Through My Window

Woken by the noise, I open my window;
am confronted by the sound
of magpies and crows
conducting a heated argument.

I suggest they keep the noise down.
They tell me to mind my own business.

There is no merit
in trying to mediate
in a dispute, when both parties
feel they have been wronged.

Chaffinches come for breakfast
to my Italian Alder tree.

I would take their photograph
but they never stay still
long enough to make it worthwhile,
unlike the robins who are
more than happy to pose.

I raise my mug of tea
by way of toast
to my morning visitors,
reach out my arm,
shake hands with the tree,
retire inside.

I will begin my day
with a smile on my face.

32 Responses to “Through My Window”

  1. Hi David,
    it may be wise to keep out of quarrels between magpies and crows šŸ™‚ nasty birds anyway! (in comparisson of course)

    Enjoy your tea and think of the birds that do want to make friends šŸ™‚
    Robins are shy I think, solitary and aggressive also. Funny they would like to pose šŸ™‚

    I like the way you start your day.

    Love and a hug. šŸ˜‰

    • Thank you Ina,

      I am in a good place when I can enjoy what is going on outside my window in the morning šŸ™‚

      It means I am not absorbed by what is going on inside my head šŸ™‚

      Love and a hug

      David

  2. I shall start my day with a smile too now – this is a lovely piece, full of life, warmth and wit.

  3. Ditto what Nick said šŸ˜›

  4. Elaine Randall English Says:

    The crows here have been most talkative…I think they are gathering for council soon. Love your images.

  5. midaevalmaiden Says:

    I Loved this poem. It was a perfect start to my morning of blog reading. And a perfect way to start the day. I like your morning ritual.

  6. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    A very nice way to start a day!
    I really enjoy this poem!

    – and thought to myself :”what a good idea!”
    I might try this myself tomorrow šŸ™‚

    with Love
    Vera & Karley

    • *Smile*

      Thank you Vera,

      Now that your weather is picking up and your Shade house is nearly ready you will have an ideal spot for your morning cuppa šŸ™‚
      The birds will be deligjted with your company – very different birds for you – I saw a Kookaburra for real the other day – it laughed at me šŸ™‚

      I shall think of you sitting there
      Have a real good day šŸ™‚

      With love
      David

  7. Oh, how I love this! Your imagery is perfection.

  8. I love this David, it has a lovely relaxed feel to it.

    I can picture you shaking hands with your Italian Alder.

    I think the way you are writing is just getting better qnd better.

    Love you lots

    Christine

    xxx

  9. This is lovely. I especially like ‘They tell me to mind my own business’, and shaking hands with the tree, which made me smile.

    • Ah, delighted to have you drop in.

      Always pleased to meet other writers on here and just as pleased to have made you smile.

      I have subscribed to your blog and will add you to my blogroll

      David

  10. Thank you – that’s so kind of you. I’ve just been reading the interview with David Tait, and the following discussion. I found the original post and the comments that follow very interesting indeed. I’ve just been struggling with Jo Shapcott’s poetry (the much lauded Of Mutability), but I find it very difficult to relate to her writing on any level. It’s hard not to feel inadequate in some way when other people seem to see so much in someone’s writing and it does nothing for you! Yet other poets strike an immediate chord…

    • *Smile*, I am glad it is not only me who struggles with her work – I always come away from her poetry thinking “Well I am sure she is very good, but I seem to be missing something”.
      I bought one of her books – ‘Her Book’ – to see if it made a difference if I studied at my leisure, but it is not one of those books in my bookshelf which are often pulled out and dipped in to.
      Whereas other poets………………..
      However I will not succumb to “inadequate”. I will settle for different!! šŸ™‚
      David

      • I read the comments here with pleasure, it is very interesting to find out more about poets, I googled Jo Shapcotts poem , I don’t understand why it wan prizes to be honest but what do I know. Now could it be the jury of those competitions judge by former achievements or something? I wonder how I am suposed to look at this poem to get my neckhair up! Standing upside down?
        šŸ™‚

      • *Smile* I think Ina that Jo Shapcott is a very good poet but I do find her difficult (Nothing wrong in that :))
        There are some more of her poems in ‘Staying Alive’ some of which I think are easier.

        Sometimes I read difficult poets because I ‘just know’ they have something to say (I can’t explain it better than that)

        Love
        David

  11. This is lovely. You are a clever wordsmith. Your poems always evoke such imagery. I could see the scene so clearly.

  12. staying still long enough for a photo can be complicated …. šŸ™‚ mornings are best seen fresh. and this is a wonderful, fresh look…brought a smile to me this evening. we each have a window — should probably use them more to see those things that are simple but always there.

    • Thank you Eileen,

      I can stand on my balcony with my morning cup of tea and lose myself in “those things that are simple but always there”. It is a good place to be šŸ™‚

      David

  13. Hi David,

    I have enjoyed reading this poem several times now. I feel as if I’m sitting there on your balcony with you enjoying a nice cuppa. You’ve painted a gorgeous portrait of a most sweet piece of your life.

    I feel a relation to the commentary with the magpies and crows. Jamie and I often make up conversations for the birds as we sit on the verdandah watching them bob about and steal the chickens feed. There is most certainly something very contenting to the soul watching the natural world go about its business.

    Through My Window is certainly a new favourite of mine. šŸ™‚

    Thankyou very much for the deep breath and the smile. šŸ™‚

    I hope you have had a pleasant weekend?
    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxooxoxo

    • Hi Tikarma,

      Delighted to have had your company on my balcony šŸ™‚
      We are in good places when we are content to sit and watch “the natural world go about its business.” šŸ™‚

      I do sit and ponder sometimes on the different world you and Jamie see from your verandah to that I see from my balcony. Yet When we sit their watching the world go by we are very much in the same place šŸ™‚

      You take good care of yourself

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  14. Smiling Big!! As will I after reading your lovely words!! Hugs David!!

Leave a Reply

