Waking

As I make my way gently
along the path from sleeping,
via waking, to being human

my mind flirts with dark places;
things best left alone
but never, ever, thrown away,

allows cups of tea to work their magic,
moves past the question Do I exist?
and arrives at a better place

where I know again who I am
and am prepared to tackle
what things the day may bring.

38 Responses to “Waking”

  1. πŸ™‚ Hi David

    This is brilliant, exusez le mot! I really love this poem as my husband wakes up like that too πŸ™‚ (sort of zombie like, looking as if he wants to kill all creatures great and small ) and your making the way gently to being human is very familiar to me therefore. What a great way to describe that daily situation! And to find you exist! Indeed! Such a relief right? Those dark corners, you are right to not go there! What a great invention tea is πŸ™‚

    In spite of pondering in dark corners at night I usually am a morning person, always a lot quicker to be in the day than my spouse. Just not good in staying up late πŸ™‚ like he is.

    I would love to be able to write poems like this! (Practise makes poems) and I hope to read many more of yours!

    Arohanui πŸ™‚

    Ina

    • Thank you Ina,

      I am smiling out loud at your comment.

      I am actually at my best in the mornings, but only after I have reached ‘being human’ πŸ™‚

      I do treasure my early mornings and have learned to trust the process and not get carried away into those dark places!!!

      I could not contemplate a morning without tea πŸ™‚

      Arohanui

      David

  2. A very honest & engaging poem. I really like & can identify with this (: An inspired write David (: Check out my new poem “The Ethereal Outcasts” on my Facebook Solar Visions & Fiends group (:

  3. Katherine Says:

    Hate those morning dark places.. for me it is oatmeal lol a wonderful piece David! Yes on to more productive thoughts1

  4. Smiling; I guess we are all more alike than we think!! I don’t enjoy those dark places, but there they always are!! A stellar write, about another reality!! Hugs my
    friend!!

  5. “things best left alone,
    but never, ever, thrown away,”

    These two lines in particular have resonance for me.

    Another lovely reflection.

    Tricia – who refuses to start the day without a cuppa and a bit of a read.

    • I do seem to have struck a chord in a lot of people Tricia with those two lines.

      We do best to learn to leave them alone.

      Enjoy your morning cuppa – my best poetry often gets written in that space between becoming human and venturing into the rest of the day πŸ™‚

      David

  6. Hi David,

    I do like this poem. The transition from sleep to full consciousness. This poem I greatly admire in its structure and relate to as well.

    Although I think I’m a morning person by default armed with cups of coffee. πŸ™‚ I leap out of bed and am moving!! Otherwise if I let myself sit the bed is just too darn tempting. πŸ™‚ Those dark spaces have a quite the pulling power with me if I’m not careful.
    Jamie too is not going to become human without his morning cup of tea. Doesn’t even bare thinking about! πŸ™‚

    Thank you for sharing such a great and relatable poem. I will continue on with my day with a smile. πŸ™‚

    I hope you are having a good week?

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • Hi Tikarma,

      The restorative powers of a cup of tea (two in my case) are to be marvelled at. Like Jamie I am not even communicable with until after at least one cup πŸ™‚
      And, like you, if I lie too long in bed the dark places do start to exert a pull!!
      But “leaping out of bed”? – not in my case!!! πŸ™‚

      I do need to take the time to work through the process. If I have to be up and out early (like tomorrow) then my alarm has to be set far enough in advance to allow me the time πŸ™‚

      I am always delighted to provide you with a smile πŸ™‚

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xoxox

  7. Hi David,

    I have nominated and like to give you the Kreativ Blogger Award . Please go to the link for the rules set to claim the award.

    http://seasonspoetry.com/2012/01/11/kreativ-blogger-award/

    Francina

  8. Outstanding, David – every line is an absolute gem, and the whole piece works together beautifully as a story, a meditation and an affirmation. It’s a journey we all take every day (some of us more quickly, directly and completely than others…) but it requires a master like you to put it into words for us. Thank you!

    • Nick,

      I guess the process of my every morning includes a meditation and an affirmation but I hadn’t really thought of it that way until you said it.
      Thank you for that

      David

  9. “my mind flirts with dark places…” I read that measure several times to allow its full effect. Brilliant. Sherry

  10. David, someday I will learn to write poetry, and when I do I hope I will find the humanity you find in yourself. What is good about this is that it takes the simplest/most complex part of human life, moving from sleep to consciousness, and then turns a poem that moves as powerfully as a powerful river to the thought that now you are ready to let the day begin. This is alchemy really, taking lead (and what should be mundane even if it is not really) and turning it into gold.

  11. This is wonderful, David – I can so relate!! You’ve described the process of waking up and made it into a work of art. Thank you!

  12. Bother! Now I’m in tears all over again … but, thank you, David! x

  13. how we arrive at those spots that not only comfort, but prove enlightening ………. i love this!

    ~E.

  14. This poem and the last go together for me – similar styling. It’s so good to have you here – awake. Very nice!

  15. Hello David – just found your blog and taking a mosy around. Liking what I see. And yes, having a cup of tea for humanising purposes – though I’ve not just got up, I still feel the need….

  16. Arriving at a place in one’s conciousness where one truly KNOWS oneself is being wide, wide awake within one’s soul. Wonderful post: so affirming of one’s entry into each new day.

  17. David,

    I am with Nick on this one. This is indeed a meditation and affirmation.

    Once I am awake, in that my eyes have opened, I need to get up because it’s then, if I stay in bed, when I go straight to the dark places. Once up and about I can then get on with being able “to tackle the things the day may bring” with a positive attitude,
    and to attune myself to the rhythms you and I have talked about recently.

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx

    • *Smile*

      Allowing myself time to get ‘gently’ into my day is a present to myself I think.

      I have done it that way for a long time – even when I was working πŸ™‚

      Time taken to meditate in the morning serves me well later on in the day πŸ™‚

      Love you loads

      David
      xxx

Leave a Reply

