Living in the City 3

Go with a friend for breakfast
to the café by the river;
it is not the sort of café
which offers a fat-free option:
my breakfast is delicious.

Walk past the Blood Donor Centre
as I go up the Headrow
on my way to the dentist,
wonder if I call in
would they offer me a top-up.

Visit a bookshop
on my way back,
I deserve a treat I tell myself
pleased to have found
such a good excuse.

I am behind a young lady,
as we approach the crossroads
the wind picks up her skirt,
forces her into an impression
of Marilyn Monroe.
I compliment her
0n the attractiveness of her bum,
she smiles, says Thank you.

Call in at my doctors,
the girl on reception
expresses surprise
when I tell her my age,
says I do not look it.
I must call in, see her,
more often.

30 Responses to “Living in the City 3”

  1. Hi David,

    I am really enjoying this “Living in the City ” serial!

    I can vividly picture you doing all of this, even down to the tiniest expressions on your face!

    The third verse is still making me laugh out loud!

    And I expect the girl in question is still smiling about the comment on her bum – I would be!

    Great start to my day (as well as our phone chat, of course!)

    Love you lots

    Christine

    xxx

    • Hi Christine,

      I do enjoy writing these poems. And being aware enough to notice the things which are going on round me 🙂

      I took this poem to Leeds Writers Circle last night and got some good feedback – some which I took and tweaked the poem and some I ignored 🙂

      And although feedback is supposed to be about the writing, some about bums 🙂

      Love you lots
      David
      xxx

  2. Christine Lanham Says:

    LOL…just wonderful ….If I pay you a compliment…will you call in and see me more often…LOL…only a few thousand miles…LOL..

    Love this highly memorable poem.Sounds like you had a grand day.

  3. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    Your city poems are like ribbons moving gently in the breeze …
    and at one point always manage to get a smile from your reader 🙂

    wishing you a good week

    Love,
    Vera & Karley

    • What a lovely comment.

      Thank you Vera. I shall think of “ribbons moving gently in the breeze” the next time I am out walking in Leeds.

      I hope you too have a good week

      Love
      David

  4. lol … well hopefully not for more dental problems 🙂 very relaxed write … the rhythm matches that feeling of taking things as they come.

    • Thank you Eileen,

      Hopefully the dental problems have now been resolved.
      On a good day I can enjoy life just as it comes, so here’s to more good days for us both 🙂

      David

      • i think so. you know i got some work done too … and by a real dentist, no less. i thought they’d all fled the planet or something.

        so have a new root canal and post (feels kind of weird) and get it finished in a few weeks. i mean this guy is good — one shot to the nerve and all numb within 10 seconds. do you know, the clinic places were pumping me with 4-5 shots, and having me wait a half hour or more for all that spreading drug to numb it enough. crimminey … last two times nearly made me faint from the number of shots.

        so i was about in tears over getting real treatment and a real dentist. i don’t know who or what decided to smile on me — but it’s a welcome change. 🙂

      • Hi Eileen,

        I hope the dentist works for you – Freedom from pain and proper sleep doesn’t half make a big difference!!!!

        David

  5. Hey David-a good read. Thoroughly engaging & rib-tickling (:

  6. Hi David,

    As I am reading this on a rocking ferry after a day of cuddling the baby 🙂 , just want to say this is lovely and the girl with the nice bum was a good sport. to thank you. I know some women who get angry if that happens to them. But it is a nice compliment! 🙂 No body ever said that about mine. I might consider wearing skirts now on windy days. *grin*

    You are very right to treat yourself after a dentist visit, esp. with an extraction. I hope you enjoyed the read.

    These everyday scetches get a deeper meaning somehow when you describe them. The whole poem has a nice rhythm and flow. Good luck with the receptionist lol. Did she think you were younger or older btw? 🙂 Just kidding!

    Arohanui 🙂 and a hug

    Ina

  7. Hi, David – I know Leeds quite well so enjoyed ‘following’ you along the Headrow (in a strictly non-stalkerish way). It’s a big, bustling place and the way you pick out small details is very mindful of the way a discerning photographer would work, and very effective: the particular being representative of the overall experience.

    I love the unexpected and funny lines you interweave, too, especially the one about the ‘top-up’!

    • Ah BH, don’t follow me – come and walk beside me, then we can enjoy the city together 🙂

      I tend to treat the city as a series of villages – makes it much more manageable 🙂
      I will be running a poetry workshop for the Leeds Writers Circle this Saturday in the Carriageworks Theatre complex. That village contains the Electric Press building, Millenium Square, the Tiled Hall cafe in the Art Gallery and the Victoria pub 🙂

      Thank you for this lovely comment

      David

  8. Hi David,

    *Big Smile* I feel from this you had a very god day! 🙂
    I do enjoy your trips through Leeds. From the warmth and smells of the cafe through the windy streets to the doctors. I get a sense of place, I feel your smile and I’m chuckling all the way. 🙂

    Thankyou. 🙂

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    and K’sOTC
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • Hi Tikarma,

      I am in a good place when I am awake enough to observe what is going on around me and to entertain myself by observing it.

      I called in at my doctors again this morning. The same girl was on reception. We were both smiling by the time I left 🙂

      I am delighted to provide you with a chuckle 🙂

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      and K’sOTC
      David
      xoxox

  9. Your treats are well deserved…cheeky. This poem made me happy. Thanks!

  10. It sounds like things are going well in your corner of the world, David! I’m so happy to hear that! 😀

  11. That was an entertaining and promising (receptionist) stroll around town, not forgetting for one moment the Marilyn drama.

  12. In all the years that I lived in Leeds, the only exciting thing that ever happened to me on the Headrow was to be persuaded to do a market research questionnaire on bra fastenings for which I was rewarded with a pair of American Tan tights which remained unworn as I’m a stockings gal. Maybe I just didn’t get there on windy enough days…shucks!

Leave a Reply

