On The Beach

We used walk
along the beach
you and I.

not on days like this,
the place cluttered,
tourists filling up the space with

their bonhomie,
their children,
their beach toys,
their noise,
their never sitting still,
their yards of unattractive flesh.

Rather on days
when we could enjoy

the solitude,
the quiet,
the sand beneath our feet,
the water on our toes,
the breeze upon our skin,
the making love away from prying eyes.

30 Responses to “On The Beach”

  1. David this is beautiful.

    I was right there with you and felt every moment of it.

    Just lovely!~

    Lots of love

    Christine

    xxx

    • My, you are quick off the mark this morning Christine πŸ™‚

      Thank you – Always my pleasure to have you walk along the beach with me πŸ™‚

      Lots of love
      David
      xxx

  2. πŸ™‚ Lovely. You describe the business very well. (Their bonhomie, I will look that up. ) We were on the beach in Whitby near the port, it was very busy there. Many prying eyes πŸ™‚

    I love those moments near the shore. It is very calming.
    I can tell you have had good times at the beach πŸ™‚

    Here on the island even in Summer, you just need to go a little further on the beach to find that solitude,

    Do you like to swim? πŸ™‚

  3. Elaine Randall English Says:

    Love it….love that solitude and peace.

  4. Hi David,

    This was just Ahhhhh…A beautful deep breath, instantly relaxing.

    You’ve made me long for summer when I’ll be able to go back to the beach without being sandblasted by winterwinds. In winter the only place is the car. Stepping out is dangerous! I don’t know how the seagulls survive *lol*
    I feel a little guilty too though. We still have these kinds of beaches where you can walk it’s length with only seagulls for company. It’s something I treasure, even more so knowing how crowded your beaches can be. I don’t think I’d cope! *lol*

    I shall remember to think of you this summer when I go for my beach walks. πŸ™‚

    All my best wishes to you for a lovely week ahead.

    Arohanui
    (((BSH)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

    • Hi Tikarma,

      I love watching the seagulls in winter as they use the wind – fly against it, then turn and glide away using the wind to take them along πŸ™‚

      Out of the tourist season it is still possible to find those long stretches of deserted beaches in this country but I rarely go at the height of summer – too many people. I was in Scarborough a few weeks ago, looking down on the beach and thinking “This country is full!!!” πŸ™‚

      You are right to treasure what you have – I do so love deserted beaches. Please do remember to think of me when you are walking them πŸ™‚

      My best wishes to you too. May you and Jackie have a lovely week πŸ™‚

      Arohanui
      (((BSH)))
      David
      xoxox

  5. “their yards of unattractive flesh.” living in Florida for many years have seen a lot of that lol.. that last stanza exquisite… love the feel of this David!

  6. midaevalmaiden Says:

    I like the line, ‘their yards of unattractive flesh.’

    If I lived any where near an ocean, I’d be out there every morning to watch the sun rise if I could. And listening to that endless swish of surf.

    • At Whitby around mid-summer, the sun rises from the sea and sets in the sea.

      I have been known to sit up all night so that I could watch just that – not that the nights are very long at that time of year πŸ™‚

      Thank you Sara

  7. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    How clever,
    to show the beauty of something by contrast!!

    made me long for summer here too,

    though to be honest, I don’t get much chance to contemplate the sea with a totally exited dog next to me straining to pull me in and out of the water….

    Have a great weekend,
    with Love
    Vera & (said dog) Karley

    • I have a big smile on my face Vera as I draw an image in my mind of Karley pulling you in and out of the water πŸ™‚

      I have not visited Whitby over the summer months, but I look forward to Autumn when I can once again walk along a deserted beach. (No climbing rocks this time πŸ™‚ )

      I hope both you and Karley are having a great weekend.

      With Love
      David

  8. You and the beach. I totally understand your adoration of the beach especially when it is totally devoid of human life – like if it is slightly misty out. It’s perfect then. I like this poem.

    • *Smile*

      “Slightly Misty” adds a whole new aura to walking along a deserted beach.

      In this part of the world there are different words to describe a sea-mist. sometimes a fret, and on the east coast often a haar. I have no real idea of the origin of either word πŸ™‚

      Thank you Cathy

      David

  9. Peter Doyle Says:

    I like the sound of that David.

  10. Hi David, I just saw the most beautiful sunset
    from the ferry, it was flattering the sea.
    I think you would have liked it πŸ™‚

    (It makes up for the moving out of the youngest son (a bit) )

    Thanks for adding the poetry from the sea blog. I added yours there too.

    I hope all is well!

    Hugs and with love

    • Hi Ina,

      I love that phrase – “it was flattering the sea”
      I am sure I would have liked it.

      There is always a gap in our lives when sons move away, but a pride too in knowing they are making their own way.

      Hugs
      With love
      David

  11. I can’t tell you how much I love this one, and also of the memories that come flooding back!! You are a genius, David!! Hugs!!!

  12. You know I’m a sucker for a beach-poem, David, and this one’s a beauty. It has your trademark blend of muscularity and delicacy, understated yet vivid. Super.

  13. Delightful, David πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

