Teddy Bear

I was up at 6:00am this morning – sat on my sofa, thinking deep thoughts (as you do) when this poem came into my head.
Don’t blame me, blame my Muse!!

Teddy Bear

“If you could be an animal, which animal would you be?”
“I would be a teddy bear.”
“You can’t be a teddy bear.”
“Why not? A teddy bear is an animal.”
“It is not so! It is a stuffed toy, it is not real.”
“Well it is as real as I want to be.”

“Well then I’ll be a lion and eat you all up.”
“That would be pretty silly, I’m a stuffed toy,
I wouldn’t taste nice, you would probably choke.”
“NO! I would eat YOU.”
“But I’m a teddy bear!”
“Hah! I’ll be an elephant and step on you.”
“That’s OK – I will just bounce back
to my normal self when you take your foot off.”
“I will be an alligator and swallow you whole.”
“Refer back to conversation about lion.”

“Well….Well I will be a gorilla. I will tear you
limb from limb and throw away the pieces.”
“My mum will collect all the pieces and sew
me back together again, she is good
with a needle and thread. Mind you, she will
probably get the ears in slightly the wrong place.”

“I will take you from your mum when she
is not looking and throw you in the river.”
“Oh, that’s good – I will float all the way
down to the sea. I like the sea-side.”
“But you will never see your mum again.”
“Somebody will find me on the beach
and send me back to her.”
“They won’t know where to send you.”
“Ah, my mum sews name tags onto all my stuff.”

“I’m fed up with this game. I don’t want to play anymore.”
“So the teddy bear wins?”
“I am going home now.”
“The teddy bear is waving Bye Bye.”

39 Responses to “Teddy Bear”

  1. Just out of interest, I have an Elvis teddy bear at home.

    It sings ‘Teddy bear’ when you squeeze its left foot!! 🙂

    David

  2. Elaine Randall English Says:

    I still miss my teddy.

  3. Hi David 🙂

    I love this sweet poem, story, the child (? ) wanting to be a teddy wanting to float to the seaside, that is marvellous 🙂 Such great image 🙂
    I had to laugh when you described the tags sewed on stuff by mum. It reminds me of Pooh Bear. Winnie the Pooh. ? and my own mum 🙂

    You could find a publisher ( even of childrens books) for this one!

    Apparently your thoughts were more coherent at six than mine 🙂 but we must both have the same muse, one that likes to rise early 🙂

    I used to have a teddy that could speak and moved its head if you moved its tail (lol, true do) it was an English teddy, my father brought it home and I also had a very big one. They never comforted me much somehow, maybe because I threw up on them a few times 🙂

    But I think teddy’s and their furry friends have a purpose to comfort and many childrens tears are shed on teddybears.

    You have an Elvis that sings “teddy bear”… LOl I know those fishes that hang on walls and sing 🙂

    If only teddy bears could be our friend in life… 🙂 Well we will be looking for the surrogate maybe.

    Big Dutch hug and much love 🙂

    Ina

    • (That would be : “true though” not “true do” 🙂 )

    • Hi Ina,

      I am delighted that you interrupted work on your novel to come read – I hope I helped with some inspiration 🙂

      My Muse is indeed an early riser – I write most of my stuff in the morning before the requirements of the day get in the way. And when she wants to write I had best get on with it and just write down her words 🙂
      I have no idea where this one came from but it felt she wanted it written 🙂

      It does seem to me that every one has their favourite teddy bear moments carried over from when they were children – even if we only remember throwing up on them 🙂

      My Elvis teddy bear is singing to me right now 🙂

      Big Irish hug and much love to you.

      David

      • (still 1700 words to go 🙂 )

        LOL that Elvis makes me chuckle. 🙂

        Lovely how you see your muse as a demanding spirit that comes and goes, leaving you suddenly inspired. I don’t think of it this way so much, but it has a lot of charm! I think concentration helps me most, keeping destractions limited, and just type along lol. Maybe it is more fun to think of a muse. But I want a male one. I am funny that way 🙂

        I too seem to write easier in the morning but I also want to do my exersizes in the morning and other stuff. Morning is the busiest moment of the day 🙂

        Well I am going to do the last bit 🙂

        Love & hugs 🙂 and have a nice evening
        Ina

      • Ah Ina, I think that the writing process for a novelist and for a poet are two different things. The novelist requires a lot more discipline and has to write without waiting for the inspiration – although I do understand from my novelist friends at the Writers’ Circle that the muse still has a big part to play – they tell me that often the story goes places they had not intended. 🙂 I do not have the discipline to write that way. I have enormous admiration for those, like yourself, who can do that. 🙂

        To demystify the muse a little, what seems to happen is that I go to bed with something on my mind – overnight my sub-conscious would seem to work on it and a poem emerges in the morning. Sometimes, when that happens, I don’t necessarily understand the poem at first. I just know it needs to be written! 🙂

        Not all poems get written that way of course – There is more conscious input for most of them, but I do have to put my head in the right place to allow that to happen – hence the early mornings!! 🙂

        Love and hugs to you too 🙂

        David

      • christine Says:

        Ina, my muse, on the odd occasions that it emerges, is male too!! lol

        Love and hugs

        Christine xx

      • You did help with the inspiration, forgot to thank you 🙂

      • Big 🙂

        I am delighted

      • (not sure where this reply will show up lol)

        You write such good sketches, of life, and now this one, they are always such a pleasure to read. And now I know how they are created 🙂

        Such a nice thought of going to bed with an idea (or, in this case, a teddy maybe? ) and waking up with a poem 🙂 Constructive sleep!

        I used to write without a plan, but my publisher wants a synospis before me writing every story, so I had to learn to work like that, and a sonnet is more like a puzzle, but sometimes poems come in a flow to me too. I just hope one day I will write them as well as you.

        Love and hugs

      • Thank you Ina,

        If I contemplate the thought of writing 7000 words in a day it blows my mind. You really must talk to your publisher about making them available in English!!! 🙂

        Now I am working on putting together a manuscript which is another skill altogether 🙂

        Love and Hugs
        David

  4. christine Says:

    This is a fascinating story David (you always say you are at your best early morning!)

    This reminhds me of a lovely children’s book called The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams. It isnt particularly about a teddy bear but it fits for any animal really.

    In short a rabbit wants to know how and when he can become real. A knowledgeable old toy tells him, “Real isn’t how you are made, it’s a thing that happens to you. When a child loves you for a long, long time, not just to play with but REALLY loves you,then you become real……generally by the time you are real most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and verry shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand”.

    The rabbit sighed,…..the idea of growing shabby and losing his eyes and whiskers was rather sad. He wished that he could become (Real) without these uncomfortable things happening to him.

    I think it is a lovely story, very spiritual.

    Lots of love and big hugs

    Christine

    xxx

    • Hi Christine,

      I do do most of my best writing in the early morning 🙂

      I have never heard of that particular children’s book but clearly it had a big impact on you for you to remember it all these years later. And I do like the story as you describe it 🙂

      I can equate myself with that rabbit!! 🙂

      Lots of love and big hugs to you.

      David
      xxx

      • Did you know Christine that Princes William and Harry read that extract from the story at the wedding of Zara Phillips and Mike Tindall at the weekend. 🙂

      • christine Says:

        That’s fascinating! I had no idea it was read at the wedding!

        It is a beautiful story with so much meaning to it , sort of on two levels, one for children and another for the adults. Although adults (well, me anyway) can also enjoy its simplicity.

        xxx

      • christine Says:

        When I get a copy of the photograph of the two generations of teddy bears , I will pass it on to you !

        xxx

      • Put it up on your Facebook page Christine – I am sure other people than me would enjoy seeing it. 🙂

        xxx

  5. Hi David,

    On behalf of Jackie Bear and my inner child *round of applause* This is just marvellous, certainly inspired and it moved me to tears…good tears you understand. 🙂

    It also bought back a comment you made to me sometime ago that “…the teddy bear is mighter than the knight…” This poem exemplifies that sentiment I feel.

    I wouldn’t normally interrupt preparing for my blog but I’m sucker as you know for teddy bears so couldn’t resist dipping in and I’m most glad I did. I really needed to read this poem.

    I may hold Jackie a little closer this evening as I put my blog together.
    You captured a most beautiful childhood spirit of fun that leaves me smiling and re-freshed . There’s a deeper lesson in this poem too and that has left me stronger.

    Thankyou for sharing such a great piece.

    Arohanui and
    (((BIG BEAR HUGS)))
    from myself and Jackie.
    Tikarma
    xoxoxox

    • Hi Tikarma,

      I must admit that when I put this poem up I did think that Jackie would like it!!! 🙂

      And it is always true that “the teddy bear is mightier than the knight”. Thank you for reminding me of that comment and the time I made it to you 🙂

      I am delighted too that the poem was able to move you in a good way and to leave you feeling stronger 🙂

      Let you and I never lose our ability to get in touch with that “childhood spirit of fun”

      I hope you have a real good restorative week

      Arohanui
      (((BSH))) – and to Jackie
      David
      xoxox

  6. yay for the teddy bear! 😀 i like your deep thoughts, david.

  7. This one is a lot of fun. Smug teddy!

  8. lol …i think we all need teddy bears in our lives. traits for endurance are often taken for granted, aren’t they? 🙂

  9. Vera Hazelgrove Says:

    Loud applause! Long live Teddy!
    I very much liked this game!
    your muse was right, it needed to be written, and I am glad you did!

    And there is something about “early in the morning” –
    🙂

    with Love,
    Vera & Karley

    • Big 🙂

      Thank you Vera,

      It did need to be written and as you say “Long live Teddy” 🙂

      I am not so early this morning, but there is definitely something about early!! 🙂

      With love to you both
      I hope the weather is continuing to smile on you.

      David

  10. @Christine lol glad I am not the only one 🙂 I hope to read more of your poems. Where are they hiding? 🙂 Big Hug!

  11. This is wonderful David!!!

  12. Thank your Muse for me…she did good 🙂

  13. midaevalmaiden Says:

    This is great! As I did read I became a little child. I sat indian style clutching my teddy while you told the story. And the best part was you did ‘voices’ too. 🙂 Youve git a great rumbly lion and aligator impersonation. Tee hee.

  14. David,

    Teddy bears were named after our American President, Theodore “Teddy” Roosevelt. I think it was something to do with a black bear he saved while on a bear hunt. No time to google, and that is all I remember from my history lesson. But, on to the poem.

    So, now you are talking to yourself at odd hours of the morning and you not only answer back, but you can shape-change. Now, that would be interesting to see first thing in the morning, and it is bound to get more involved while you are trying to stop smoking. (Yes, I saw that! Wonderful!) I wonder if the bear drinks coffee. or does he prefer tea?

    I think the real appeal of this poem is that it allows the reader to feel like a child again. I don’t know why. I just know that I enjoyed it while it lasted. Tell the lion, elephant, gorilla, and alligator to behave themselves. Besides, they can’t beat up a teddy bear. Teddy bears can wear capes, and you know what that means!

    Loved it, love you,
    Shirley

    • *Big Smile*

      Ah, I always did talk to myself Shirley, and answer back!! but shape-changing is real good fun 🙂

      Talking to myself whilst trying to stop smoking is a different conversation all together!!!

      I am delighted that the poem made you feel like a child again. There is something quite liberating about allowing oneself to be childlike. As opposed to behaving like a child!! 🙂
      There was a purpose to the poem at the time – all summed up in your phrase “they can’t beat up a teddy bear.” 🙂

      Love you
      David

Leave a Reply

