It’s good to be here

Midnight, New Year’s Eve,
sat alone,
looking out
as fireworks
light the skyline
across the city.

Lonely? –
ran across
the surface of my mind,
slid out over my shoulder,
down my back
and, barely stopping,
left my body
via the big toe
on my left foot
before scuttling
across the floor
to become trapped
by the spider’s web
in the cubby hole
behind the cooker.

Grateful? –
stayed with me,
helped me celebrate
the start of a New Year.

44 Responses to “It’s good to be here”

  1. I have just given this poem a big cuddle – and now it’s your turn!

    Grateful for your being part of my life.

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx

  2. Smiling…I wasn’t lonely either!! How could I be with 2 Boxers and 2 Chihuahuas for company; not to mention the cats!! LOL Smiling!! Thanks goodness I have a large house and 2 acres of woods for them!! Big Hugs!!!

  3. Very nice! 🙂

  4. I celebrate with you, David. Seeing loneliness to its proper place in your world is an enormous achievement. Now it really will be a happy new year!

  5. Hi again David

    this is a lovely poem, the spiders web a nice metaphor, although celebrating New Years eve alone doesn’t sound like a really good start to me, as I think it is the one time of the year people should be with people, but maybe next new years eve will be better! To be grateful: I am glad you are! I too had a lot to be grateful for. 🙂

    I did think of you and Christine btw when it was midnight your time lol (it was 1 o’clock here) wondering how you celebrated, and I raised my glass to your and Christine’s health. So cheers!

    Love and a big New Years Hug!

    • Thank you Ina,

      both for this comment and for raising your glass to us at midnight – that is a really nice thing to do.

      I was invited out on New Years Eve but decided I would prefer to be at home in peace rather than out there in all the mayhem 🙂

      And there were a variety of text messages throughout the evening 🙂

      Love and a big New Years Hug to you too 🙂

      David

  6. Mmmm…I really enjoyed this hopeful & flowing poem David (: You might like my new composition on my Wall entitled ” A Ghostly Shade”. Happy co-creating. it’s always good to read your works (:

  7. I love how you described the loneliness leaving and the gratitude staying! Wonderful and a Happy New Year to you David!!

  8. This is beautiful, David. So glad Gratitude found you; if the spiders behind your cooker are anything like the ones behind our fridge, they’ll have taken care of Lonely all right, never fear. Happy New Year, my friend.

    • Thank you Nick,

      The spiders behind my cooker are probably not lonely either 🙂
      But they know the rules. They are very welcome to share my house, but need to stay out of sight!! 🙂

      Happy New Year to you too my friend

      David

  9. Elizabeth Says:

    Just beautiful. x

  10. Oh David I love this poem. So many think being alone equals loneliness, not me. I too spent the evening alone through choice.

    And gratitude has a home within you. Wonderful

    I’m still not getting emails when you post, don’t know why so I’ll keep stopping by every few days
    Hugs
    Tricia

    • One of the great bonuses of my sobriety Tricia is learning to be content in my own company.
      And there are times when I seek it as it allows me to reflect and to get in touch with gratitude.

      I am not getting emails either, but I will continue to visit 🙂

      Hugs to you too

      David

  11. think you have a point that grateful can replace lonely. there is a certain art to being alone and not lonely …..

  12. One can never be lonely when enjoying one’s own company. 🙂

  13. Hi David,

    This is such a hope filled and uplifting poem. I’m glad you had a good New Years in you own company. 🙂
    I did wonder how yourself and everyone else I know in the U.K. was celebrating.

    I really like how you described the process of letting go of lonliness and I really like how you used the spiders behind the cooker as a metaphor. I could easily see lonliness scuttling away under the cooker only to be confronted by a spindly legged spider. 🙂
    I could feel a weight being lifted in that action. 🙂

    So many people fear their own company and I suppose we do have a lot of social stigma about sitting alone. Sometimes though it can be just what we need to have some space to take a breath without distraction and just enjoy a moment or have the quiet we need. 🙂

    Finding gratitude on the eve of the New Year and shooing off lonliness seems like a great start to me.

    I’m glad it was ultimately a good night for you and I hope that the good start to your new year contiunes!

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC 🙂
    Tikarma
    xoxoxoox

    • Hi Tikarma,

      This is actually an old poem.
      I received a text from a friend saying she had opened the Barney book at random, turned up this poem and said it had cheered her.
      I re-read the poem and thought it is just as valid this year as it was the year it was written! 🙂
      I am not even sure when that was but, given the content, probably pre ‘bloody great blocks of flats’!! 🙂

      I do like at this time of year to make the time to reflect and to ponder on the things I have to be grateful for – not least of which is still being alive!!!

      And the sun has just come out as I was typing this response 🙂

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC 🙂
      David
      xoxox

      • Hi David,

        *sigh of relief*
        I was thinking when reading this that it felt famliar but thought I was just getting confused with ‘Spider’ owing to the spider behind the cooker and of course in that poem the spider is behind the cistern. I quite like ‘Spider’ :-)…and thus thinking maybe I have read too many poems *lol*…instead it turns out I just need to read Barney the Parrot again. 🙂

        Indeed this poem is very vaild for any New Years I think. Reminding ourselves of the benefit of gratiitude in our lives ( yes! for being alive! 🙂 ) is always a good starting point for any new start. 🙂

        I’m very glad that the sun is still finding it’s way to you. 🙂

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        and K’sOTC 🙂
        Tikarma
        xoxoxo

      • Hi Tikarma,

        *Laughing Out Loud*

        I don’t suppose you need my help to confuse yourself – you can manage quite well on your own. *Big grin*

        The sun is just emerging again today and I will go on into my day with a smile on my face 🙂

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        and K’sOTC 🙂
        David
        xoxox

  14. The sun is not up yet here this morning, David, and outside the snow is coming down in huge flakes, filling the dark sky with shadows of whiteness. This poem is as beautiful as New Mexico this morning, sliding down a shoot that seems to be headed toward the spaces between the stars and the darknesses found there, but then catches a glint of starlight and ends up in the light that will shortly filter into our morning here. This poem makes me feel good all over.

    • What a lovely thought – “filling the dark sky with shadows of whiteness.” We have had no snow so far this year – you make me look forward to it 🙂

      I love that a poem can make you feel “good all over”

      Thank you

      David

  15. So Wonderful– it brings humanness to an inhuman world. Thank you. Ethel Mortenson Davis

  16. Grateful is my good friend, too. 🙂 Wishing you a fantabulous year, dear David!

  17. Happy New Year, my friend. I love the poem.

  18. Totally pefect poetic description of celebrating New Year’s Eve alone, yet not truly alone! I had thought I clicked to start following your blog about a week ago, yet did not receive email notices. I found you in a comment on another blog I am following. Hope you will be kind enough to give me the benefit of your expertise with feedback on one of my own posts in the near future!

  19. Brilliant! I really like the flow and the words and the sentiment very much.

  20. Enjoyed the personification of “lonely” being something that exists within the body and then can be scuttled away. NIce poem.

  21. Trapped in a spider’s web in some cubby hole sounds like a good place for ol’ Lonely. Grateful makes much better company. Thanks for sharing.

    Grace and peace to you,
    Eric

Leave a Reply

