Journal – August 2011

I would maintain I am not a prisoner of my possessions.
Yet when my computer died I descended into panic;
not allayed until a replacement had been bought.

In my defence I would argue
my computer is a gateway
to a wider world, a world
of friends from all over the globe,
friendship which would be impossible
without my computer and the web.

*

Submit a manuscript to a publisher.
He confirms that he will publish –
September next year.
A frisson of anticipation will run
through my next twelve months.

*

Go to the local hospital for a scan.
With hindsight wonder why I was so nervous
about a procedure, which involved
an attractive young lady
spreading cream on my stomach
and then rubbing it!

*

Discuss the results with my doctor
who tells me I have nothing to worry about.
As long as, the pain continues to be controlled
by cutting out fatty foods,
no further action will be necessary.

I explain to her that butter
is not a fatty food.
She does not share this opinion.

We both agree fish and chips,
bought from a chip shop is fatty food.
However she does opine that a treat,
once in a while, is probably OK.
I really like this lady.

She has promised to read my poetry.

*

Strange world internet friendship.
I have made some very good friends
and some good acquaintances that way.
Yet when, as happened recently, someone disappears
I have no way of knowing why.

*

My younger brother in Australia has moved house.
At his suggestion I look up his new address on Google Earth
and understand why it would have appealed to him.
He and Australia suit each other very well.

*

Autumn has arrived early this year.
Robins are in full voice
as they claim their territory
for the winter season.
I am glad to join them in their celebration.

Robins don’t really do summer,
a time for moulting and recovery
from the springtime activity
of making more robins.

I don’t really do summer either
but this year it appears to have passed
without undue incident.

I wish them well for their survival
through the winter months.

31 Responses to “Journal – August 2011”

  1. This is wonderful! And it made me smile out loud!

    I have had the privilege of being able to follow you through these thoughts, feelings and activities so I feel I have a bonus here!

    I love the verse about the robins; I can picture them moulting, maybe looking less than their best, exhausted after “making more robins” but with very satisfied facial expressions, celebrating a job well done and enjoyed! And I know how glad you are to join therm in the Autumn.

    Maybe summer passing “without undue incident” has had some connection with the work involved in the manuscript, a possible distraction from summer’s heaviness perhaps?

    A new venture for you could be to keep doing these and make them into a book. It would be a great read. You could become an Irish Adrian Mole!! πŸ™‚

    A terrific experience reading this! I want more!

    Love you lots

    Christine

    xxx

    • Thank you Christine,

      I was able to listen to the robins as I walked through Golden Acre park yesterday. I would love to have been able to take a photograph but they were too well hidden among the foliage. But they were a joy to listen to. πŸ™‚

      It is interesting too how there was sufficient going on this summer that my normal seasonal down never materialised – too busy to be depressed I guess! πŸ™‚

      I am enjoying doing these and they are a very useful method of reflection at the end of a month. So I may well keep doing them. πŸ™‚ But Adran Mole????

      Love you loads
      David
      xxx

  2. πŸ™‚ Your journal is a beautiful poem, I am glad you got a lot of poems back when your computer died. I hope all?

    I can just imagine that examination πŸ™‚ LOL Glad you just have to watch your food.

    You and I and millions with us connect through internet with other people, I recently rediscoverd a relative in New Zealand thanks to Facebook and I sent some Aroha Nui’s (it is 2 words lol) that way again, maybe the friendships made in this fashion are different, but they don’t have to be more shallow or less imortant. I suppose sometimes the people we meet online stay a while in our virtual lives, then dissapear, and sometimes it leaves questions about what with wrong, what you did wrong but you probably didn’t, it happend to me too and I was very upset, which made me a bit reluctant for a while. Maybe the friend you lost, will pick up later in time. I am glad to have you for a friend if I may say so, and so are a lot of others, online and off I think.

    I think it payed off to keep my fingers crossed and I am very curious about your new book!
    The robins will be pleased to have your company this winter and if I may, so will I πŸ™‚

    Have a good September month

    Big Hug and Much Love from overseas lol

    • What went wrong, I meant. I can never do a comment here without a mistake. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Ina,

      I am always reassured when people tell me these are poems – I think they are too πŸ™‚
      I recovered all the poems I needed to my new computer. There are a lot of others, but I have them all in printed form so I can re-type them if I need them on the computer.

      I didn’t mean to imply that friendships made on the internet were “more shallow or less important” than those in real life. I know that not to be the case. And sometimes friends in real life disappear too, for all sorts of reasons. It is just that in real life we are more likely to find out what has happened. And yes, sometimes they re-appear!! πŸ™‚ It is just, I think, that we need to be more careful on the Internet – we are only seeing the face that thet want us to see – there is no substitute for face-to-face contact!!

      I will be glad to have your company this winter too my friend πŸ™‚

      You have a good September too πŸ™‚

      Big Hug and much love
      David

  3. Even my mother, who was slow to get into the internet, now panics after half a day without internet access.

    The secret is to buy a netbook as back up, David. Firstly you can use it if the pc goes down. Secondly, you can find out what went wrong with the pc and maybe how to fix it, by looking it up on the internet using the netbook! πŸ™‚

    (ps I agree the internet is fickle, you can chat to someone regularly for a couple of years and then they disappear and you don’t know what’s happened! Death? New friendship or romance? Computer problems? Boredom?)

    • Thank you Paul,

      I think I was somewhat spoiled as my previous PC lasted about 8 years without giving me many problems, other than a general degradation in performance. I shall ponder your advice as regards a netbook!

      It is not so much that they disappear (real friend do that too), more that there is often no way of finding out. And they always seem to disappear in the middle of what seemed to be an ongoing conversation!!! πŸ™‚

      Although having said all that, I have had real life friends disappear who then turned up again in my life via the internet πŸ™‚

      David

  4. oh i don’t want to think about winter yet … is still hot enough here, can pretend have more time before snow is on the ground. glad your brother has found a place and is getting settled. good news you don’t need surgery.

    the gall, which is produced by the liver and stored in the gallbladder … is an emulsifying agent (like soap) and breaks down fats for further digestion.

    if you DON’T eat fat, it won’t leave the gallbladder, and hence crystalize and cause blockage. that’s my understanding — but when it’s already blocked, the spasming may be reduced by simply not eating fats and triggering the gallbladder to empty its contents.

    gall is made up of by-products from the break down of red blood cells … which the liver does to make way for ‘new’ blood being manufactured by bone marrow.

    ………………… hope haven’t bored ya silly. if it’s any consolation, i don’t consider butter a fat, either. πŸ™‚

    for the computer, would recommend Norton 360 and run the registry cleaners and performance optimizers at least once a month.

    E.

  5. Smiling Big, and enjoying knowing you better!! I would also be lost without my computer, and, my ipad that I received for Christmas.. Now when I am waiting in some God forsaken place for someone, I can watch Midsomer Murders or write!! LOL I feel quite spoiled.. Big Hugs my internet friend!!

    • *Laughing Out Loud*

      True escapism – sitting in some Godforsaken place watching Midsomer Murders!!!! πŸ™‚

      Big hugs to you too Sandy. We have been internet friends for some long time now – I am always delighted when you drop in.

      David

  6. I love all the positivity running through this poem. And so much news and information encapsulated so economically and beautifully! It left me smiling.

    I know this is off topic, but I always find your comments about poetry so informative and interesting: I watched a programme recently about Wordsworth’s short poem ‘Composed Upon Westminster Bridge’. Two poets, including Simon Armitage, were full of praise and admiration for the poem, saying how wonderful it is. But I read it and think, well, it’s OK, but it’s not that great. I think I must have a tin ear. I wondered what you think of that particular poem?

    • Thank you – delighted to leave you smiling πŸ™‚

      As regards Wordsworth, I think you have to make allowances for time and fashion. I doubt if anyone today would write it exactly that way. Nonetheless I get a real feel of love of London from the poem.
      I know people who go to Westminster Bridge on the anniversary of his birth, or death (I can never remember which) and at twilight read poetry, including his poem.
      I guess if a poem can inspire that sort of thing it must have something going for it. πŸ™‚

      A bit like Bloomsday I suppose when people all over the world get together to celebrate James Joyce and Ulysses. I have never been able to make head nor tail of that book but I have attended the celebration on accasion. πŸ™‚

      David

  7. Yes – that’s a very good point to bear in mind about time and fashion. I’m a Joyce fan so perhaps I have one tin ear and one good ear. I’ll settle for that! No need to reply; thanks for your interesting reply to my off topic comment.

  8. Hey David,

    I really like this style. So many reflections in this one. You really are a teddy bear! You made me laugh about the pretty nurse rubbing cream on you. You and I are on the same page about internet friends. But internet friends seem to flake out more often. I’m usually sitting around wondering – What? What did I say? And, I’ll never know.

    Cathy

  9. changing my receiving address David..

  10. midaevalmaiden Says:

    Due to the way I grew up, I have a tendancy to hold all my friendships deeply yet loosly. I have often been the one to drop off the radar. (real world) I was surprised at the sentiments expressed by a friend who later re-found me and expressed hurt and anger because I had simply dissapeared. They felt betrayed. It made me think about how I influence others more than I might realize. All of us do. Influence that is.

    I was just musing earlier today, how internet friends have enriched my life and how unpleasant it would be for me, if some of them just dissapeared. They would be missed.

    I like that you like Robins. a bird even more beautifull than it’s collorful couisins, because it is humble.

    • Thank you Sara,

      I do seem to have touched a chord with this internet friedship thing. In lots of ways it is no different than real life. I had a friend in real life (she was a big help to me in my early days of writing poetry) and then she suddenly disappeared!!! I was very upset. Then some years later she sent me a friend request on Face Book – quite made my day πŸ™‚

      And, like you, internet friends have enriched my life and broadened it too.
      Being aware, as you say, that we can impact on others I have endeavoured to be honest on here. I always start off with the assumption that others I meet do too and most of the time I find that assumption to be true.

      The robins are singing now. I love to walk through wooded areas and listen. They stay well hidden but their song is unmissable πŸ™‚

      David

  11. When the boffins find a way to connect a fountain pen and paper to the internet, I shall be a VERY happy man. In the meantime, I can forgive the computer’s presence because of the wonderful people and poems to which it connects me – you and yours, especially. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    • Thank you Nick,

      The internet has expanded my world enormously – much more so than I expected when I first started out. The thought of being without it when my computer died was quite distressing.

      The weather-witch in Yorkshire is clearly throwing a hissy fit this morning πŸ™‚

      David

  12. Hi David,

    I very much enjoyed your journal. This one really gave a lot of pause for thought. I like the idea too of encapsulating your month in poetry like this. πŸ™‚

    Your opening thoughts on friends and the internet really had me thinking. I’ve met a lot of fake people online and in life and I’ve met those I treasure. I don’t quite yet know how the two really differ. Being on-line does seem to be a intesified mirror of reality. At least in my experiance.
    My fear is those people I’ve forged good friendships with and how will I know if somethign terrible happens. At least there’s half a chance in the off line world of finding our that someone is ill or worse…
    I think for myself the internet has certainly opened a wider world to me and some people like yourself I’m so grateful to have forged a friendship with.
    Your comments though on your brothers move really hit home for me. That justifies the internet for myself, it helps us to to keep in touch with loved ones in a more meaningful way.
    You can feel a more soild part of their world through sharing photos so quickly and using devices like google earth.

    As to your health, I’m glad that fish and chips aren’t off the menu entirely, and that your doctor seems like a sensible one. Butter isn’t a fatty food to me either. I’ll take it over margarine anyday!

    I hope you enjoy the transition into winter. Personally I’m glad to have left it behind finally. πŸ™‚ The robins sound like a lovely treat to experiance in ones day.

    I shall be leaving this blog, feeling enthusiastic and ironcially refreshed. Maybe it’s your closing lines. They are most peaceful and that renews me. πŸ™‚

    Take good care πŸ™‚
    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • Thank you Tikarma,

      I treasure the good friends like yourself, who I have met on the internet. You/they have become part of my every day life and I value that.
      The entry was prompted by a friendwho did ‘disappear’ and my realisation that I had no way of finding out – I just trust that they will return again in the future.
      And I have had it happen in real life too so I guess there is not a big difference.
      Although your comment and that of others has made me ponder. There are mechanisms in place in my physical world for people to be able to find out of anything happened – I need to do something to make that possible in the worlld of the web. I will think on that.

      And yes the internet does open up the world and make us closer in ways that would not be possible without it. for example when my son and his wife went round the world they were able to keep in touch via a web blog – such a bonus πŸ™‚

      I am smiling at your phrase “transition into winter”. The rain this morning is blowing horizontally past my window πŸ™‚

      Delighted that I have left you feeling refreshed.

      you take care of yourself

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

Leave a Reply

