A Poem without Words

30 Responses to “A Poem without Words”

  1. Hi David,
    I am glad you put an image up; is this not the image on the cover of your book?
    It is lovely, how the tree branches hang over the path to reach for each other. So much symbolism in here πŸ™‚ I think this paining is inspiring. I like the subtle coulours and the light. Woods can be so dark, but this has a beautiful serenity and brightness. And I see no tree is like the other ! Is this a painting of an existing road in County Antrim?

    Arohanui πŸ™‚
    Ina

    • Thank you Ina,

      It is indeed on the cover of my book.
      But it is not a painting. It is a photograph. although i understand your comment. I have a friend who has a framed copy on her wall and it is often mistaken for a painting.

      Yes the road exists. It is in County Antrim near a village called Armoy πŸ™‚

      Arohanui
      David

  2. Oh wow! Must go back to Ireland!!!

  3. Oh that’s splendid, David – what an image to conjure with. If ever a picture really was worth 1,000 words…it reminds me of a fantastic avenue of trees near where I grew up in Wimborne Minster, Dorset – do a quick Google Image search for ‘beech avenue badbury rings’ and you’ll see what I mean. Funny that I’ve posted a poem about old paths today: great minds thinking alike in the blog community again!

    • The last time I was home in northern ireland Nick I specifically went to look for this place. I remembered being driven through it by my father when I was a child and being enchanted then. I wanted to find out if it was still there and if it would enchant me just as much now – It did!!!
      I am glad I went because it may be that it will not exist for too much longer. The trees are over 300 years old and showing signs of age.
      If you drive through and go a little bit farther you will come to the Vanishing Lake, but that is another story altogether. πŸ™‚

      I will go shortly and look for your beech avenue

      David

  4. Hi David,

    This is such a beautiful photo. I love trees and theses kinds of roads where thay form a canopy above. I always find it inspiring.
    I still have the card you made from this photo out that you sent us for Christmas.
    It’s always so peaceful to look upon and it says so much. Sometimes it just soothes, makes me smile and sometimes it reminds me of the magic underlying life, the beauty that our travels can contain.
    This image invites one to travel down the road and see what lies beyond the bend.
    It is to me a very magical photo, one of your finest captures. πŸ™‚

    Thank you for sharing it again.. πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’OTC πŸ™‚
    Tikarma
    xooxooxo

    • Thank you Tikarma,

      I have a blown up version of this photo on my living room wall. I often look at, let my my mind drift into the picture and roam where it will. πŸ™‚

      From time to time I think I should write a poem based on the picture but have never been able to find words which would do it justice.
      Which is strange really, because when I am running poetry workshops I often use it as a prompt and invariably get some very good poems produced – it is fascinating to hear different peoples take on what the picture does for them πŸ™‚

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
      David
      xoxox

      • I think the poem is the photograph. πŸ™‚

        The creative knowing to stop and take the photo in the place and time you were and capture it as you have. Your words are the image.
        Bless the visual arts. πŸ™‚

        We have a habit of wanting to fill in a space with words, we write it’s what we do. Then sometimes an image like this will come along and I’ve learnt to take that as a sign from the Muse to “shhh” as it were. *cheeky grin*

        I can certainly see it would work wonderfully as a prompt but that is for other voices to be heard, in the image you’ve already spoken. It needs no words, it’s perfect as it is in my opinion. πŸ™‚

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        and K’sOTC πŸ˜€
        Tikarma
        xoxoxo

      • Hi Tikarma,

        Thank you.
        I think the poem is the photograph too.
        But it took me a long time to arrive at that conclusion. I kept wanting to write words. DUH!!! Before finally realising that the art was in the photograph. And that the creative effort was in the time I took to get just the photograph I wanted. (And the number of attempts I made to take it – thank goodness for digital cameras!!)

        So you are right – I had to learn to shut up!!! πŸ™‚

        I have some other photographs which might well fall into this category – one in particular of Whitby beach huts. I will enjoy passing some time going through my pictures whilst I ponder on just this. Thank you – your comment has prompted that thought πŸ™‚

        Arohanui
        (((BSH)))
        and K’sOTC πŸ™‚
        David
        xoxox

  5. This is the first comment on my tablet.

    The picture reminds me that you and I have rekindled our journey together.

    Love you lots

    Christine

    Xxx

  6. What an extraordinary and beautiful photograph!

  7. peta straatman Says:

    Hi,

    I’ve finally identified this as on the way to Rivendell, which is south of Rhudaur and west of the Misty Mountains. As you will remember Rivendell was established by Elrond in the Second Age of Middle Earth as an Elven refuge. County Antrim is, of course, a complete red herring. (Big smile)

    Peta

  8. I missed this, David. (WordPress had some problems recently and a people’s posts were not being delivered to some subscribers via email – this must have been one caught up in that glitch.)

    It certainly is an extraordinary photo – and, like Ina, I would have thought it a painting a too. Is it a photograph that you took?

    Btw – I love the sound of ‘Vanishing Lake’ – now that sounds like the title of a poem!

    • Thank you BH,

      It is a photo I took myself – one of the pleasures in my life is my digital camera πŸ™‚

      I also took some pictures of the ‘Vanishing Lake’ – but it was vanished at the time πŸ™‚

      You can probably google it

      David

  9. beautiful and surreal …. like something to happen on the road to Oz

  10. A poem without words, a road into a woods that dances so slow the trees are poems whispering breezes or shouting winds at the sky, a poet who sees what he sees and recognizes in himself a dirt road in the country leading into his spirit’s delightful song.

    • Ah, a comment which is a poem in itself.

      I am entranced by “a poet who sees what he sees and recognizes in himself a dirt road in the country leading into his spirit’s delightful song.”

      I should put that phrase up as part of my CV πŸ™‚

      Thank you

      David

  11. There are always whispers in the woods, this image is indeed a poem by itself.. very pretty -Francina

Leave a Reply

