Time Passes Faster

One morning you wake up,
look at the calendar,
think bloody hell
it’s nearly Christmas,
better get my act together.

Then you think
how did that happen,
how did it creep up so fast,
where has the last year gone
and what did I do with it?

I dig out my diary,
go through it backwards
to check what things
the year contained
and what I have done,

go look in the mirror
to check that I exist,
get out a post-it note
write on it ‘ Your Name is David’
and stick it above my mirror.

33 Responses to “Time Passes Faster”

  1. Smiling!! I thought my mum was being weird when she said time went faster as you get older, I wondered how that could possibly be true, now I know it’s a stone, cold fact!! Smiling again!! Don’t ever forget that you are David, and that means “special’!! Hugs!! Loved this!!

  2. Usually I like to read something several times and think about it before I comment – but the final three lines of this are so absolutely right in so many ways that I felt I had to say so straight away. They strike such a chord. And you have achieved such a fine balance in the tone of the poem – it is both lighthearted and profound. One of your poems that I like best.

  3. This is so “you”!

    I let out quite a cackle when I read the last verse (I’ve never done elegant have I !!)

    If I hadn’t known otherwise I may have thought this verse was written after our conversation this afternoon!

    I can picture you checking to see if you are still here, a rather non-plussed look!

    Love you lots

    Christine

    xxx

  4. I saw a documentary that said time moved slower for infants because everything is new to them and the effect of taking in lots of information slows times down. As we get older, we tend to experience the same familiar things and situations over and over and time moves quicker because we only semi pay attention. The only way to slow time down is to put yourself into new situations all the time. Try moving to America, that might work? 😉

    • Hi Paul,

      I hadn’t thought of that before – there is almost certainly validity in what you say.
      I was talking to a friend about this very thing after the poem was posted – the older we get the less milestones there are in our lives by which to mark the years.

      Moving to America would be a good one!! 🙂

      David

      David

  5. A most charming, amusing & thought enticing write.

  6. Christine Lanham Says:

    Mmmmm I can so relate to this…well said

  7. It sure does…go fast. You are so funny. That last stanza is hysterical. I really like this one.

  8. Hi David,

    the mirror only shows your reflection, it is not the real David, but the surface reflecting in mirror view, and the post-it will blow away when you open a window. But the deeper meaning of this poem will linger in my mind for a while 🙂
    So thank you for giving me inspiration on this grey 11-11-11.

    Arohanui 🙂

    Ina

  9. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    This poem leads one so smoothly and ends with a chuckle! Nice!

    I was under the impression that time moves faster because I take way longer doing things 🙂
    and much relate to seeing this “strange person” in the mirror – and trying to come to terms with: “this is me” 🙂
    I think that we have a different concept of who we are to what people see on the outside, still, – loving oneself as is, usually solves that problem 🙂 Love the idea of the sticky note!

    with Love
    Vera & Karley

    • Thank you Vera,

      I suspect there is a lot of truth in what you say. Certainly tasks (like going to the supermarket) which just used to get done amidst all the busy now seem to take on a greater significance 🙂

      And you are absolutely right – “loving oneself as is” is the key to contentment. Took me a while to come to terms with that but mostly nowadays I can do it 🙂

      The sticky note always makes me smile 🙂

      Lots of love
      David

  10. David I read all of your work and enjoy it very much as I am enjoying this. Sorry that most of the time II don’t leave a comment as I read your entire entry in my yahoo mail and don’t actually come to your site. ,,Please know that you are one of my favorite poets and I think you are so marvelously talented ,

  11. David, I read all of your posts via my email. I so enjoy all of them and think you are so marvelously talented. I would not miss a one, Thought I would stop in and let you know how much I love reading you and that I am a huge fan..kudos to you my friend,,Stormy

  12. This is wonderful, David – having had a birthday last week, I know only too well how quickly time goes. I love the idea of the Post-It note above the mirror: I have days like that all the time, and you’ve encapsulated the feeling perfectly. Thank you!

  13. My sentiments exactly! I start panicking around July because I’m all, “Holy sh!t, it’s halfway already through the year! I wasted half a year!” And then I fall into a routine of stress again — mostly work-related — and bam, it’s almost Christmas.

    It’s scary how time flies. This poem captured the anxiety and wonder.

  14. Hi David,

    I absolutely love this poem! I very much relate to it especially this year.
    I still distictly remember time being slower and looking at others and their nostalgia and thinking it’s all rather silly. now! *lol* 🙂 I’m just as bad. I’m sure time + speed = nostalgia. 🙂

    I like the post-it note. For me it’s rather profound. We can find ourselves moving in such as way that we wonder if anyone notices our passage in life if the ripples of our achievements means any thing in a greater consequence of the world we live in. Is who we are of any note?… Pardon the pun. 🙂
    Of course it is and hence why a reminder on the mirror is a good thing. 🙂
    What we reflect to the world may not be our personal ideal but beneath the reflection is an amazing beautiful individual full of interesting stories and travels. That’s to you. 🙂

    This poem reminds me to stop, take that all important deep breath and look look a little deeper. Just a little bit. 🙂

    Thankyou for sharing this and apologies I wasn’t able to get here sooner. 🙂

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC 🙂
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • Hi Tikarma,

      Apologies are never necessary. I know how busy you have been – I have seen some of the results and your busy is really worthwhile!!

      Time is such a strange concept. Just this morning I thought ‘today is going slowly’ then looked at my watch and thought ‘Where has the morning gone?’ DUH!! 🙂

      I am delighted you found the post-it note rather profound – that was what I was trying to say! We do get into those self-doubt moments (more so as we get older I think) so it is good to stop, “take that all important deep breath” and reflect. The post-it note reminds me to do that 🙂

      And thank you for your lovely re-assuring words

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and k’sOTC 🙂
      David
      xoxox

  15. lol …. thanks for the chuckles on that! you know, i think we expect since calendars all seem to go around in a circle, that time should— too. put it keeps pushing ahead into unknown territory ….. which is a good thing 🙂

  16. that’s supposed to be “but” ….not “put” ….. time for me to hit the hay

Leave a Reply

