Some Silly Verse

Worm

Today I saw a little worm
wriggling on his belly.
Perhaps he’d like to come inside
and see what’s on the telly.

Spike Milligan

Celia Celia

When I am sad and weary
When I think all hope has gone
When I walk along High Holborn
I think of you with nothing on.

Adrian Mitchell

Launderette

As she bent down, to retrieve
her underwear from the machine,
it became apparent she had put
all her knickers in the wash.

David Agnew

Happy Christmas everyone.

26 Responses to “Some Silly Verse”

  1. David,

    Thank you for this “laugh-out-loud” Christmas post!

    I’m glad you decided to keep the calendar.

    Love you loads

    Christine

    xxx

  2. LOL Thanks David, I needed a good laugh!! Happy Christmas and huge hugs!!! Sandy

  3. What fun! Merry Christmas David!

  4. A huge smile. 😀

    Have a wonderful Christmas. x

  5. LOL those are funny! Thank you for giving me a big smile, maybe it is the best present to get.

    🙂 Have a good Christmas!
    Much love and a big Christmas hug!

    Ina

  6. hahaha! the loved them ! Have a wonderful holiday my friend!! Blessings!

  7. to you also! and may you have a de-nickered Christmas! 🙂 Lord luv ya, David —- thanks for the smiles this morning.

    ~Eileen

  8. these made my day! 😀

  9. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    Lots of humor, lots of creativity and
    Lots of Love

    for the new Year! 🙂

    Woof! + (((Big Hug)))
    Vera & Karley

  10. An enjoyable trilogy….Have you been watching “Last Of The Summer Wine” & “Open All Hours”, too? Hey up! Happy festive greetings to you, David (:

  11. David it would appear I’m not getting updates when you post either.

    Loved your “little ditty”. I once had a similar experience. My son’s comment “not a picture a man wants to carry around of his mother” my response “it was the doorway of your first home – live with it.”

    I have a collection of Spike Milligan’s poetry, some of it hilarious, some heatbreaking.

    Thanks for the laugh and the memories your wrods brought.

    Tricia

    • Laughing out Loud first thing in the morning is good for my soul.
      Thank you Tricia for your comment which made me do just that!

      I bought myself a Spike Milligan calendar for next year – it will entertain me throughout the year.

      It is an immutable rule of my life that if I buy myself a calendar someone will send me one. So now I have two. The Spike Milligan one and one from Australia sent to me by my young brother.

      David

  12. Love this especially the worm one! Happy new year, David. 🙂

    L

  13. My kinda girl…loved this, David – what a hoot.

Leave a Reply

