goes below freezing again they will be back – then I can get a picture πŸ™‚

        What we get from poetry is a very individual experience I think. Some poems are not for me either. πŸ™‚

        Arohanui πŸ™‚

        David

  15. Must, not most.

  16. sometimes it is enough ….

    beautifully expressed.

  17. What I got from this poem, David, is something I usually forget. You can ponder and ponder a poem, a painting, a piece of music and try to find its meanings, but in the end the words, the visualization, the song is the song, and that’s what it really means. We are always running interpretations through the lens of the endless conversations we are having with ourselves in our minds, like I am doing right now, but sometimes a blue tit singing along in a tree beside an open window at home is the meaning. Some, though not all, of your poems are, at least on the surface, simple in their presentation, but more often than not they open windows and let us see dances beyond what the words seem, at first, to mean.

    • Ah Thomas,

      You and I both can forget that!! Too often I try to understand a poem with my head rather than with my heart.
      It was that I think which prevented me from appreciating poetry for a lot of years.
      The poem which broke through for me was ‘The Journey’ by Mary Oliver – you may well be familiar with it.
      Thereafter I read poems differently and was prepared to give them time to do their work (theit magic)

      Thank you
      David

  18. David I love this poem. It speaks to me of the multiplicity of poetic interpretation, and how living in the moment and giving ourselves time for reverie can give us what we need.

    I have also really enjoyed the comments on this thread, particularly Christine’s comment “Just the simplicity of being “awake” to the experience is wonderful”.

    I too am a lover of David Hockney’s work and will google him tomorrow as it is past my bedtime in Australia.

    Bye for now
    Tricia

    • I love it Tricia when one of my poems sparks off a good blog – particularly when the blog takes on a life of its own πŸ™‚

      David Hockney has a wonderful new exhibition at the Royal Acadamey in London. I did think of going but from what I understand almost all the tickets have been sold and I really do not enjoy being herded round an art exhibition with hordes of other people.
      He has another exhibition in Saltaire (much closer to my home). I shall visit it later on this week.

      David

  19. I think Unga Bunga said it more eloquently than I could…wonderful poem.

  20. Excellent poetic comment David.

Leave a Reply

